We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Kauai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waipouli Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Waipouli Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
Trabuco Canyon, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Kauai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Myc husband & I srayed here for one week. We liked everything about it, except shower head in main bbathroom. The king-size bed was very comfortable, kitchen was spacious with a nice refrigerator, loved balcony with partial ocean view, gym was excellent as was swimming pool & jacuzzi. Beautiful pool area with a barb-que. The only thing I did like was the location to Poipu where a lot of the activites were. Took forever to drive there on the two-lane road and construction was going on & low speed limit throught the island. I would rent a smaller than full-size car next time. I also liked close proximity to airport.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    546
    226
    61
    37
    16
See reviews for
437
315
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Citrus Heights, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Awesome condo! Couldn't have asked for better! New appliances, beautiful, stylish room! Sunken roman tub for2 Short walk to beach! Beautiful grounds. We have done a lot of traveling and this is by far the best condo we have ever stayed and most affordable. When we were so happy when we opened the door on arrival. More that what we ever expected! Definitely recommend this condo to anyone!

Room Tip: F301 is the room we stayed . No view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We spent 8 wonderful days here we are already planning our trip for next year. We will be staying here every time we visit Kauai. It is in a perfect location for everything on the island the peolpe were always ready to help with anything. The pool was amazing the 3 hot tubs were the perfect end to every day, it didn't feel like a crowed resort., only guests were allowed in the pool area not like the other hotels were people were everywhere the bar/ restaurant was great.room was clean and nice Loved this place

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for a week in an ocean view, one-bedroom, two bath condo. The unit had a full kitchen, full-size refrigerator, plates, dishes, utensils, etc., with a washer and dryer, and LCD TVs. The unit had a beautiful kitchen, with granite countertops, modern appliances, as well as a spacious bathroom. The bed was soft and comfortable. Comfy furniture. The resort is at a good mid-island location, with free self-parking, and lots of restaurant choices in the area.
Great pools with lots of volcanic rock lined swimming channels/paths, two water slides (fun for kids and adults). The pool water is cool, but refreshing. Some of the hot Jacuzzis have fun gravel bottoms – great for a nice foot massage while in the Jacuzzi. Gas barbecues are available around the pools to cook your own dinner. There are full size Safeway and Foodland markets across the street. The resort is about a 15 minute drive from the Lihue Airport. A Costco store near the airport, usually has the best/lowest island priced gasoline for your rental car, as well as bargain priced food, liquor (and Mai Tai mix), and beach supplies.
We have stayed at this resort in the past, when it was much newer and was being operated more like a hotel resort, and had not quite gone the typical Hawaiian condo – timeshare – owned units path yet. Sadly, now that it has changed to that style of an ownership type resort, cleaning, upkeep, and needed maintenance, appears to have become a lesser priority with the management staff here, and things are being “let go”. The maids only came once after three days, rather than daily as in the past. There were many noticeable rusty areas around metal fire doors and metal balcony railings, easily visible while swimming in the pool (easily handled by touch up paint, but not being done). There was an outdoor wall light fixture covering (also seen from the pool), that looks like it has been broken for a long time, that no one has bothered to replace. One of the Jacuzzis was not working, and had duct tape over the switch. The TV remotes in our room were the original remotes, so are likely more than five years old, and showed a heavy long-term buildup of dirt and grime, from greasy dirty finger marks. Again, not a big deal, but if they had a routine touch-up cleaning program, things like that might be cleaned once a month, if on a cleaning schedule (not being done). Our living room had a glass topped coffee table. It also appeared as if it had not been cleaned since it was brand-new more than six years ago, since it showed an accumulation of dust, dirt, ocean salt, below the layer of glass. The tile in the shower floor had a noticeable dirty greasy buildup in the center, while the tiles and grout around the edges were much cleaner. The primary foot traffic pathway through the bathroom tile floor also had a definite dirt buildup, compared to the clean tiles and grout around the edges. None of these things really detracted from our stay at this otherwise beautiful resort, however, we had just come from a much newer (and spotlessly clean) luxury resort on another island, so comparing the differences in cleanliness, made for a sad realization that this once spotless, pristine resort is being allowed to deteriorate. Again, these are only very minor deficiencies being given as specific examples, but they are indicators of the larger problem of a lack of attention to detail by management and cleaning/maintenance staff.
The resort offers free Internet in rooms (“Room Net” service), however the Internet service was very inconsistent, and was not working most of the time. Sometimes we could not login at all, other times you would have to login several times a day, but by the time you would try to go to check an e-mail or look up a restaurant on the Internet, we noticed that “Room Net” had stopped working again, and we were actually using our own private paid-for Internet data plan.
We were very excited about returning to the Waipouli Resort, since we have loved this place in the past. However, comparing this resort to the one that we just came from on another island, revealed that the Waipouli is just not being kept up like it was in the past, so if this downward trend continues, we may need to look for different accommodations when visiting Kauai in the future. Hopefully if management and Waipouli condo owners read this review, some simple ongoing routine maintenance schedules and cleaning procedures can be implemented, before it becomes too late and too expensive to easily do so (and the rooms end up being vacant and un-rented more of the time).
Overall, this is still a beautiful resort, with nice rooms, a great pool, and a good location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Beautiful grounds surrounding the resort. Really enjoyed he lazy lagoon, pool, and hot tubs. The beach isn't great for swimming, but was great for lounging. The condo unit was immaculate. The kitchen had everything we needed, and really liked that our unit included beach chairs, an umbrella and a cooler. Very comfortable bed. Really liked the resort, would definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I came here for the second part of our Hawaii trip and Kauai was definitely are favorite island, it is amazing! We would definitely come back to this island and stay longer, but not at this hotel.

