We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxuriously Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waipouli Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Waipouli Beach Resort to your Saves list
Waipouli Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Folsom, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxuriously Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just got back tonight after 14 days stay at Waipouli Resort in Kaapa with my whole family. Our first time in Kauai and the place was very clean and well kept top of the line appliance which makes sense when cooking for a family of 6 is more economical than eating out!! Safeway is 5 minute walk across from resort opens 24hrs. But do stock up on Costco for poultry, steaks etc.. esp. if you plan to stay for week or more. Beach has no life guard lots of reefs so best bring your rock shoes and floating stuff, our room had boogie boards and sand castle toys and umbrella that was thoughtful. The only restaurant on the premise is independent from the resort and the prices are atrocious:( We spent 40- on just 4 deserts!! Which was not at all gourmet by any means . Overall the rooms are very clean, comfortable, 600 TC sheets and Ralph Lauren towels- need I say more and the ocean view is amazing!!! My kids are 7 and 12 both loved the beach and the double slide pool, couldn't get enough of it. We had an amazing trip and would definitely comeback soon:))

Room Tip: Pick 3rd or 4th floor to get better views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    244
    66
    38
    16
See reviews for
471
341
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paradise Point, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Wow, we were amazed and delighted with our stay at Waipouli Beach Resort on the island of Kawaii so professionally organised by "My Hawaii".
This was my first visit to the garden island and hopefully not my last. I left the details of this part of our holiday up to my travel agent and wasn't disappointed, but totally amazed.
The hotel complex is very grand, beautiful gardens and manicured lawns. The pool area is magnificent wit a snaking river, caves, waterfalls and two waterslides. It is perfect for families and as a couple we were able to find quieter areas to relax in. This is very different from Waikiki Beach, it's slower, more peaceful and designed to be taken at a much more leisurely pace.
The 2 bedroom Condo which was our accommodation was huge, magnificently decorated and furnished and suitable to share with another couple or family. It had the most comfy beds, linen and pillows. The kitchen was suitable for the most astute Chef, well appointed and spacious. The balconies offered sea breezes and had tables and chairs.
The Beach wasn't for the beginner swimmer, it is subject to the Easterly winds, the pool at this resort is a better option.
A small shopping centre is across the road, containing a "Safeway", "Longs Drugstore" and "ABC" store as well as many other small retailers. We didn't come to this island to shop, we came to take in the scenery and relax. Go to Oahu to get your big city fix.
This hotel is in a perfect area to relax, being a short/medium distance from the airport(about a 20 minute drive) but far enough away to not be right on top of it. A perfect place to day trip from.
I would definitely like to return to this island and would stay in Waipouli Beach Resort again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

