We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice base to explore Kauai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waipouli Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Waipouli Beach Resort to your Saves list
Waipouli Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very nice base to explore Kauai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The 2 bedroom condos are fantastic. The kitchen and bathrooms are nicer than the ones we have at home. We had 4A and 1C and did not feel crowded at all. Beautiful resort with friendly staff and great access to the island. Kapaa is fairly midway on the main road around the island, so getting up to the north shore or down to Poipu or Waimea canyon is not too bad a drive.

The small beach in front of the resort is fine for playing a bit or getting in the water, but very nice beaches are available with a quick drive. We did go out every morning however to see the sunrise, which was fantastic from the beach. We also saw monk seals (almost extinct sadly) on the beach in front of the resort during our stay.

Adding to the convenience, Safeway, Longs and ABC are literally across the street. The convenience is amazing, but be careful when booking rooms. Make sure you know that PMV (partial mountain view) actually means very noisy strip-mall and highway view. Definitely worth the extra money not to be on the road.

If traveling with kids, there is a very nice kids beach about 10 minutes south - Lydgate park. Awesome snorkeling and playground.

Cons -

The only negative is that while the pool area looks awesome, they do not seem to be heated and were too cold for us. The stay would have been perfect if they had heated the pools a bit.

Room Tip: Make sure you know that PMV (partial mountain view) actually means very noisy strip-mall and highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    260
    74
    41
    20
See reviews for
503
369
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I travelled with my parents to the island of Kauai and we chose to stay at the Waipouli Beach resort and spa. It was conveniently located between Lihue airport and the town of Kapaa. There were many amenities across the road from the resort as well including grocery, abc store, starbucks, and numerous restaurants. The resort was beautiful. It was clean, staff were friendly, and the pool was so much fun! The concierge staff were very knowledgeable about what activities were available and what they enjoyed to do in the local community. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 3 bathroom suite and it was very nice. It had central air, laundry, dishwasher, full kitchen amenities, and was very clean. There was the option to have house cleaning in your suite each day for an additional cost, we chose to keep clean after ourselves and washed a load of towels as needed. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in building C with a garden view - really we had a great view of the mountain range and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We traveled to Kauai in late July, early August 2013. Our first trip to Hawaii as a family of four, this was our "big trip" before our oldest daughter goes off to college. Kauai was our second stop, after spending 5 days in Oahu. Our trip to Kauai was for 8 days, and was absolutely an amazing trip in every way. We could not have asked for a better trip.

After a massive research campaign, we decided to stay at WBR. We read lots of reviews, and debated between north and south shore, but ended up on the east coast. We thought of splitting time between north and south shores, but decided we did not want to move. We thought the east coast would be a good compromise and easy to get to both ends of the island loop road. We actually booked the room through Rosewood Kauai, and their room is C303, which is not an ocean view, but faces roughly north towards a hotel next to WBR being renovated.

We also looked at other house rentals, but decided an ocean front condo at WBR would work the best. We had stayed at a hotel in Oahu, so this was a nice upgrade to a large 2 bedroom condo. The finishes and furniture were top notch, very modern kitchen and appliances, nice living room, and 3 bathrooms. It was awesome to have so much space to spread out. The room door is actually a number code lock. All rooms were clean and modern, and there were two flat screen TVs. The unit had 3 lanais, which all had huge sliding glass doors, which let in great breezes when opened. The beds were amazing - and the unit had a washer/dryer.

We cooked in several nights, getting food at the Foodland and making some cheaper home made dinners. The ground are amazing. The beach is OK, we didn't spend much time there and swimming is not advised. The pool and area around it are absolutely the best. We had a great time in the lazy river (no current) and hot tubs. They have two small waterslides, and several shallow areas for smaller kids. The hot tub had a sand bottom! Towels are available at the pool, so you don't need to bring any.

There is a restaurant, "Oasis", and spa, on site, but we did not use either. The area around the hotel is built up, with resorts and stores. This is good for services, but traffic can be congested at times. The resort is right on the ocean on the east side. There is a light right at the hotel, which makes it easier to get on to the main road. There are two grocery stores across the street and several restaurants.

