We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Small Town Coffee

Small Town Coffee
4-1543 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 114 Restaurants in Kapaa
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Same great coffee and tea. Same fresh baked pastries. Same good humor and attention to detail. Same ice cold bevies. Same tables and chairs. Same plants. Same regular customers. Same you. But now, it's on wheels. Find us in the Kojima's parking lot in the red bus.
Decatur, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Had breakfast here, hoping for an exceptional experience. My order was delicious....I had the We Found Nemo on their homemade molasses bread. It was truly delicious, with some fresh herb seasoning, generous portion of very fresh lox.....very tasty. Husband's That'll Do Pig was fine, nothing special. Our coffee order was forgotten, so we had quite a long wait. Would probably try again, though......it might have just been a bad day.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    27
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
n
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“watch your change”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Went early in the morning, and even though we had the address could not find it. We called asking their location and the girl could not explain where they were, so we kept driving around in the dark, even though it turns out we had been parked right across from it when we called. When paying for our coffee I handed her a 20$ and she gave me back 1$ instead of 11$
when I brought it to her attention her excuse was that it was early, though they had been open for two hrs already. The coffee was fine but not amazing, they open at 5am but don't have the food or snacks out yet till later.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall type restaurant where the locals go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Here's a diamond in the rough. Hidden away in the Kapa'a Product Marketplace is this gem serving healthy food at a reasonable price. I had a superior tuna fish sandwich - freshly made albacore tuna mixed with chopped crisp apple and a light touch of mayonnaise, topped with a thick layer of tomato, thinly sliced red onion, cheese on a perfectly toasted warm torta roll. This with a glass of milk was less than $10. There is both indoor and outdoor seating screened from the highway and neighboring shops, the kitchen is open 5 AM to 2 PM for breakfast and lunch, the restaurant is open until 5 PM for coffee and snacks. They offer a long list of tea selections - all brewed with loose tea, excellent coffee, chai, smoothies, baked items not overly sugared. This is a great find in Kaua'i.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Cool Little Coffee Shop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Expensive but delicious organic coffee. Superb customer service. The barista was very friendly and helpful.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great local coffee shop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

When I travel I love visiting local coffee shops and this one was spot on! Great coffee, atmosphere, and food and really nice people! We also got sandwiches to go one morning and they were delicious! We stopped here at some point every day while we were in Kapaa. Highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anni C, Owner at Small Town Coffee, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hey, thanks for stopping by. I'm glad you had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Small Town Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Small Town Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Small Town Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.