After reading on here about the views of some of the rooms & knowing this is a once in 10 year trip for us & celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary I decided to go all out & book the Royal oceanfront, as it was there was an earlybird discount come up & it turned out cheaper than some of the other rooms I had been looking at. The view was amazing obviously, straight out to sea. We stayed in A204. The whole place was just amazing, the kitchen had everything we needed, the bathrooms were nice & big with great showers, 3 toilets much to our kids delight, we were lucky that when we did eat in we sat on the lanai to eat as that could fit all 4 of us but the table indoors only has room for 3, the only bad part of the place I think, they could get ride of the 2 arm chairs & move it around slightly to add another dining chair but it worked for us as kids had breakfast & by the time we had ours we sat outside. The pool was great for the kids, slides amazing & big enough for everyone. The onsite restaurant was fab too, meals were lovely & staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome. Across the road you have a supermarket & shops/cafe down the road & also across the road in walking distance you have restaurants, so a great place to not have to drive every night to eat. This was a great find & I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: It is worth reading the reviews on here about which block to stay in as a lot do overlook the carpar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in room A106, a 1300 square foot condo, with 2 bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths, and a gourmet kitchen. The living room and 2 bedrooms all had doors that open to their own patio. You could have dinner on the patio and listen to the ocean waves or just sit inside with the screen doors closed. Always a nice breeze. The grounds had a lazy river style swimming pool and a beach entry pool for toddlers. It was perfect for my kids, ages 7,9, and 21 months. The location of the resort was great because it was so central to everything. We traveled all over the island. And the so-called traffic that people talk about was really nothing. Kappa is busier than most parts of the island, but I wouldn't call it traffic. I would highly recommend the room we stayed in at this resort.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We did quite a bit of research before we chose the Waipouli Beach Resort and our expectations were exceeded! First, we found that the Kapaa area is perfect for visitors who want to enjoy both the north and south sides of the island. The Waipouli Beach Resort has lovely grounds and is located right on a beautiful, but wild beach. (No swimming there, or on many beaches throughout the island. Consult the locals for the best swimming beaches.) There was also a very nice pool on the grounds which was especially enjoyed by families with younger children. Our condo (G406) was just perfect for the four of us. We were able to cook there and eat on the small patio overlooking the ocean. And finally, the resort is walking distance from boutique shopping, restaurants, grocery stores, bicycle rental and much more!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEEnright, General Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Aloha
The staff and I would like to thank you for taking time out of your day to post this wonderful review of your recent visit to the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort & Spa. We are very proud of the resort and when we read reviews like this we realize we are on the right track. We hope to see you and your family back with soon!
Gregg Enright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is my first review. We stayed here in August 2012 for 6 nights. (Definitely not long enough.) I traveled with my fiance, and two other couples.

We rented a 2 Bedroom condo at this resort from HomeAway.com from someone who owned the unit. (At this property you have the option to rent units from the hotel OR from someone who owns one!) I recommend looking into renting a privately owned unit. It is often cheaper and the decor is better because someone actually personally owns it and has decorated it for their taste instead of the hotel industry using ordinary/mundane hotel decor.

Location: The resort is oceanfront, but the ocean is not swim-able or suitable for snorkeling. There are calmer beaches within a 10-15 minute drive. There are many restaurants and 2 grocery stores right across the street. You can also walk about 10-15 minutes to a large outdoor marketplace with handmade trinkets and souvenirs.

I would suggest getting a rental car so you can see the entire island, especially the caves near Princeville (North) and hiking in Waimea Canyon. You will do a lot of driving when you are sightseeing around the island, but won't need the car to have dinner or get groceries when you are "home" at the resort.

The pool area is phenomenal. Complimentary pool towels can be checked out. There is a gentle lazy river with waterfall caves, three Jacuzzi areas and two water slides. There are BBQs and plenty of seating. The sun goes down rather early in Hawaii, so I would advise starting your BBQ dinner early as its hard to grill in the dark (we learned). The landscaping was impeccable.

The condo was beautiful... Gourmet kitchen, washer/dryer, two balconies, giant soaker tub, luxury bathroom. What more could you ask for? We did not travel with children. This resort seemed to be popular with families (probably because of the awesome pool) but the noise or children did not bother anyone in our group. Hopefully this review helps someone make their decision about this extraordinary resort.

Room Tip: I wouldn't spend extra money for an ocean-view room. The mountain-view is breath taking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEEnright, General Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Aloha
I wanted to thank you for taking the time out to post a review of the Waipouli Beach Resort & Spa. It sounds like you had an excellent experience, and I along with all of those that work at the resort are thrilled when we read these reviews. I would like to take a moment point out one of the positive reasons to book with Outrigger Hotels & Resorts. If you do not like your view or wish to upgrade or change units within your category you can do this easily. This is not the case when you book directly from an individual owner.
Mahalo
Gregg Enright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Overall the place was wonderful! The condo was excellent and very spacious. The unit had a great view of the ocean. We did not use the swimming pool much but it was very pretty. We did use the hot tub every night and it was great. The only draw back was it shut down at 10:00.

We booked through Kauai Exclusive Management and they were excellent! In particular, Josh was a big help n getting us a day room on our last day since we flew out so late. It was also a very nice room.

We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waipouli Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.