We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waipouli Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Waipouli Beach Resort to your Saves list
Waipouli Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Newport Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Cool breezes, waves crashing, a dreamy place with the right location... It is not a hotel, as the condos are individually owned and offered as rentals. Convenient location going north or south. Papaya's health food store was awesome just across the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEEnright, General Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Aloha,
The staff & management would like to thank you for taking the time out to post this review. You are spot on regarding our location as we are right in the middle of the island, giving easy access to both Princeville & Poipu. We would expect to see you back with us at The Waipouli Beach Resort & Spa real soon!
Gregg Enright
Regional Dir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    244
    66
    38
    16
See reviews for
471
341
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We rented from Kauai Executive and stayed in A401 it was amazing. Location is very central for us as we enjoyed exploring all areas of the Island. Building being right up front and A401 being Ocean front made for a spectacular stay. Enjoyed amazing sunrises each day from the unit. Left the sliding glass doors open every night, the ocean breeze was so strong I got up to turn off the ceiling fan one night but realized the fan was not even on, I thought that was awesome. Woke up every morning refreshed. Unit was way beyond our expectations, clean comfortable and high end. Resort itself was clean and very well kept. Enjoyed the pool all day long our last 2 days, sand bottom hot tubs felt great. Look forward to returning and staying in same unit.

Room Tip: Ocean front buildings if you can afford if not buildings in the back but ocean side would still be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We just returned from a family vacation at Waipouli Beach resort. Three generations- 8 adults and 3 small children- all with differing requirements. This place met all of our expectations. We rented two condos from VRBO. The condos were next door to each other. Both condos had two master suites with their own bathrooms and great ocean views looking out over the property.Here is my list of pros and cons:
Pro:
1- great location in the center of island. It is about an hour drive to Hanalei in the north or to Waimea in the south.
2- although the complex is on a busy road and the traffic light is annoying, once inside the complex we could not see or hear the traffic.
3- A small fitness center for the members of our family who required a daily work out.
4- a nice restaurant and bar with "to-go" drink service for the pool
5- a great pool with waterslides- we spent many hours here!
6- excellent facilites for cooking- the kitchens in the rooms were well stocked and there were barbecues on site as well. We ate most of our meals together in the room.
7- we liked not having to carry a room key. The codes seemed long- but were not difficult to remember. Even my 6 year old granddaughter had it down by the 2nd day

Cons:
1- the internet service was unreliable and slow. This was the most irritating thing about the place
2- the rule about no float toys in the pool was disappointing since it was such a lovely pool to relax in- it would have been nice to relax on a lounger.
3- the elevator next to room D406 was very loud and annoying

I probably would not recommend this place for a romantic getaway - it is clearly oriented towards families. We had a great time and plan to return again.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view in Building A, D or H. Try to get a room away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I agree with many of the other reviewers -- the pluses at this property out weigh the negatives.

We rented our 1 bedroom 1.5 bath unit through Costco, which contracted with Outrigger. Only after we arrived and started talking to other guests did we learn that the nicest units were rented through either VRBO, some other service or direct from owners.

Our unit was physically (appliances, cupboards, bathroom) in good shape -- but the furniture was worn out. The couch was saggy, the coffee table and TV stand looked like they were ready to fall over. And there was only one 32 inch TV in the living room, none in the bedroom. There was no overhead light over the eating table and only 2 lamps, one goose neck floor lamp and one table lamp -- with 60 watt bulbs for the entire living - eating area. If you wanted to eat, best before dark. Likewise, 2 bedside table lamps had 60 watt bulbs, making reading difficult.

We should have complained to the manager when we first arrived, but we had lots of fun things scheduled, and frankly we thought the whole resort was rundown. When we learned this wasn't the case, after 3 attempts we finally spoke to the manager. He offered to move us (after 4 days of our 6 day stay we said no). He then told us Outrigger had no control over how the individual owners maintained their units, and that the nicer units we saw were undoubtedly rented direct from owners. After hearing the manager saying over and over there was nothing else he could do, we hung up. The manager called back and sent us a $50 gift certificate to the Oasis on-site restaurant, so our complaint had one redeeming result.

I saw another review that said they had checked the resort out beforehand and decided to rent through VRBO. I wish we had. It is a nice location, but beware which room you get.

Room Tip: Don't get unit G203
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor City, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to the island. The resort was great. We were in a one bedroom , 1.5 bath. Large and nicely appointed. Loved the kitchen, don't usually want to cook at home. My husband was able to use the nice clean barbecues. The pool was nice. A nice strip mall across the street, with Starbucks and other nice stores. Everything we needed. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to Kauai in the last couple years. We stayed down South near Poipu last time and probably should have stayed there again. I like some of the past reviews that list the positives and negatives so I'll do the same and point out a few new things not in previous reviews. We stayed at this property end of Sept 2013.

Positives - Great location on the island if you want to rent a car and see the entire island. Being centrally located on the East coast, it allows you to quickly get to the Airport (10 min), South to Poipu area (45 min) or North to Hanalei (45 min). With these rooms you get full kitchen, utensils and cookware. Take advantage of the Grocery store across the street. If you have questions using the room's high-end appliances, we found a "room owners manual" in one of the kitchen drawers. Room washer/dryer combo was great, especially so you don't have to pack as much and check extra bags with the airline. Food and happy hour at the hotel's restaurant was great, terrific wait staff and bartenders. If you booked a garden view room, make sure you call the property before arriving to see where your room faces. We previously had room with view of parking lot, but they upgraded us for free to garden/pool view.

Negatives - Bad location if you want a quiet and relaxing vacation. The property is located directly off the busiest road on the island making it tough to cross the street or turn left out of the property. Just plan on waiting 10 minutes at the light if you plan on turning left. With the larger rooms, comes larger families on vacation. Tons of kids at the pool area, although there are a couple hot tubs for adults only. Upon check-in, they do not give you a map of the property showing layout of the 6 different buildings. That would have been helpful instead front desk reception basically just points in general direction saying your room is "over there." Biggest pain point was the 6 digit access code they give you to access your room (no room key). Easiest way to remember the code, just take a picture of the code with your phone. When you go down to use the pool however, the entire pool complex is locked and gated. You have to enter your building number, room number, pound sign, then your 6 digit room access code. A lot to remember just to use the pool complex. Oh and they make you sign a contract to check out pool towels then threaten you with your life if you don't return them. Easier to just buy $4 towels at Walmart when you get there! Weather was almost always cloudy, windy and rainy on this side of the island. We found however, that even on those bad weather days, a 45 min drive South to Poipu beach area, it was always beautiful down there (sunny, calm ocean, etc...). Lastly, this property does have a beach, but I would not recommend swimming or snorkeling here. Very windy, strong waves, rip currents and undertow. It's basically just good for an evening walk on the beach.

Room Tip: If you booked a garden view room, make sure you call the property before arriving to see where your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed at this amazing property in September. The room (D402) had an amazing view of the pool and ocean. The room was meticulously clean and very nicely decorated. We did have an air conditioning repair issue but the breeze was lovely, so we weren't terribly put out. The pools and restaurant were very nice. The concierge was very helpful. This property is conveniently located and allows you to walk to conveniences and restaurants nearby. The beach was very nice but getting into the ocean we found it to have a rocky bottom, not sandy. I would DEFINITELY return to this property and this specific room. Wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waipouli Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.