We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“return visit over Christmas ('12), this time for 18 days:” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Aston Islander on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF FALL TRAVEL
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“return visit over Christmas ('12), this time for 18 days:”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My first visit to the Islander in winter, but this time I stayed for 18 days. I was looking for peace & quiet and, based on a (much quicker) visit in July, I thought I might find it.
I did, for the most part.
I stayed in an oceanfront room, Nihau building, top floor (3rd floor, no elevator), on the side closest to the Wailua River, toward the airport.
The top floor affords more privacy: While it IS an oceanfront room, the buildings are set quite far back from the surf and there is quite a bit of activity — joggers, walkers & the like — especially at sunrise. That may bother people in ground level rooms which, while very nice — they open right out onto the front lawn and beach, and come with their own patio and garden furniture — might seem like you're constantly being looked at and judged, like fish in an aquarium.
Winter is very different in this building than summer. For one thing, the sun rises directly in front of the room — in summer it's much further to the north, and around the corner, out of view. For another, the sun tracks fairly low in the horizon, even though it's the tropics. That means the room has direct sun on it from sunrise (7:15am) to about 11am, when it rises over the roof, and from about 2pm (owing to the fact that the room faces the side as well as front) until it vanishes behind the palms around 5pm.
Bright & sunny, in other words. And for that reason, and others, I believe it's worth the extra cost. Others might not agree.
The room is quite well designed, with a mini fridge (it works fine) and strong water pressure in the shower (not always a given, even in upscale hotels).
Comfortable bed, writing desk, small couch and coffee table — nice. One (minor) fault: Not too many power outlets, so bring a splitter if, like me, you do a lot of computer work.
The hotel property itself is modest, but attractive. The emphasis is on comfort over luxury, but it's not spartan.
One minor fault with the property: There are only about 5 or 6 beach chairs (no lie) toward the Kauai building end, with the inevitable result that there can be a lot of gamesmanship going on, like somebody hogging the one and only comfortable chair at Starbucks for up to 6 hours at a time.
If, like me, you're going to spend a lot of time there, you might consider bringing your own garden chair(s), or ask the hotel if you can borrow a beach chair or recliner from their pool area.
Other reviewers' comments — about the central location, good walking opportunities, etc. — are all true, for the most part.
During my first week, a monk seal basked in front of one of the buildings. A very rare sight. On my final day, another different monk seal basked all day on the other side of the hotel beach, in front of the Kauai building.
All in all, not a place where you're going to be pampered. It's more like a condo stay, with a reception desk and room service. (Restaurants are across the street, at the nearby marketplace; nothing in the hotel proper.)
If you're like me, though, and you're looking for a place that's quiet and pleasant, without being remote or isolated, the Islander more than fits the bills.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are worth the price, IMO, though the price range is wide enough that, for somebody...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    414
    470
    176
    69
    40
See reviews for
116
701
54
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just spent our 28th wedding anniversary here. Could not have been more perfect. Sound of the ocean at night a few yards to walk and see the sunrise over the ocean each morning. Great hot tub, pool and bar area at night to exchange days activities with friendly guests. Great for walking and centrally located for easy access to north or south areas of the Island. Highly satisfied, can't wait to go back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights on our honeymoon. While the hotel and our room were not fancy, they more than met our needs for the trip.

We had reserved an oceanview room, however it was on the third floor of the hotel with open railings. As my husband doesn't do heights too well, he talked with the woman at the front desk and she was able to upgrade us to a first floor ocean front room! It was amazing to open the glass door of our room, walk off the lanai, across the grass and be on the beach is 30 seconds!

This hotel does have a pool and bar (although we did not try these), has kitcenettes (at least microwave, sink and fridge in ours) and offers free DVD rentals. We enjoyed being able to pick up some snacks at the local grocery store and come back to the room to watch movies at night. This hotel is very relaxing and laid back - the perfect combination for a honeymoon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

What I liked: far enough from the road that there is no car noise, close to ocean, has a hot tub, right next to a small shopping/coffee/restaurants area, pretty grounds

What was less great: no real kitchen in the rooms, not possible to swim in that ocean at all (waves too big and treacherous)

Room Tip: The ocean-front rooms are really noisy because the ocean is fierce and windy there. You might want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

What I liked about the room/resort:
* super close to beach (2 min walk to beach from room)
* can hear sound of ocean
* can watch sunrise from the room/balcony
* clean room
* quiet environment (no noise from other rooms)
* no roosters!
* comfortable bed
* welcome gift (kauai DVD, candy, Tote bag, notepad etc)
* no parking/resort fee

What I didn't like about the room/resort:
* not enough parking.
* jacuzzi (in pool area) is to small
* no maid service during stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review.

It's great to hear from everyone and we take pride in making sure everyone has a great time on Kauai.

I am sorry to read that we missed on the housekeeping services. I will check on that as we do go to the units daily to remove trash, make the beds, clean the bathrooms and replace towels. The bed linens are changed on the 3rd day. The dishes are not done during any stay.

Please don't hesitate to contact me should you have further questions.

HAPPY HOLIDAYS!

Sandi Kato-Klutke
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach
440 Aleka Place
Kapaa, HI 96746

Tel: 808 823-7600
sandi.kato-klutek@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We enjoyed this hotel and would stay here again. We booked it through Costco Travel and ordered the "ocean view" room. When we checked in, the room wasn't ready yet so they upgraded us to a "ocean front" room, which was awesome. We had a stunning view from our room on the third floor. I even saw a couple of turtles swimming along the coast one evening (at around 5pm)!

Our room was in perfect condition and had a nice kitchenette and easy to use internet access. The room was a little small, but big enough for the two of us. There is a $10 a day ammenities fee, which includes the newspaper, coffee and free access to their DVD Redbox machine. Also it gets quite windy and a little cool in the evening on the ocean, so a light jacket comes in handy.

The hotel is behind a little shopping center that has some nice places to eat and a delicious shaved ice stand. There were a lot of vacancies in this center but it had everything that our hearts desired (shaved ice, post cards, and mahi-mahi burgers!)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is right on the beach; you can see the beach from most rooms. It is very clean and the landscapping is amazing. It is right beside the Coconut marketplace and walking distance to many restaurants and a grocery store. The rooms have a wet bar with a little sink, microwave and fridge. You can stay at this hotel without renting a car and that is rare for Kauai. There is also several free shows at the Marketplace. Outstanding for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This oceanfront resort offers guests contemporary island-inspired decor, six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, a sparkling pool and a stunning beachfront location. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. Oceanfront location and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Islander on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.