We loved staying at Wiapouli BR. It was our home away from home for 8 days. Every day, we planned out an island adventure and drove quite a bit, but distances are not bad at all on the island. It is easy to get to the north shore (Kapaa bypass is useful), and you can get up to the Hanalei area in about 1/2 hour to 40 min. The south shore is only 20 - 25 min away, the airport is less than 10. No issue at all with plane noise though. The west side is a little further from WBR, but still not bad at about 1 1/2 hours up to the canyon. Other great attractions close to WBR include the Smith Family Luau, Kapaa town with shopping and services, many beach parks, Opeaka'a Falls, and the Sleeping Giant.

Highly recommended resort hotel. A splurge for our family but worth it. I would definitely stay here again. With that being said, I would also not hesitate to stay in Hanalei or Poipu on our next trip. The whole island is so beautiful and not too big, so you really can't go wrong!

Aloha. Here is a link to my full trip report on TA forums, with photos and detailed descriptions of each day we spent and what we did:


http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g29218-i304-k6836164-o10-TWM_Final_Trip_Report_8_w_photos_thoughts_lists_links-Kauai_Hawaii.html#52793693

Room Tip: We were on the north side. On our lanai, you could see the sleeping hills rising west of Kapaa, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at this property. They have wonderful pools for families. It is rather large, but the ocean is right in front. I came to see the ocean, so would only stay in a unit that is royal ocean view. The only problem is, it is rather expensive. It is about $450 a night. It does not include maid service. The staff is very friendly, and helpful. If you are not worried about the cost, it is a great place to stay. The units are 2 bedrooms, and can have a maximum of 6 guests. There is a king bed, a queen size bed, and a hide-a-bed. Not all the royal ocean view suites are not as big as pictured on the web site.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We came back to Waipouli Beach Resort this year again because we loved it so much last year. This time though we rented directly through Candace at Kauai Calls. Candace made renting our suite super easy and she responded to emails so fast. Our 2 bedroom 3 bathroom suite was just as perfect as if renting directly from the resort themselves. We had everything that we needed in the suite including dishes, glasses, cups, cutlery, etc. They supplied us with enough paper products and towels and there were some other leftover likes coffee filters and salt and pepper from other guests.

This resort is so perfect for families with younger kids. The kiddie pool is perfect with a gently sloping sandy bottom with water that is heated nice and warm. There is even a "cooler" kids hot tub. There are no rowdies here to worry about and by the evening the resort is nice and quiet for those younger kids who need to get some sleep.

Oasis restaurant has a good happy hour daily and their food is good albeit a bit on the pricey side.

We even met up with some of the people that stayed at the resort the same time last year... with kids that our son had played with.

This is a do it yourself resort so if you are a bit stuffy and need to be catered to you may not like it here :)

We love this place... I am sure we will be back!

Room Tip: Candace at Kauai Calls is great for getting you the right room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite (that oddly had three toilets) that also had a fold out sofa bed. Most importantly it was clean and the location was conveniently located across the street from shopping. It had a well stocked kitchen including utensils. For some reason they removed the ceiling fans from the bedrooms so during the humid nights it was challenging. Unfortunately, construction was being done next door that started at 6:50 a.m. each morning. We had a late flight out and check out time was 11:00 a.m. They would not accommodate us with a hospitality room so we had to spend the extra money to use a day room. The jets to the hot tub worked some days and not on other days. I realize it's not a hotel so daily house cleaning is not available unless you want to pay an extra $80 per day. Overall, It's not bad by any means but I think there are likely better values elsewhere.

Room Tip: Know that the garden room overlooks a parking lot and not sure where the garden part comes into play...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here in October 2013. This is a perfect location from which to fall in love with Kauai! Every morning we would go for a run on the beach walk (1 block from the condos) and return to watch a beautiful sunrise. This was also a great time to meet other people staying at the resort. We got some great suggestions for restaurants and things to do from people we met at sunrise. We walked to dinner 2 nights and went to downtown Kapaa 1 night. If you like sushi, you must try Bushido in downtown Kapaa. Because Kauai is so laid back, there are no chain restaurants. You can have dinner whenever you want, at wonderful "mom and pop" restaurants, without reservations. The location can't be beat, easy access to every part of the island!
The only problem we encountered at the resort was that our door would not close very easily. I told the front desk and it was fixed when we returned later in the day. It was great to have a condo. We would go to the grocery store across the street and keep stuff for lunches in the refrigerator. It was also great to be able to wash clothes throughout the week. The condos are extremely clean and well stocked!
We fell in love with Kauai on this vacation and will be staying at this resort each time we visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEEnright, General Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Aloha
The staff & I were thrilled to read your posting and expect to see you back with again some time soon!
Gregg Enright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waipouli Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.