We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Islander on the Beach to your Saves list
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Take 15% Off Your Stay
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sayre, PA
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We rented this condo from an owner, not the Islander corporation itself, and that made all the difference in the world. There was everything we needed in our condo, which is really no more than a big hotel room with a kitchenette and a great lanai (balcony). Dishes, silverware, spices in cupboard, cleaning products as well as paper products, even paper plates. There was even a wine opener, which we appreciated, as well as a blender for smoothies, using the fruit products from the local farm market.When we noticed the cooler was missing, a phone call and we had a new one to use. This condo is very close to the beach, so much so that my husband closed the patio door every night because the waves were so loud. The room was immaculate and the grounds beautiful and we felt blessed every day to wake up in paradise. The air conditioning unit is high on the wall and I loved the fact it didn't blow directly on us- very subtle and very efficient.One night we cooked a steak on the grill, accompanied by baked potatoes from the microwave and a salad from the vegetables found at the local farmers market which you will want to find for sure. There is only a small refrigerator with no freezer but we found it sufficient for all our food and ice is free just a short walk away. I would recommend to anyone staying here to do what we did- load a suitcase you will check through with any food items you think you'll use such because the food in Kauai is very expensive- be prepared for sticker shock. We had breakfast on the lanai each morning plus prepared sandwiches to take in our cooler and water in our jug filled with ice. All in all, a great stay in a central location and I highly recommend these accommodations! Can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: Book directly from a condo owner and not the Islander and you'll get better service and concern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    522
    191
    72
    43
See reviews for
143
782
57
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malinta OH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Good hotel for the value. Rooms were clean and everyone was very friendly and helpful. Close to restruants in Kapaa. Beach right at hotel, though water was to rough for swimming (not the hotels fault). Pool was clean (which is a bonus) and everything outside looked good. All of the flowers and trees were trimmed nicely. Would stay here again and would recommend this to anyone else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

we booked this when they had a end of summer sale. the price was Around $80 a night before any
taxes and such.my expectations were not high. when we got there the lobby was nice and service was professional.
The grounds are well kept. pool and hot tub are fine nothing extravagant but does the job,with a bar pool side.we used the BBQs by the pool which was a plus and beach is right there by the pool which was perfect. rooms are nice,tiled floor and clean.ours had fridge microwave, sink and most utensils. A/C was a little painfull to figure out, they are connected to the doors and windows so when they are open the A/C wont turn on and seem to take awhile to to kick in.
if you need laundry or DVD rental for the kids its all here.WiFi works but was kinda weak at the pool area.
I would recommend this place to my friends.its was quiet and friendly and inexpensive.

Room Tip: ground floor and facing beach would be great for sunrises.we had ground floor garden view which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmett, Idaho
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was our first visit to Kauai and the Islander on the Beach. This was an excellent centrally located place to stay. Our room was clean, the staff was friendly, and the grounds were kept immaculate...even got to watch them climb and trim the palm trees. The hotel was right on the beach, and although the water gets a little rough (probably the time of year added to it), you could still get in and enjoy the water. Parking area was small, but we knew that before we arrived and they do have an overflow area that is right next to the hotel parking area, so not an issue for us. The Coconut Market Place located adjacent to the hotel property has small eateries, but you need a car to find restaurants. In fact, if you're going to Kauai, you definitely need a car to get around. I think not having an on-site restaurant was probably the only negative, but isn't enough to keep us from going there again. Construction of the ocean-front rooms was going on, but didn't bother us since we were usually out during the day. Expect to pay a $10.00 daily fee for safe, internet access, and DVD rentals whether you use them or not. It was worth it to us, but don't understand why they don't just include the price in the room rental since everyone has to pay and you don't have a choice.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and it could get noisy with "heavy" feet above us. Suggest the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was our second stay at IOB. Same clean, comfortable place it was when we stayed two years ago.

One minor thing to ask about before reserving: the front buildings are under renovation, so if you're expecting a quiet nap by the pool, it may get interrupted by some construction noise. Since we're usually out exploring Kauai during the day, we weren't disturbed by the construction.