We arrived around 1:30pm and the room wasn't ready, which is totally understandable since check in is at 3pm. We went to lunch and then got groceries and got back at 3:30pm assuming our room would be ready. It wasn't ready till 4:30pm and the reception staff were awful. They never apologized and gave us money for the Oasis on site which we did not want to use since we just got groceries (they recommeded we have drinks and I think they were hoping then we wouldn't care about not having a room). They said they'd keep the groceries in the fridge, and they clearly didn't as it was all warm and some had to be thrown out.

The condo is very nice inside (it depends on what room you get, ours didn't have a lot of cooking tools but it worked), but if you need something expect to make a couple calls before someone comes. Our smoke alarms battery was dead and beeped for 3 hours before someone came.

We were on our honeymoon and like the couple below had stayed at Honua Kai Resort in Maui first (amazing!). Our room had no privacy and was on the ground floor. It was beautiful but people are waking by all day.

There are a lot of kids/families at the pool, but we spent most our time adventuring around the island so it was no problem.

Our stay in Maui was at an amazing condo, but Kauai is definitely our favorite island. We will go back to Kauai but not spend the money to stay here again, and instead stay in Poipu or in that area.

Maybe with time this resort will improve, but for the high price you would expect much better service and cleaner rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

After multiple emails back and forth with the management we had everything mostly sorted out and we were ready to make the trek. We arrived at the resort after a hellish trip to get us there. We did have issues with the key codes to access the condo and swimming pool area which was extremely frustrating. The codes were finally corrected 3 hours after our original check in time however management did contact security and security did provide access to the room so we could move everything in as well as get our toddler set up for the night. Once inside the condo, everything seemed to be in working order. As described in the condo description, everything inside the condo seemed to be accurate. The lawn area outside the door is right beside the walkways to the pool however there are shrubs around the perimeter that provide some privacy as well as blocks the entire view of the pool. There is a small area between the shrubs and the wall that you can see ocean. The pools are great which is nice since the ocean is very rough on the east side. The restaurant at the resort is very good and the service was great. If you do plan on using the BBQ make sure that you have plenty of time as they are turned to low (unable to change to high) and some burners are shut off. Overall we would stay at the resort again just maybe not at the same condo due to the views (no pool view/ partial ocean).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waipouli Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.