We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Islander on the Beach to your Saves list
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in the Lana'i building and had a view of part of the pool bar and part of the ocean. Room was clean and AC kept it cool. Grounds were very pretty and clean. Bed was not very comfortable and hard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Aloha!

It's wonderful to hear from our guests on their stay and the property as a whole. We will check the beds and suggest to the owner to change the mattress.

We do hope you were able to enjoy the island and look forward to your return. Should you have further comments or questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With warmest aloha,

Sandi Kato-Klutke
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach
440 Aleka Place
Kapaa, HI 96746

Tel: 808 823-7600
sandi.kato-klutke@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    492
    185
    70
    42
See reviews for
124
743
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here for one night prior to our rental home becoming available. The hotel was right on the beach and we had an ocean view room which was lovely. I would have no problem staying longer here had we not rented a home. The pool and bar area always had people around, seemed to be a good gathering place. The hotel is close to Coconut Marketplace with a few restaurants and shops. Along the coast is a paved walkway, very nice for moonlight walks along the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

A friend and i stayed here for 7 nights and loved it! We were upgraded to a first floor oceanview room and we were 29 steps from the sand! We could hear the waves and had a beautiful view. The hotel is close to everything and a great central location on the island. They have a great DVD lending system like redbox. The only complaint I have is that they have only have terrible PS2 players that are difficult to get to work. Also the TVs are digital but they use old AV cords instead of a DVD player with an HDMI cord. Also the PS2 player didn't even play the DVD let alone have a remote or was intuitive to figure out. If they upgraded their TVs to digital cable (the picture quality was terrible too) and normal DVD players (who plays PS2 games now anyway with iPads and laptops?) this would make a big difference. All of this being said, I hardly watch TV anyway and ended up watching the one movie on a computer.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed in a partial ocean view room for two nights before moving to Poipu.
Our room was very clean and large enough. The staff is nice and helpful.
Kapaa town is within 5 minute drive.

This hotel is not a bad choice for people looking for the hotel near Kapaa town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you are looking for a good value, then this is a place to stay. If you want a resort with tons of amenities look elsewhere, but you will pay for them!
Our room was clean, very cool with a great air conditioner, it had a mini fridge along with a sink, microwave, dishes and ustensils. We could have easily prepped some of our meals and made use of the gas grils at the pool area. There is no restaurant/lounge on site, but there is a small bar in the pool area for happy hour. We found the shopping village across the parking lot had enough variety for a meal or two. The resort next door had a restaurant/lounge along with live music. It was just across the parking lot. Parking is free although can get full, but parking at the shopping center at night is just fine. The grounds are extremely well maintained with staff friendly and constantly present. The beachfront was right in front of our room which we had to request and pay an upgrade fee for. It was well worth it! Beautiful to walk or lay down on, not good for swimming but there were a few adventurous waders out there.
We had a great internet connection in our room, but needed to check in online for our flight home and print boarding passes. There are computers with printers available in the lobby, but you must pay cash or provide a credit card. It cost us about ten dollars for just a few minutes to connect and print. This was really our only complaint about our stay.

Room Tip: We asked for an oceanfront room on the bottom floor. It was fabulous for eating breakfast practicall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

A dear friend and her husband have chosen the Islander on the Beach many times over the years and I was lucky to find a condo there for my stay in August. It was perfect - the beach was steps away and I could hear the ocean waves each night as I fell asleep. Location can be everything on a small island like Kaua'i and I was central to anywhere I wanted to go. Nice pool, beautifully-maintained grounds, and the Kilauea Fish Market on-site - I couldn't ask for much more.

I would definitely stay here again and I will recommend the property to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have been coming to The Islander onThe Beach for years and have had wonderrful and excellent treatment by the whole staff. I will continue to stay at the Islander on The Beach on future trips. The location is beautiful and quiet and centrally located to great restaurants, beaches, etc.
I found the swimming pool and the walking pathways by the sea excellent for physical fitness.
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Kaua'i.

The Islander feels like my second home.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms are quieter. Great ocean views add to the charm even if one chooses an ocean view in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This oceanfront resort offers guests contemporary island-inspired decor, six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, a sparkling pool and a stunning beachfront location. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. Oceanfront location and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Islander on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.