We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Islander on the Beach to your Saves list
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Idaho Falls, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Beautiful resort right on the beach off Kuhio Hwy. We reserved an Ocean View- King Bed with American Breakfast. We were upgraded to one of two AMAZING suites on the property, the Plumeria Suite. It was beautiful! Tile floors, a full kitchen table with stocked kitchenette, king sized bed in a separate room, large bathroom vanity, large ocean view balcony, and a sofa bed. We were 100% pleased with our stay. Slight note, there were ants behind the sofa (we forgot to alert the front desk, so I don't really feel that I should hold that against them... I'm sure they would have taken care of the matter immediately). We had a reserved parking space (although everyone else seemed to enjoy it... just not us). The pool was a cute oasis, landscaping was beautiful, and the "American Breakfast" was non-existant (perhaps why we were upgraded to the suite?) Side note on the breakfast: They recommended many wonderful places for dinning, I wouldn't recommend Eggberts though. There were birds literally on the tables, the floors, and it smelled like a nursing home cafeteria with a mold problem.... I hate pigeons.
We will most definitely be visiting the Plumeria Suite at the Aston Islander again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    491
    185
    70
    42
See reviews for
123
742
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed at the Aston renting Unit 225 directly from owner through VRBO. It is 2nd floor ocean front Kawai buiding. The unit was well maintaned with small kitchen. It is literally steps away from the shoreline. Has DVD player - but phone was not accessible (likely because of private rental).. The faciltiy and grounds are very nice and lush -- the condo resort is basically part of a larger complex attached to the Coconut Market Place, which was really handy for groceries, gifts, breakfast, etc. There is a Foodland just up the road. Many local restaurants and TREES on site. Pool area was fine and people did congregate at the bar for happy hour, with many making their way to the jacizzi with drink in hand -- party party. Yes, the hot tub is warm. We used the Aston as our departure point for day trips -- be forwarned that the beach here is not great at all for swimming - it is rocky. Just up the road at Lygate would be good, or go to Poipu or beaches on the north shore. Our favorite beach was barking sands, only because this was the beach that had some sun (on the west side), because we were in Kawai during torrential downpours and flooding, and they closed the bridge to Hanalei Bay. Not to worry - we did 3 other islands. But sun will make your trip here much more enjoyable ! Poipu Beach Park was very nice. Parking - a challenge to find spots but we managed. So Aston is recommended for good accommodation and basic amenities in a well maintained condo complex, with access to excellent restaurants and shopping. Its proximity on the east side, makes access to north and south more manageable. I am not sure but the rainy weather we had was considered unusual - whereas Waikiki was sunny that same day. I guess the "garden island" comes with price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed at the Islander on the Beach as part of a Travelocity package. If you take out the cost of what airfare would have been on its own, we essentially got this room for about $60/night. Definitely a bargain.

We stayed in oceanview room #237 with a queen bed. (Please note, oceanview is NOT oceanfront). There was a wet bar, microwave and small fridge. No flatscreen tv, but good extended cable. There was also a dvd player, but we never used it (or the tv much, except for watching the Royal Wedding, lol!)

The bathroom and wetbar had been updated with new tile and granite tops. The bath was spacious and had lots of storage, it was generally clean, but the corners looked like they needed a thorough scrub, which was kind of off-putting. Plenty of hot water--and I agree with other reviewers, it took awhile for the hot water to come, but when it did there was lots of it, and good water pressure. Towels were not luxurious, but clean. The provided shampoo and body wash was of a good quality, not like that detergent you get at some lower-end places.

The room itself was a little worn - the rug had a corner frayed, and was pretty dirty, and the fold-out sofa was uncomfortable and when i sat on it all i could think of was the thousands of sweaty, sunscreen-covered people who had come before me. Furniture generally had seen some wear, but was perfectly functional. The bed was double-sheeted and comfortable. The sheets weren't million-thread count, but nice enough. Pillows a little lumpy, bed a little firm, but it didn't keep me up one bit. My boyfriend hated the mattress, but at least it wasn't super soft or sagging in the middle.

The tile floors were a nice touch, much cleaner than carpet would have been, I'm sure. The a/c worked fine - the part of the unit outside on the lanai was rusted and kind of icky, as other reviewers have noted, but it was quiet and effective inside.

Some previous reviewers mentioned bugs, which had me a little apprehensive - and chasing after the boyfriend when he would leave crumbs - but i did not see a single creepy-crawly in the room, ever.

Overall, given how little we paid for the room, it was a couple steps up from 'you get what you pay for.' The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. The beach wasn't a fabulous stretch of gorgeous sand, but there were always lounges available, and you could walk in both directions for a while. The pool was small and a bit noisy, but when the bar closed (by 9 or 10 pm) everything quieted right down. Generally the other guests were older couples and families.

