We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kakalina's is utter bliss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kakalina's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kakalina's Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Kakalina's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
6781 Kawaihau Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Kapaa B&B and Inns
Pullman, Washington, United States
2 reviews
“Kakalina's is utter bliss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We made a reservation at Kakalina's based on a friend's recommendation and we couldn't have been happier. It's the most comfortable, complete vacation rental we've ever had. Kathy, the owner, is a gem. She makes excellent bread, knew exactly how much to "help" without being intrusive, and added so much to our stay. Her recommendations for things to do were absolutely perfect, and she was so helpful when we needed it. I just wish she had a place on other islands so we could go there, but this place will definitely keep us coming back to Kauai and Kakalina's as our "base camp". Thank you, Kathy, for a fantastic week!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    10
    0
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Aloha
We were lucky enough to stay for a few weeks and had such a great experience we are already planning our next visit. Peaceful and quiet while perfectly located on the island everything is within a short drive away. The suite was perfect for us and had anything we needed from preparing meals to relaxing.
I would recommend Kakalinas to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Spent 7 nights at Kakalina's staying in 2 bedroom suite which she made available to us even though we were a party of just 2 total price a little over $700. When we first arrived in Kauai it was dark and raining and I could not find my GPS (did find it the next day buried in luggage) So I had to call Kathy to help us find her place so gave us directions and was waiting for us in the rain when we arrived and showed us to our room. Room was clean and looks as it did in pictures on website. A Light breakfast was left in room every night, sometimes the cake was eaten as a late night snack. Breakfast was perfect for eating on go before morning excursions. Waking up in the morning you get to see all the tropical flowers that Kathy has on her property. Short drive to beach which provides nice pictures as you come down the mountain especially in the mornings. Heavy rain one day provide a great picture of water falls coming off the mountain seen from behind the property. Yes there are rooster and they start crowing around 2:00 -3:00am and they don't let up, this is an island wide phenomena. During our stay we would have about 7-10 minutes of hot water which made for quick showers after day long hikes. Property is located about 25-30 miles to either end of island but this 25 mile drive will take about hour. On our next trip to Kauai we will stay a few nights at different points in Kauai and will definitely stay a few nights a Kakalina's when we stop over in Kapaa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent four nights in the Hale Elua unit in January. The combination bedroom, kitchen and living area is spacious and well furnished. The price of $85 is quite reasonable, even when the $65 cleaning fee is considered. Although we missed the camaraderie of a shared breakfast, Kathy left an ample and tasty Hawaiian breakfast in the room each morning and provided snorkel and beach gear for our use throughout our stay. This B&B’s location is quiet (except for the roosters everywhere in Kauai) and convenient – about an 8-minute drive from downtown Kapaa. For us, two additional attractive features were the car rental arrangements Kathy made (at a MUCH lower rate than Hotwire offered) and the three acres of lavishly landscaped grounds surrounding the rooms. Kathy kindly provided a guided tour of those grounds.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillamook
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our room at Kakalina's and the hospitality we received were perfect for us. Our accommodation was comfortable, colorful and spacious. The flowers and plants all around us, and the breakfasts of absolutely delicious breakfast breads and fruits...all assured us we were in Hawaii! It was so nice to be able to stay at the quiet edge of town and yet quickly reach the beautiful azure ocean at Kealia Beach each day. Kakalina's was a great jumping-off point for all parts of the island. Our hostess helpfully arranged a good car rental for us too. Thanks for everything, Kathy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzogenaurach, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent a week in Hale 'Akahi. Generally, we prefer calm and secluded accomodations - Hale 'Akahi fulfilled all our expectations. We will never forget the romantic tropic evenings in the wooden lanai, the lush flower garden, the nice breakfast (fresh fruit and juice, home made cake) which Kathy brougt to the fridge every evening before. We appreciated to brew coffee and have breakfast when we were up to do so.

The rooms were very clean, nice furniture, the soft bed very comfortable.

We felt to be near to Paradise!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed our time. Our room had a screened in porch area, perfect for having a wonderful breakfast provided by Kathy, the host. All we could see in any direction was the beauty of the lush tropical plants that surrounded us. At night, we heard no traffic, no neighbors, just the peaceful sound of evening showers.
Every morning we enjoyed orange juice and delicious baked goods like banana bread or poppy seed loaf. And the fruit, what a treat! Apple bananas, papayas, oranges, and pears ---a perfectly wonderful meal before setting off on the day's adventure. Kathy was helpful and showed us the meaning of the word "aloha", yes she is busy---but she helped out with whatever we needed. The neighborhood was quiet and beautiful, we took many morning and evening walks to enjoy the landscape and the tropical breezes. We were located conveniently to all the island has to offer, but could return to our room and feel away from it all. Enjoyed every minute, hated to leave!
Maveh and Joe

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kakalina's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakalina's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6781 Kawaihau Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Kakalina's Bed And Breakfast Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kakalina's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.