We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good but..................” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waipouli Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Waipouli Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
London, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Very Good but..................”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have been planning our first trip to Kauai for almost a year now. I must have looked at 100s of condo rentals but when I came across Waipouli B401 on Home Away From Home rentals I knew it was the one!

Unit B401:

The unit certainly did not disappoint. It was listed as an ocean view and we did have a view of the ocean as we looked out over the rooftop of a building currently under construction. Our unit was a 2 bedroom with luxury linens and the beds were oh so comfortable. The kitchen had many different spices but no dishwasher soap. Laundry soap was provided. It was impeccably clean. Also included were many different soaps, shampoo, conditioner and body wash from the spa downstairs. A very nice and appreciated touch. The only drawback with the unit and certainly NO fault of the owners was the ongoing construction next door. 7:00am sharp the noise and music would start and not end until 5:00pm. In fairness though we were not in the unit most of the day so I would not consider this a big inconvenience. Just be aware that if you are in building A,B or C facing outward this could be a concern. There is Wi-Fi in the rooms but as others have mentioned it can be slow and you always seem to get kicked off and have to log back in. Having a grocery store within walking distance was a huge plus. There is a Foodland and a Safeway. We much preferred the Safeway as my husband got food poisining from a deli sandwich at Foodland. Be sure to pick up a Safeway card as it really does save you money.

Pool:

The lazy river pool is beautiful with lovely landscaping, waterfalls, hidden cave and 2 waterslides that were enjoyed by the kids. My husband and I however found it sort of boring because all you could really do is walk around the lazyriver. No floats (other then those for babies) are allowed in the pool and you are unable to swim. There were plenty of loungers and fresh towels available. 4 BBQs are also poolside. We never did BBQ but I saw people here every night. The grills are also kept very clean (I checked). It would have been nice to have some sort of drink service available.

Oasis Restaurant:

The Oasis offers a very good Happy Hour everyday from 4 - 6. $3.00 for beer and $4.00 for well drinks. After Happy Hour one night we stayed for dinner. We both just had the burger and fries but no complaints. You could not beat the atmosphere. Dining with the ocean right in front of you and the sound of the surf priceless!

Resort:

The resort was clean however I was extremely disappointed with a few of the conditions that we observed that were not being corrected. An emergency exit sign was burnt out the entire time of our 12 day stay. NOT GOOD. I am pretty sure that this could possibly be a fire code violation. Also just outside of our room in the hallway huge pieces of stucco was coming away from the ceilings and wall caused by water damaged. There seemed to be many small things that should have been addressed and corrected as soon as possible but was not.

Be sure to visit the conceriage desk. You will be presented with a small welcome package, nothing really special but it includes some maps and some discount coupons. Also any reservations and advice can be provided. The lady at the desk is very helpful. Something else that is nice to know is that you are able to print off your boarding pass in the office area of the resort.

Conclusion:

I was very pleased with our stay at Waipouli. We met some awesome people and the memories that we made will last a life time. The building however is starting to show its wear and it seems to be small issues and I cannot understand why it is not kept up. The burnt out exit sign really bothered me. The exit sign alone is why I rated it a 4 star, other then that it is a top notch resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    540
    224
    62
    36
    16
See reviews for
428
315
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week at the beautiful resort this past August. It was my 25th wedding anniversary. The property is very nice. It is convenient to area restaurants an a local supermarket. It is also close to the airport. The pool is great, however do not plan on much but swimming. The staff does not allow any level of playing. There are designated family and adult hot tubs, that was nice. We were fortunate to see seal on the beach. The beach was nice, butit is the east coast, the trade winds make the surf ruff. The reef is about 10 yards of the beach and only about 5' deep. The beach was not swimming friendly. We rented though VRBO, Vacations Rental By Owner, our rate was great for a first floor 2 bedroom unit 20 steps from the beach. We plan to visit Kawaii in the future, our 25th anniversary, but will probably look to stay in the Poipu area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed in unit D202 rented it from private owner. The resort is in perfect location in Kapaa. 30 minute drive to North shore or Poipu. The room was in perfect location facing the pool and ocean. It was clean and kitchen well equipped. Washer and dryer and AC made the vacation perfect. Its not a resort where someone cleans your room everyday and brings you towels so if you cant handle doing laundry and washing dishes this isn't for you. We went to Costco and stocked up on food. Cooked breakfast every morning and BBQ steak a few times for dinner. I like how this Resort isn't so crowded like the larger ones Marriott and Hyatt. You can walk next door to Kauai cycle and rent a bike for the day and ride down the new Kauai bike bath which starts next to this resort. Did this 3 times. Beautiful. Miles of beach you ride next to and just pick one and lock your bike to a tree and enjoy. When I return to Kauai I will only stay here.

Room Tip: Try to rent a unit from private owner instead of Outrigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This complex was absolutely amazing!! The unit, H-103 was very well appointed and the location was steps from the beach. The unit had everything we needed and was very nice and comfortable. The complex..............breath taking. The beach was very private and beautiful. The pool was perfect, equipped with waterfalls, slides and plenty of chairs. All in all, this was the best vacation we have ever taken. Kauai is by far the nicest of all the Islands!! And in a previous rating one said this place was very expensive. Looking on-line is hard because truly you don't know what you are going to end up with. Pictures can be easily doctored!! When we walked in we were breathless so yes, the expense is well worth knowing you are getting exactly what you paid for. We will return to Kauai and this complex. And another thing we liked, the complex wasn't over run with kids and teenagers. Not that we mind kids but when on vacation, we hope for some peace and quiet. And we got that!! Thank you for allowing us to stay in your lovely home!!!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor just steps away from the spectacular beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, Gujarat, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I come with family go to Waipouli Beach Resort at hawaii. Waipouli Beach Resort is very very!! good but expensive. Resort good atmosphere. At night is very beautiful have most traveler. Food is delicious Waiter good service spa is very nice.My rooms is very comfortable not have odorless
and have all the amenities with a full kitchen.Room Service have personnel beautiful and handsome.Waipouli Beach Resort worth price I funy to swim. Pool is beautiful and clean water. I and family have happy and funny.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed this past August for 3 nights. We wished we could have stayed longer at this resort and in Kauai. We booked an ocean view unit and we were upgraded to an ocean front unit. The unit was 2 bd 3 bth with a full kitchen and washer and dryer. The unit was clean and well kept. It was about 10 steps away from the sand! The pool was great, my kids enjoyed themselves! We liked the location since it is close to the airport, shopping areas, restaurants and beaches. The check in staff were friendly. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IN
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed at this property. As another review mentioned the owner no longer works with the management company & personally rents the unit. The owner was easy to work with & responsive. A week before we arrived we received an email with access codes to the unit & pool. We had everything we needed on site at the rental.

Unit was STUNNING! The unit has a big lanai and 2nd lanai off the master. The only neighbor is the presidential unit above. The lanai is no more than 30 yards from the beach. The kitchen and bedrooms are beautiful and the view is unmatched. We enjoyed sitting on the patio and eating dinner on the lanai. The bathrooms are elegant and the bed was comfortable. The unit is close to the pool and is a more private location. The unit has utensils needed to cook & there are two grocery stores across the street. The washer and dryer in the unit was a huge help, nice to go home with clean clothes. The owner was considerate and provided detergent for the washer as we will the dishwasher. This is a unit I highly recommend staying at and would absolutely rent again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waipouli Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.