We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waipouli Resort is Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waipouli Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Waipouli Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Waipouli Resort is Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Just got back from 8 nights in an oceanfront condo (A204) at the Waipouli Resort and it was an awesome experience all around. The location of the Waipouli is perfect for adventures around Kauai--Kapaa is centrally located--or just grocery shopping--Safeway shopping center is across the street. The grounds of the Waipouli are really nice. The pool is beautiful and fun to play around in; my husband and I had a great time on the water slides! The gym is fine, a little humid and strangely shaped, but perfectly good for working out. The resort is right on the beach, but, as others have pointed out, it is not a swimming beach because of the reef. There is still plenty of area to bob around and enjoy the water, though. The only subpar thing about the Waipouli is the Oasis restaurant--too expensive for what you get, but it's in a good location beachside. There is a bbq/cooking building by the pool which apparently used to be for pool customers and a couple, who have been coming to the resort since it opened, told us it was perfect for getting good food poolside. The restaurants original owners closed it, and the Waipouli took over and used the bbq place to make the food. Not successful. I hope they do more with this place in the future; it would be nice to have good affordable food on-site, including breakfast!
The condo itself was beautiful and super well-appointed with all the amenities you could want. We especially appreciated the separation of the two master suites; we were traveling with our daughter and her new husband and it was nice to have the common living area and kitchen between our rooms. Each bedroom has a large spa-like bathroom and lanai, and we totally enjoyed just hanging out in our rooms, while the living room was large enough--with fantastic view--to all spend time there together.
I can't say enough about the Waipouli staff. They were friendly, considerate and informative, and went above and beyond: when we needed to get into the "owners office" after hours to check in with our airline and print boarding passes, security kindly unlocked the doors and let use the office...thanks you guys!
All in all, we would recommend the Waipouli Resort without question.

Room Tip: We loved the second-story oceanfront room in the A building--direct view to the ocean. First floor o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    535
    223
    62
    36
    16
See reviews for
424
315
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed in F303, which was mostly very nice, but the owner should replace/upgrade the following items: TV/DVD remote control, baking sheet, some kitchen utensils, bed linens and towels, shower head in master suite #1 bathroom (much lower water pressure than other shower). Also, the door to master suite #2 doesn't close smoothly -- it gets stuck in the door jam and needs to be pulled closed. The door hinge of the washer is a bit moldy and should be cleaned properly. Housecleaning did a decent job overall, but a more thorough cleaning would be better. A/C was a bit on the loud side, too. Our biggest complaint, though, is the condo (and I'm assuming all of the condos as well) is not soundproof at all. We could literally hear everything going on outside, from the roosters to the housecleaning staff rolling their carts, and especially the unit above us dragging the furniture on their lanai (at 6-7am no less) and even walking around at times. Otherwise, we loved the resort's location and pool, and if we do stay at this resort again, we definitely will need to get a condo on the top floor. Although this condo did have several nice amenities for beach trips, such as cooler, chairs, umbrella, snorkel gear, mats, and some beach toys.

Room Tip: Top floor condos are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was our 4th time to visit Kauai and our 1st time with the Outrigger/Waipouli Resort. Our condo was G406 - which is considered the 'penthouse' because, on Kauai, the laws prevent building taller than a palm tree - so the 4th floor is the maximum height! We had such an awesome condo - oceanfront - nothing between us and the ocean. Extremely high-end appliances and finishes in the kitchen and bathrooms - granite countertops, Wolf stove, Sub-Zero refrigerator, etc. We watched the sunrise every morning. We were able to eat breakfast, lunch and dinner when and where we wanted because of the kitchen in the condo. This resort is across from the Safeway - and was great! There's absolutely nothing we can say that needed improvement in this condo complex. Feel free to contact me with any questions - fourthandlast4u@gmail.com - we spent 2 weeks in this condo.

Room Tip: Quiet - try building G
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had an oceanfront room. From check-in to check-out we have zero complaints. The kitchen has nicer appliances than most houses. Full-size washer and dryer in the unit. Comfortable beds. Beautiful bathrooms. Very, very clean.

The pool area is nice and was not crowded when we were there. It was a quiet resort and very convenient to all areas of the island, shopping, groceries, coffee, and the airport. We had zero noise from planes. It would be great for kids as the rooms are spacious and there is a nice area of the pool specifically dedicated to small children.

We will stay here again!

Room Tip: Oceanfront is worth the money for the sunrise views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This place was half way between the north and south destinations on the island, and it is near the town of Kapaa. The full kitchen and nearby grocery and drug stores were great for my family of four.

My toddler loved the beach area of the pool, and my wife loved the hot tubs.

A couple of inconveniences that you might want to know... long pass codes for room and pool instead of key cards, unswimmable area of the beach, and housekeeping does not come by daily. All that said, we would still return.

When we showed up the early, our room was not ready. But, the nice man at the desk was very polite and directed us to enjoy Thanksgiving dinner at his nearby church. Very nice. And, we were grateful. But, when the room still wasn't ready when it should have been. The man changed our reservation into 2-bedroom partial ocean view instead of the 1-bedroom that we had booked. He also gave us a gift certificate to the resteraunt.

By the way, beautiful rooms...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I selected Kauai and Waipouli Beach Resort as our destination wedding location. We were a bit nervous because we only saw photos and read reviews off trip advisor. As we were driving from the airport, I was wondering if we should have done a pre-wedding visit because we asked 65+ of our friends and family to fly out here. Rest assured...this was the perfect destination wedding location. Gorgeous backdrop, great service, and beautiful suites...

The reasons why we selected Waipouli:
- ability to have reception and ceremony all in 1 location
- Oasis received great reviews and the circular set up makes it more intimate yet spacious at the same time.
- water slides! perfect for kids
- renovated suites - includes full kitchen
- washer and dryer (we were traveling directly to our honeymoon so needed to do laundry to avoid overpacking)
- LOCATION (across the street from Safeway and a 15-20 minute drive from the airport)

The service is impecable. We had asked the front desk to help pass out the welcome bags, and they did it perfectly. They also prepared their own welcome bag for my husband and I. Jill (reservations) helped each of our guests book their rooms/suites. I only received compliments on the wonderful service and aloha spirit that they received when booking their rooms and checking in.

Also, The Spa gets 5 stars on their own! The price is very reasonable and they are wiling to work with you. One of my best friends fly in the day of the wedding. She is a recent mother and hasn't had time for herself. She came in last minute and the spa squeezed her in and gave her a special discount. Rocky did my mani and pedi. Isa did my hair and makeup. I forgot to bring the photos of hairstyles that I was thinking about for the wedding. Isa asked a few questions and came up with something much better than what I expected. No test run needed for hair and makeup ;)

A couple of things to think about...
- since it is a condo setup, there isn't daily housekeeping. It is every 3 days.
- the hotel rooms are all handicap accessible, which we were not informed of...
- great pool set up if you aren't look for a lap pool..a lot of kids so if you are allergic to them...this is not the place for you
- Gym is a bit small and oddly set up, but you can always run outside on the beach.

Room Tip: Reserve an ocean front or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The condo was beautiful 2 bed 3 bath! Loved it except the air conditioning was loud. Granite and travertine. Across the st from McDonald's and Safeway and Starbucks. I probably wouldn't stay here again even though the service was excellent and the pool was perfect for the under 9 group. My kids are 12 and 17 and never even went swimming. They love to swim in the ocean so we have to drive. I loved the kiahuna plantation because of the access to swim able beaches. It depends on what your looking for. We like to go old school.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waipouli Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.