Kapa'a itself was what I think of as 'affordable' - there were restaurants and grocery stores easily accessible along the main road, a lot of little hotels and guesthouses, a lot of residential. Definitely NOT the manicured-resort feeling you get from Princeville or even Poipu. But it was a good home base for a quick getaway.

As other reviewers noted, parking did fill up quickly after 5 pm, but the one night we got back late, a security guard flagged us down right away to give us a parking pass to the resort next door, so no problems there.

I'd recommend more to families on a budget (that pullout sofabed would be great to make the most of your lodging costs) than to couples on a budget, but it was a clean, safe place to stay, with convenient access to everything you need.

Room Tip: ask for east-facing oceanview and see the sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

My Fiancée and I came to Kauai for a conference and stayed at the Marriott for 6 days. Afterwards we wanted to extend our stay somewhere for a more reasonable price. We booked 2 days and ended up liking it so much we booked 2 more days! As is usual in Kauai, the staff was very, very friendly and helpful. They even helped us to stay in the same room when we booked the additional 2 days. The room was clean and well kept and more importantly the bathrooms were very clean. I wouldn't consider the room spacious but I wouldn't consider it small either. Coming directly from the Mariott, it was only slightly smaller than the room we had there. The hotel is located right on the beach, and within a few hundred yards of where a Monk seal often comes and sleeps during the day. She was there on two different days during our stay and we were very happy to get to see her. We made use of the pool and jacuzzi every day after our excursions and meet some great people there. The pool was not large, but not crowded either. The grounds are also very well kept. There is a market and a restaurant in the center within a hundred yards of the hotel and other hotels where you can dine or have drinks at their pool bar. This hotel did have a pool bar as well and we used it daily during our stay. There is no restaurant on the hotel grounds, but we usually eat out and the room had a fridge and microwave to help with basic necessities. We both felt very safe and welcome at this hotel and now that we have gone on to another island, we miss it already! The one thing that has room for improvement is parking. If you get in later in the evening, it can be a pain finding a spot.

For the price, this is a fantastic hotel. If you go on vacation to stay at the hotel most of your stay then this is probably not the place for you as the higher priced places have nicer grounds and many restaurants for you to choose from. If you are like us and are almost constantly out doing something off of the grounds and then use the hotel when you return in the afternoon/evening then I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Even some garden view rooms have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Me and my partner stayed at this resort in early April for four days/three nights. I was extremely impressed with how nice the staff was, how clean and updated the hotel room was, and how gorgeous the grounds looked.

The resort sits right on the beach and even though we had a "garden" view in the "Hawaii" building, we could still see the water from our room. The interiors are very comfortable and the room had marble floors, comfortable linens, A/C, a mini fridge, a sink, microwave, coffee pot, and tons of storage plus our own private balcony. The room also had everything we needed including utensils, towels, storage, etc. Very convenient.

The grounds were very well kept and very quiet, which was exactly what we were looking for on this trip. We did get a chance to meet some of the "owners" of some of the condo units and they were all extremely nice and helpful in letting us know some of the great places on the island to visit and eat at. The pool and hot tub are kept very clean from what I could tell and it was not overly crowded.

This hotel did not have an on-site restaurant but within walking distance was the Coconut Marketplace, an older mall that had a general store, some shopping, and smaller kiosk-style restaurants (on a sidenote, I would recommend anyone staying here not to miss the "Fish Burger" at "The Fish Hut"!!! Outstanding food!). Also within walking distance was a great restaurant called "Hukilau Lanai" at the neighboring resort.

The resort was located a very short drive from tons of restaurants and we found it to be a very good jumping off point for our sightseeing.

I am now planning a trip to Maui and am looking to stay again in an Aston resort. I just hope they are all as nice as this was.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We just returned from Kauai after spending 8 nights at the Islander on the Beach. We stayed there 4 years ago and thought it a great value then, just as it is now. It is right on the beach and as we had a beachfront room, we could hear the surf all night, which I love. Also had a big enough lanai for a table and 2 chairs, plus standing room and was private but with a great view. It is a quiet hotel, no restaurant, with a small pool and hot tub, also a pool side bar that seemed to do a great business in the afternoons. Grounds were kept and not too many chickens around (wild chickens on Kauai are plentiful and found everywhere). There were lounge chairs for anyone to use on the beach. It is a somewhat narrow beach that stretches along the front of other hotels. Swimming is ok, but can be a little rough. Not really too good for children. Beach towels can be checked out from the front desk. Hotel rooms have air conditioning, flat screen TV, small CD/radio, microwave, frig, coffee machine, sink and comes fully equipped with plates, etc. Self-laundry room available. We were told most rooms have a queen bed and queen sofa. Bed was not that comfortable, something I did not remember from our last stay and the pillows were big lumps. Hotel is definitely older, we could hear neighboring rooms showers and toilets clearly. Rooms are clean, housekeeping does a good job except do not expect to have sundries left in the bathroom every day. If there is soap sitting at the sink when you leave for the day, the same soap will be sitting there when you come back. The outside walkways and stairs to the different levels (there are no elevators) needed to be scrubbed and cleaned, I would not have wanted to walk on them barefoot. Front desk staff were helpful if you asked a question, but did not offer help or any type of information or conversation otherwise. There is a travel specialist available daily. Parking is a huge problem. The hotel shares the lot with other businesses and if you don't get back by around 3-4pm you end up having to find a space on the drive around the hotels. If there were any security patrols. we never saw them or heard of them. But, I would not hestitate to go out walking in the area in the evenings and we never saw or heard of anyone having problems. The Coconut Marketplace is right across the drive, but the recession has hit it. There was only one real restaurant there and at least half of the stores were empty. There is a restaurant in the hotel next door.
All in all, I would recommend this hotel to someone who does not expect anything other then average or just above, but likes a good value and a clean hotel.