We'll be back to IOB on our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a nice property for those on a budget who are looking for a clean, comfortable hotel centrally located for Island sightseeing. Sheila in reservations and Sue at the front desk are amazing. Both exemplify the "aloha" spirit with warm gracious hospitality. They make you feel special as if you have become part of their family. Housekeeping and engineering staff are very kind and gracious as well. They will assist whenever needed, and always with a smile. As for the property, although a bit dated the housekeepers do an amazing job of keeping the rooms immaculate. Even though rooms are small, there is a kitchenette with microwave, dorm room size refrigerator, sink necessary utensils. Can't think of anything they have missed. The bathrooms are tub/shower with a sink, large counter and decent storage space. Rooms offer flat-screen TV's with nice selection of cable channels. As others have mentioned, there aren’t any elevators, so ask for a lower floor if climbing stairs is an issue. If you want the higher floor, don't worry, the staff is very helpful should you need extra assistance with carrying belongings to your room. I never had a problem with parking; there was always a space available in front of the hotel or in the overflow lot next door. The landscaping is lovely and very well kept. The views from the ocean front buildings are quite impressive. Open the screen on your lanai and listen the waves crashing to your heart's content. You’ll have the most amazing night’s sleep ever. Big bonus if you are in an oceanfront building, you can stand on your lanai, or take a few steps to the beach where you will see the most breathtaking sunrises in Hawaii. The surroundings are quiet and peaceful, day and night. You’ll see mostly couples, some mature singles but not many families with young children. The only issues I will mention are the following: The daily resort fee. It’s not the property’s fault, but a decision made by Aston. If need be they should add $10 to the room rate and offer the extras complimentary and they’ll get better guest satisfaction. They won’t look like they are nickel and diming people. It just cheapens the guest experience. I mean really, charging people for pool towels is ridiculous. Yes, I know other things are part of the fee like WIFI and DVD rental. However, most other large properties offer those complimentary. Better use of that money is to hire someone for the front desk 24-7. I found it odd that you can’t talk to someone at the desk from 11pm until 7am. The security person is patrolling the facility, and isn’t there to answer the phone in the event of a simple question or problem. Quite honestly, that’s also not their job….they are not hired to be the front desk agent. They are there to be security. My only other comment is the pool is not heated and can be quite chilly, even on the hottest day and the spa is painfully hot.
The beach really isn’t suited for swimming or lying out as the tides are rough, and sand is rocky. There is a grassy area under palm trees right before the beach where you can relax in a chair, read a book, do yoga or just take a moment to breathe the fresh ocean air. If you want play in the ocean pack up the rental car and take off for the endless beach choices Kauai offers. There isn’t a restaurant on property, but directly across the parking lot is the Coconut Market Place which has 3 or 4 places for quick meals. I recommend the little barbeque place called Harley’s. They have really good food with reasonable process. Same goes for TC’s; they have good burgers and mahi-mahi with plate lunch/dinner options. The Market Place doesn’t have that many stores left, perhaps ¼ full occupancy, and closes rather early, usually around 8pm. There are new owners, so hopefully more merchants and restaurants will fill the space in due time. But you can also take leisurely walk or drive a half-mile to two large grocery stores, ABC Store, Long's Drugs where you can find anything you need. One suggestion: before you leave airport area stop by Costco or Wal-Mart for your grocery staples. Also, you will find the best prices and large variety of souvenirs at the K-Mart in Lihue which is only 7 miles from the hotel. Be sure to bring your own recyclable bags, as stores on the isalnd do not use plasitc bags!

Overall the Aston Islander on the Beach was a very good choice and would highly recommend if you are looking for a hotel (not resort) in the Kaapa area.

Room Tip: Higher floors in ocean-front buildings have spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver B
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I was very happy that I stayed in Kapa'a rather than Poipu for our recent trip to Kauai. We rented a unit privately through VRBO and it provided basic accommodation, it was clean and near the beach. The price was right. We are casual travellers who like to snorkel a lot and get out and about. Decent pool and hot-tub, with a poolside bar.

The only negative was that parking spots can be difficult to locate. When you get there (even if you have booked a unit through owner) get a parking pass. If you have a parking pass and still cannot find a spot, go back into the reception area and ask for a parking pass for the Coconut Marketplace next door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This oceanfront resort offers guests contemporary island-inspired decor, six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, a sparkling pool and a stunning beachfront location. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. Oceanfront location and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Islander on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.