We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern condo experience in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waipouli Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Waipouli Beach Resort to your Saves list
Waipouli Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great modern condo experience in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We rented a room managed by Kauai exclusive. 2 bedroom was absolutely well appointed and luxurious. Very reasonable rate for what we got. No use of front desk unless you book with outrigger, no room cleaning, but there was a full size washer/dryer in our room! Generous granite countertop kitchen and high end appliances actually made cooking here a pleasure. So you can save a ton on eating out. Kapa'a is quite a good location as it is fairly central to the north and west parts of the island where some of the more famous attractions lie. There are some neat things to see nearby also such as wailea falls. The beach is not really thought to be safe for swimming although it seemed one day the waves had calmed a bit. We never went in but went to nearby Kealia beach which had a breakwater at the north end and a long shore break. Still lots of bodysurfing/boogie boarding action though. Stay away from the middle where the locals play. Lydgate park just 10 mins south has kiddy area where you can snorkel and feed the fish.

Room Tip: With any condo, we always pay the extra to get a ground floor room which often gives you a "bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    264
    76
    42
    21
See reviews for
518
375
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have stayed at this resort three times over the past five years.
It is our home away from home.
From the quick access from the airport, the large lagoon, the spacious rooms,
the Safeway across the street and the sand bottomed hot tubs, the resort makes
vacationing easy.
Its central island local makes day excursions to all parts of the island easy and the
sound of the ocean each morning reminds you that you are in Hawaii/Paradise.
As an added bonus, the shops of Kapaa and the pedestrian and cycling path near the property
makes each day a new adventure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEEnright, General Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Aloha
The staff & I would like to thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are thrilled you consider the resort your home away from home! This is our objective with all of our guests, and those visiting the property. We hope to see you back with us again real soon.
Gregg enright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had a great time staying at the Waipouli Beach Resort. While the setting was not as scenic as some of the other properties we stayed at on our trip, we felt this was offset by the convenience of the location and the size of the room(s). The property is directly across the street from a strip center that includes a Safeway. It was so convenient to be able to walk across the street for groceries and a quick lunch. There are also lots of affordable eating options in Kapa'a. We really liked Tiki Tacos, Tacos al Pastor and Chicken in a Barrel. We were also able to easily drive to Ke'e Beach on the north side and to Poipu on the south side. The space of the condo units is great for families. We had a 1 bedroom unit and it was a great size for 2 adults and 2 kids (kids got the sleeper couch!). In addition to the size, the units are beautifully furnished and have high-end appliances. For a long-term stay this property would be ideal! I would definitely pay extra for a pool/ ocean view at this property as other rooms will face the parking lot or nearby properties.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEEnright, General Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Aloha,
My staff and I would like to take a moment to say thank you for taking time out of your day to post your comments regarding your recent stay at the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort & Spa. As you mentioned this resort is centrally located on the island. (40 minute drive to Princeville, and/or Poipu, and 20 minutes to the airport) The famous Sleeping Giant hiking trail is 15 minutes away along iwth the wonderful Wailua public golf course.
We hope to see you back with us soon!
Mahalo
Gregg Enright
Outrigger Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had room D203 and if you have allergies stay far from this place! Room had caked on dust in air vents along with curtain rods and in every aspect of the room. It is not cleaned well at all! Looks of the hotel can be very deceiving. Very disappointed on cleanliness. Not to mention online it's very misleading when they say cleaning fee will be charged after September 1, 2013, well resort tells you when you get there that they don't clean rooms daily but it's an extra charge. ($80 a day)

Pool facilities made up for it. Kids enjoyed their day by the pool but I wished they allowed more towels daily. You can have 6 fresh towels a day. But otherwise pool was accommodating for the family.

They have a daily room tax of $34. So when they tell you there is no resort fee well they hit you with room tax which is pretty much the same.

I was surprised at how the front desk agent called my room one night to ask if I had two beds in one of our rooms, and said well another guest wants that bed so I just want to make sure you are checking out tomorrow. Um, ok but are you seriously saying this to me, shouldn't you know what is in your rooms?

Its been a long time since we stayed at an outrigger hotel. It was known as about a 3star hotel I would say its in that bracket. But it is quite a newer hotel and I assumed it would maintain cleanliness an uphold their class of their hotel but it's not so.

Overall, lack of cleanliness and lack of money spent on guest service is what i was disappointed with. On the positive side pool is great and it's in a good location. I did like the grounds of the property also. Thank you waipoli beach resort, but will return to my Starwood and Marriott properties instead.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed 5 nights in A106 with my family, and I wished we owned the unit. Ocean front, 2-bedroom, 3-bath, ground floor unit, steps to the beach, with top of the line appliances. Both bedrooms have a view of the ocean. We cooked most of our meals at the unit. It had everything! Our girls enjoyed running out to play on the beautifully landscaped grounds with the kids next door, and we all enjoyed meals on the lanai. Watched sunrise daily, and lulled to sleep by the sound of crashing waves on the beach one afternoon. It was an excellent unit, and they just need to change the couch, and the cushion on one of the dining chairs. Other than that, perfect!

As for the resort --- The pools were adequate, with 2 slides, a few waterfalls. We were able to use the grill. My mom used the spa, and she enjoyed it. Parking was no problem. No poolside service, though. One star off for that. Kapaa is not as scenic as the North Shore, but it is centrally located, so driving to North or South is faster. It was great to be close to Safeway, ABC, Pono Market, Coconut Market Place, among others.

I booked through Josh with Kauai Exclusive Management, and everything went so smoothly. They give you everything you need by e-mail, so no checking in or waiting in line necessary. Plenty of laundry detergent, garbage bags, paper towels, toiletries were provided as well. You can pick up 6 fresh towels per day from the pool. On our last day, Patrick of Kauai Exclusive also called to check in to see what needed attention in the unit, which I thought was cool. We would definitely stay here again --- best value, hands down!

Room Tip: Call Josh at Kauai Exlusive Management for better rates, as opposed to booking online. Get a ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great island, great location and a great resort! We really enjoyed the comfort and convenience of the condo-style units, as well as the lovely pools etc.

Note that as well as the Outrigger rooms there are many privately owned condos in the complex and many of these are "vacation rentals by owner" so it's worth checking on VRBO.com to compate deals with the main Outrigger website.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEEnright, General Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Aloha,
My staff and I would like to thank you for taking time out of your day to post a response to your recent visit to the Outrigger Waipouli Resort & Spa. My only comment regarding securing a VRBO (vacation rental by owner) unit is, you are locked into that unit, whereas with the Outrigger program you have the ability to chose from other units should the initial unit offered not meet your expectations. We have found this to be a big advantage amoung the guests coming to the property.
We hope to see you back with us again soon!
Gregg Enright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Impeccable! Don't let the entry fool you, beyond the spa door - there is an oasis awaiting you. A menu of services, therapist and staff are there to make your day a pleasant one. This exotic spa is not to be missed if you are visiting Kauai.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waipouli Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.