We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property with tremendous value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waipouli Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Waipouli Beach Resort to your Saves list
Waipouli Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Property with tremendous value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I booked a condo through a private owner at Waipouli and were so thoroughly impressed with our overall experience, we can't wait to go back again! The condos are impeccable and clean, and the amenities of the property supported our desire for a little bit lower key romantic vacation. The property has a great pool area supported by the onsite bar and restaurant. While I think you need a car for Kauai, the fact this resort is surrounded by a grocery store and other shops and stores, makes it ideal for those looking to take it easy. A great value!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    260
    74
    41
    20
See reviews for
503
369
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Would highly recommend the accomadations. Friendly staff, clean grounds, appliances in our unit needed repair, though. Closeto downtown, two master suites inour condo. I really loved it, except for the unheated pool.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I (soon to be wife at the time of our stay) checked into the Outrigger upon a late arrival from the Mainland. Nobody was at the check-in desk, but arrangements were made with security to get us to our room. The fact that they went the extra mile to make that happen, had me very pleased, right from the get-go.

The property is EXTREMELY NICE! Everything is very modern, and clean. The pool was out of this world. And the Sand Bottom Hot Tub... That was a dream! The hair salon helped my wife with her hair for the wedding, accommodating her by having someone there almost 2 hours before their normal opening time.

We cannot wait to come back to Kauai. We will surely be staying at the Outrigger Beach Resort again, and again, and again...

Room Tip: Don't fret too much about having an "Ocean Front" or "Ocean View" room. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great value, beautiful views as long as you have unit facing the water. Beach is treacherous but it's convenient enough to drive or walk up or down the highway from Waipouli to the beaches nearby, or farther (but still an easy drive) to the sunny south shore or the magical (but rainy) north shore. Beautiful units are well kept and very high quality build - I think it was built originally as residential rather than hotel, so the quality of all the fittings, sound-proofing of the walls etc. is better than a normal hotel. The units are well equipped with kitchens, and there is a Safeway across the street or Costco 10 minutes drive away, so it's perfect for a long family stay and eating in with friends and family. The town of Kapaa is an easy walk and quite charming. Highlight is the fantastic ukulele player who plays at the bar on Thurs evenings; don't bother with the bar, instead you can sit outside nearby and soak in the music while watching the waves, feeling the evening breeze with the moon rising over the water. Magical stuff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Illinois
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Spent four nights here in February. Lovely decor and very nice condo overlooking the pool. Families were enjoying the pool and 2 hot tubs all day long but when the doors were shut it was very quiet in our condo. You could open them and enjoy the fresh air and ocean views. Nice lanai area to have breakfast. Lovely bar/restaurant on site right on the beach has great appetizers and desserts. Beach is a nice place to watch the ocean, but the surf is very rough on this side of the island. The condos are relatively new and show a little wear but overall its a very nice place to stay! Large grocery store right across the street is very convenient.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view might be a little less windy than a full ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

GREAT LOCATION. EASY ACCESS, FREE PARKING. BEAUTIFUL CONDO, OCEAN FRONT, NEW, FAB POOL, 3 SAND BOTTOM HOT TUBS. GOOD BAR, NICE STAFF! BEDS WERE GREAT.
LOVED IT.......
The beach is narrow and I wouldn't swim there as it is rocky and the breakers were rolling in. If you want to have a wide beach, and share with a lot of people.......go to Poipu.....but this place was great. Across the street is a huge Safeway, and drug store. Kapaa is a great location to access all the Island. I would definitely go back there and tell everyone not to miss it. We stayed on the second floor in Bldg. H. at the end. what a view. The gardens are lovely there as well. The pool is huge...has a winding"river" in it as well as a kiddie pool. Not so crowded in Kapaa either with tourist.....close to falls, and the north shore.

Room Tip: we stayed in bldg. H and requested an ocean front. You won't be disappointed. If you want to wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Location; great center of the east side of the island made it easy to go north or south.
There is traffic and you need to plan for it to be very slow going for 20 minutes when heading south. Across from the resort there is Safeway, Longs, Starbucks, Subway, ABC store & McDonald's all an easy walk to.
beach; not swimmer friendly. you need to drive south to the park just past the river and on left.
pool; not heated well= leaving most to go into the two hot tubs. one is adult only, the other is full of kids. I had been at the Hilton in Poipu and their pools were much warmer!!!
resort; actually three properties in one; some owner occupied, some vacation rentals, and I don't recall the other. What this means is the front desk often can't help you and you are referred to another phone number to get info or help with repairs needed.
Unit D405; view of Safeway and mountains (called a garden view). Several issues reported the 2nd of 9 days there and only one ever got repairs. The living room TV remote did not work nor did the pole living room lamp. the living room sofa hide a bed is not fit to be slept on by any adult. Even one bathroom had a light bulb out! These things should have been checked before it was ever rented!! Would not recommend this unit or Remax/Kauai who managed it.
kitchen:" equipped well enough including salt, pepper and cooking oil.
noise: this unit had nose going on, unsure if it was from the water system or what but if it wasn't the Air conditioner there were always sounds.
parking; plenty of it
Staff/concierge; very helpful
Kapaa area in general; no night life, limited cultural activities taking place. If you stay in Princeville or Poipu area there is much more going on and more things to do which is why there are so many condos & golf courses at both of those locations. note that the weather in Poipu is much warmer than the other places I have named.
Snorkeling; is best at the top or bottom of the island, time of year also plays a factor in how safe the north is for this.
Weather; February= mostly mid 70's, water temperature was OK (about like the pool at this resort). Some rain shows came and went most days.
Drinks: they make Rum on this island and Longboard beer. If you have time go to one of the rum tasting events. If you want to buy the local Rum go to Costco for the best price.
Costco; best price on mangos, pineapples, food, liquors, vegetables, gas, etc. In Lihue.

Room Tip: rooms facing garden or mountains are closer to the highway and if you sit on your patio you will hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waipouli Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.