We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's no place like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fern Grotto Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fern Grotto Inn
Save
You added Fern Grotto Inn to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   4561 Kuamoo Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
22% Last Minute Discount
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“There's no place like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

We were finalizing plans for our trip to Hawaii, but we had some difficulty finding accommodations on the beautiful island of Kaua`i. My wife and I had been doing a considerable amount of research (she did a lot of the leg work) when we discovered this gem of an inn. The website looked promising and we decided to further investigate. We loved the fact that it had only four cottages to choose from and each one had its own uniqueness. We chose the lovely garden cottage for our stay. Finding the Fern Grotto Inn takes great hand and eye coordination. You really have to watch for the turn because it comes up quickly past the bridge (when it's pitch black your night vision better be on point). It was the smallest of the cottages (no kitchen), but it had excellent amenities such as: A/C, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee machine, fresh linens, and DVD's. It even had a friendly gecko in the medicine cabinet to greet us! The cottage was spotless upon our arrival and quite cozy. We came and went as we pleased and rarely did see the other guests. Perfect. We wished that one of the windows would've closed better and the bathroom have a closed ceiling for privacy and comfort (you'll know what I mean.) The location is close to the river and the beach is about a block away (watch for traffic). Fern Grotto Inn is also close to Kapa`a with all of its shopping and eating establishments. Surprisingly, we didn't have a chance to see or meet Paul and Nausheen Juma, the owners of Fern Grotto Inn. We want to say "mahalo" for running a beautiful establishment and making us feel welcomed. This truly is a hidden gem in paradise!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    50
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
172
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

We have stayed in the Garden Cottage twice, and while it might be very simple, it is perfect for us. Paul and Nausheen were very helpful and made us feel welcome on both trips.

The location is great for restaurants, very near a quiet beach, and within easy striking distance of almost everything on the island.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

I spent a week at the Ohana House and it was ideal. The house has been renovated but keeps all the charm of the 40's planation style - while adding modern comforts. I booked on short notice - so Paul gave me an amazing rate. It's just as beautiful as the pictures show. Paul and Nausheen are the perfect hosts - they made sure every need was met - so I never had to bother them and was able to enjoy the house as if it was my own home. It's the perfect location to explore the island - or just hang out on the porch.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

A lot to like. We rented Canal Cottage for eight nights recently. Nice big space with two full baths—showers, no tub. Kitchen has been improved and enlarged from what the website currently shows. No AC in Canal Cottage but lots of screened windows and two overhead fans. Comfortable beds and nice decorative touches.

Landscaped compound with a house and four cottages—the owners live in one of the cottages. Nice balance from the owners of being helpful and yet letting us be. Lots of bird sounds—chickens, of course, and thrush and unknown others. Frogs and frog sounds, but few and not the dreaded coqui as on the Big Island. Visiting duck patrols the hedge each morning. Some occasional and faint traffic sounds from Kuamo’o Road, which is not visible from the Inn. Glimpse of the Wailua River from the kitchen window.

Short drive to shopping and restaurants. Closest smimming beach is Lydgate, which is a very short drive away, with parking, facilities and Lifeguards.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
submarineaz
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

I saved a review of the Fern Grotto Inn from several years ago and chanced upon it again before booking my trip to Kauai this year so I decided to give it a try. The Fern Grotto Inn exceeded my expectations in every way. We stayed in the smallest bungalow, the "Garden Cottage" which feels surprisingly larger than it's 500 sq ft. The decor and furniture were thoughtfully chosen to give that 5 star resort feel without the several hundred dollar a night price tag. The kitchenette was well equipped with small appliances and a refrigerator, lacking only a small sink (the bathroom sink sufficed). Surprisingly it was also stocked with spices needed for cooking, plastic bags, tupperware, and plastic ware for taking meals with you on a hike or to the beach. I added to the stash some Hawaiian fish spice rub and a new kitchen knife.The bathroom was also well stocked with a selection of full size bottles of shampoo and conditioner, soaps, hair dryer, bath towels and beach towels! The living area was well equipped with a large TV with cable, DVD player, a selection of DVD's, books, and a CD mini-stereo system. It was very cozy in the bungalow but when we had to leave Paul had a shed full of coolers, boogie boards, mats for beach towels and snorkelling equipment. When it came time to do laundry there was a full size washer/dryer with detergent and dryer sheets available for use. We are experienced International travelers but felt like we had overpacked like amateurs when we saw how many things we could have left at home.
The location was excellent as the Inn is on the better , lusher side of the island in our opinion. The beach across the street was nice, but head down to the end of the road past Hanalei bay and you'll find the best beach with a nice lagoon for swimming. Head the other way and Lihue has some excellent shopping and Costco if you are there for an extended period of time!
The grounds of the Fern Grotto Inn are set up so that you feel you are the only people staying at the property. It was a very quiet location, roosters notwithstanding.
So we highly recommend the Fern Grotto Inn. It reminded us of the hospitality we have enjoyed in the pensions of Moorea. Don't waste your money being insulated at a big name resort, stay at the Fern Grotto Inn and you can pretend Kauai is your home.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Loved the Ohana House! We travelled with small children, a teenager and our parents. There was something to like for all. Our host was available most of the time and went to great efforts to make sure that our stay was enjoyable. It was wonderful to have all the baby items that we needed provided. The house is well stocked with family games and books to read when you're not checking out the island.
The location was great. A short walk to the river and ocean. Shopping a short distance down the road. Travelling all over the island didn't seem like a large endeavor as the Fern Grotto is so centrally located.
Can't say there was anything that we didn't like about our stay at the Ohana House - Fern Grotto. The roosters were a bit noisy in the mornings but you get used to it and if you keep your a/c on you can't hear them anyway. It was a home away from home.
Oh, and you may want to bring or purchase a little bug spray as the mosquitoes were a bit bad.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wichita, KS
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

We went to Kauai for our honeymoon and had 7 of our family members go with us. The Fern Grotto Inn was the perfect place for us to stay. We all had our own private spaces when we wanted them and we were within walking distance to eachother when we wanted to spend time together. Paul and his family were there to answer any questions we had and they made us feel as if we were at our own homes. The grounds were beautiful and it was so peaceful the entire time we were there!!! We will definelty be staying at the Fern Grotto Inn everytime we go back to Kauia.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fern Grotto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Grotto Inn

Address: 4561 Kuamoo Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Grotto Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in the perfect spot for exploring the whole island of Kauai. Just ten minutes north of the airport, the property is on the banks of the Wailua River, a few minutes from the heart of Kapaa town, walking distance to beaches and family parks. We are nestled in Hawaii's largest coconut grove in the shadow of Sleeping Giant Mountain with easy access to hiking and kayaking. We are only a block from the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fern Grotto Hotel Kapaa
Fern Grotto Inn Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fern Grotto Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.