We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations for Kauai vacation accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waipouli Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Waipouli Beach Resort to your Saves list
Waipouli Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded expectations for Kauai vacation accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location, perfectly maintained grounds and professional, friendly staff all made this an excellent place to stay. I was worried after reading experiences of travelers that stayed new places that did not deliver on promises but the outrigger exceed my expectations in every way.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    236
    64
    38
    16
See reviews for
460
330
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our two little ones (age 1 and 2) loved the pool and the room (2 BR, 3 BA) worked well for our family. The kitchen appliances and linens were of high quality and impeccable. We found the room through VRBO and rented it through a property management company. Downsides: the town of Kapa'a is not very desirable compared to other spots on the island; there is no late check-out; there is no room service or room cleaning even during a one-week stay. There was no food/drink served at the pool (as far as we could tell, and strangely - no staff seemed able to answer our questions). I would recommend this location as long as you can get a deal on the room price and are prepared for what to expect in terms of weather and ambiance from this part of the island.

Room Tip: H403 was a great spot. It was close the elevator near the pool, easy to access from the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Arrived after long flights from Australia. Reception was pleasant helpful and efficient. The condo is amazing with top of the range appliances and furniture.
Stayed in this type of self contained accomodation before, and this one ticked all the boxes.
The room overlooked the pool area and although there was alot of activity, when the doors were closed, we were still able to enjoy an a/noon nap.
A great adavantage also is the small shopping centre within easy walking distance, and is a must for supplies when your self contained.
The whole experience here can only be rated as excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We began our stay here on March 1st, 2013, and head home in about a day. This is a great place for families or couples looking for a relaxing, home-like atmosphere in a great place where you can travel to each part of the island in no time.

We stayed here with my parents and now on our own as a couple. The master bedroom is excellent and very comfortable - 3 toilets in a 2 bedroom is great when you have a whole family staying together! Top of the line appliances help so that you can cook easily, and save some money and spend time at the resort (also nice that the grocery store is right across the street!). The 2nd bedroom is a little less comfortable (particularly, mattresses in our unit, B301, leave some to be desired). But master is considerably better so give the kids the other room! They won't care :)

About an hour to Waimea Canyon and the South Side, about the same amount of time to the end of the north shore.

Overall, would highly recommend. We went through Vacation Rental Agent. They gave us the code to the condo, and we just showed up, no check-in required. There are boogie boards and snorkel equipment in the guest room, too!

Room Tip: Our unit did not have ocean views in B301, but easy access to parking lot and right by the pool. Oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Waipouli Beach Resort. The resort is centrally located on the eastern shore of Kauai and within easy driving distance of the north and south shore. The resort has changed little since our visit in 2008 and is still a great place to visit. The condos are large (up to 1,400 sq. ft. for two bedrooms) and well maintained. The pool area is ideal for adults and children with meandering waterways and waterfalls to enjoy. The pool area also has at least three hot pools which are a treat to enjoy. There is also a lounge/restaurant beside the pool with entertainment and great views of the beach and pool areas.

Room Tip: Rooms with views of the parkig lot (partial ocean) are quite reasonable. Third floor rooms offer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Waipouli Beach Resort from 2/16-2/22. It is a beautiful resort with awesome pool, jacuzzis and water slide. The condo itself was amazing, top of the line appliances, sub zero fridge and beautiful decor. No complaints. In Unit washer and dryer enabled us to come home from a week of vacation with CLEAN clothes!

The location of the resort is ideal for us. Center of the island an right across the street from Savons and other shops. So we could easily go do a grocery run quickly if needed. The resort staff was very helpful. Our GPS didn't work that well on the island, so we ended up just asking the staff for directions each time we head somewhere.

The week we stayed in Kauai was supposedly the windy week. Winds were so strong it was a bit chilly to be at the pool, so we stayed in the jacuzzi most of the time. We have an 8 months old baby, and they have one jacuzzi for kids. I think they need to designate another one for families because that one jacuzzi for kids just get so crowded & the water, well, murkier than others.

Another bummer about our condo (D104) was that there were censors on all sliding glass doors, some sort of energy saving censor. The censors weren't working that well and caused our AC to keep turning off. When we talked to the management, they told us to keep the doors shut for the rest of the trip. Well, it sucked not being able to enjoy the patios or even open our doors. I wish there was a better solution by management other telling us to keep door shut.

Over all, we loved the place and will be coming back this coming November for a wedding. We are hoping to get an ocean front or ocean view this time around. Thanks for a great week of stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I booked a condo through a private owner at Waipouli and were so thoroughly impressed with our overall experience, we can't wait to go back again! The condos are impeccable and clean, and the amenities of the property supported our desire for a little bit lower key romantic vacation. The property has a great pool area supported by the onsite bar and restaurant. While I think you need a car for Kauai, the fact this resort is surrounded by a grocery store and other shops and stores, makes it ideal for those looking to take it easy. A great value!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waipouli Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.