Room Tip: Check hotel website for great deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Aston islander on the Beach. Sunrises are spectacular as you sit and sip your morning coffee.

The beach is not recommended as a swimable beach and it does get rough with no lifeguard in the area. Summers when the waters are calmer, shallow water wading is great.

We are in the process of redesigning the parking lot to offer more parking. Security is here in the evenings to patrol the area and to assist guests with other available parking. We will do additional training for security.

And finally, yes, we are working on the bedding. Looking at having new Presidential Plush flippable mattress and new pillows.

Please don't hesitate to contact me should you have other comments or when you plan your return trip to Kauai.

With warmest aloha,
Sandi

Sandi Kato-Klutke
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach
440 Aleka Place
Kapaa, HI 96746

Tel: 808 823-7600
sandi.kato-klutke@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

This is a "condotel"--condo ownership but run similar to a hotel. Beachfront room definitely was worth the modest extra cost. Nothing like coming back to the room, opening the sliding door and letting in the ocean breeze and ocean's white noise.

The front desk has been pleasant enough. The concierge desk called our room voice mail offering assistance--not pushy or anything. And the housekeeping staff was as pleasant and thorough as expected.

A local travel agent (Hawai'i General Store, Seattle) booked us here for a week. He was able to combine a special deal and his wholesale pricing to arrive at a slightly better rate than we could have ourselves.

In terms of location it's fairly convenient, if you don't mind getting in your rental car to go most anywhere, other than Coconut Marketplace.

There are no sidewalks out on the highway and you can't walk directly to old Kapa'a above the beach due to private property signs and fences.

The County really should finish the bike/pedestrian trail that is now only up north and continue it down here. Or at least require properties to put in a public sidewalk. Doing so would really enhance this part of Kapa'a.

While the room was kept reasonably clean, the housekeeping staff is not supplied with vacuum cleaners! They just sweep off the area rug and towel mop the floors. The area rug stinks--it needs to be vacuumed or shook out daily. The lampshades need vacuuming. There was something wrong (sounded like it had trouble starting up, loud) with the air conditioner in our unit (330). The front desk said they'd look into it and tell
the condo owner.

I was surprised to see grounds watering the lawns during the heat of the day. In fact, the lawn doesn't need to be that green--let it brown a bit. But maybe fresh water is an unlimited resource here?

The included wired Internet in the room is nice to have, but they ought to upgrade the speed. It is currently only 1 Mbps download speed and only 0.3 Mbps up. Makes checking in back at the office a very slow chore.

Overall nice place to stay for the price if you can live with the minor inconveniences I describe above. Oh, and the front desk had a special treat for us in the room when we arrived--it was our anniversary vacation.

Room Tip: If available, go for a beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review of Aston islander on the Beach.

I have been to the Hawai'i General Store in Seattle and love that place. Although from Hawai'i, I found myself buying post cards and some munchies.

Yes, a car on Kauai is a must. There is a County bus during normal business hours and on weekend, but none in the late evening. Not like bus service in Seattle.

The County of Kauai is working on the jogging/walking/bike path to connect from Lydgate park to Kapaa and on to Kealia. We anticipate completion by 2013 with some sections to be completed this year. The overall plan is to have the path go from Kekaha to Ke'e Beach.

I will have housekeeping staff look at better care of the area rugs and lamp shades. The air conditioner in the unit was replaced on April 6th and it's now "quiet".

It's wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at Aston islander on the Beach and Kauai.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next vacation to Kauai.

With warmest aloha,
Sandi

Sandi Kato-Klutke
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach
440 Aleka Place
Kapaa, Hi 96746

Tel: 808 823-7600
sandi.kato-klutke@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This oceanfront resort offers guests contemporary island-inspired decor, six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, a sparkling pool and a stunning beachfront location. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. Oceanfront location and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Islander on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.