We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best condo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waipouli Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Waipouli Beach Resort to your Saves list
Waipouli Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Citrus Heights, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best condo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Awesome condo! Couldn't have asked for better! New appliances, beautiful, stylish room! Sunken roman tub for2 Short walk to beach! Beautiful grounds. We have done a lot of traveling and this is by far the best condo we have ever stayed and most affordable. When we were so happy when we opened the door on arrival. More that what we ever expected! Definitely recommend this condo to anyone!

Room Tip: F301 is the room we stayed . No view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    258
    72
    40
    19
See reviews for
497
364
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We spent 8 wonderful days here we are already planning our trip for next year. We will be staying here every time we visit Kauai. It is in a perfect location for everything on the island the peolpe were always ready to help with anything. The pool was amazing the 3 hot tubs were the perfect end to every day, it didn't feel like a crowed resort., only guests were allowed in the pool area not like the other hotels were people were everywhere the bar/ restaurant was great.room was clean and nice Loved this place

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for a week in an ocean view, one-bedroom, two bath condo. The unit had a full kitchen, full-size refrigerator, plates, dishes, utensils, etc., with a washer and dryer, and LCD TVs. The unit had a beautiful kitchen, with granite countertops, modern appliances, as well as a spacious bathroom. The bed was soft and comfortable. Comfy furniture. The resort is at a good mid-island location, with free self-parking, and lots of restaurant choices in the area.
Great pools with lots of volcanic rock lined swimming channels/paths, two water slides (fun for kids and adults). The pool water is cool, but refreshing. Some of the hot Jacuzzis have fun gravel bottoms – great for a nice foot massage while in the Jacuzzi. Gas barbecues are available around the pools to cook your own dinner. There are full size Safeway and Foodland markets across the street. The resort is about a 15 minute drive from the Lihue Airport. A Costco store near the airport, usually has the best/lowest island priced gasoline for your rental car, as well as bargain priced food, liquor (and Mai Tai mix), and beach supplies.
We have stayed at this resort in the past, when it was much newer and was being operated more like a hotel resort, and had not quite gone the typical Hawaiian condo – timeshare – owned units path yet. Sadly, now that it has changed to that style of an ownership type resort, cleaning, upkeep, and needed maintenance, appears to have become a lesser priority with the management staff here, and things are being “let go”. The maids only came once after three days, rather than daily as in the past. There were many noticeable rusty areas around metal fire doors and metal balcony railings, easily visible while swimming in the pool (easily handled by touch up paint, but not being done). There was an outdoor wall light fixture covering (also seen from the pool), that looks like it has been broken for a long time, that no one has bothered to replace. One of the Jacuzzis was not working, and had duct tape over the switch. The TV remotes in our room were the original remotes, so are likely more than five years old, and showed a heavy long-term buildup of dirt and grime, from greasy dirty finger marks. Again, not a big deal, but if they had a routine touch-up cleaning program, things like that might be cleaned once a month, if on a cleaning schedule (not being done). Our living room had a glass topped coffee table. It also appeared as if it had not been cleaned since it was brand-new more than six years ago, since it showed an accumulation of dust, dirt, ocean salt, below the layer of glass. The tile in the shower floor had a noticeable dirty greasy buildup in the center, while the tiles and grout around the edges were much cleaner. The primary foot traffic pathway through the bathroom tile floor also had a definite dirt buildup, compared to the clean tiles and grout around the edges. None of these things really detracted from our stay at this otherwise beautiful resort, however, we had just come from a much newer (and spotlessly clean) luxury resort on another island, so comparing the differences in cleanliness, made for a sad realization that this once spotless, pristine resort is being allowed to deteriorate. Again, these are only very minor deficiencies being given as specific examples, but they are indicators of the larger problem of a lack of attention to detail by management and cleaning/maintenance staff.
The resort offers free Internet in rooms (“Room Net” service), however the Internet service was very inconsistent, and was not working most of the time. Sometimes we could not login at all, other times you would have to login several times a day, but by the time you would try to go to check an e-mail or look up a restaurant on the Internet, we noticed that “Room Net” had stopped working again, and we were actually using our own private paid-for Internet data plan.
We were very excited about returning to the Waipouli Resort, since we have loved this place in the past. However, comparing this resort to the one that we just came from on another island, revealed that the Waipouli is just not being kept up like it was in the past, so if this downward trend continues, we may need to look for different accommodations when visiting Kauai in the future. Hopefully if management and Waipouli condo owners read this review, some simple ongoing routine maintenance schedules and cleaning procedures can be implemented, before it becomes too late and too expensive to easily do so (and the rooms end up being vacant and un-rented more of the time).
Overall, this is still a beautiful resort, with nice rooms, a great pool, and a good location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Beautiful grounds surrounding the resort. Really enjoyed he lazy lagoon, pool, and hot tubs. The beach isn't great for swimming, but was great for lounging. The condo unit was immaculate. The kitchen had everything we needed, and really liked that our unit included beach chairs, an umbrella and a cooler. Very comfortable bed. Really liked the resort, would definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I came here for the second part of our Hawaii trip and Kauai was definitely are favorite island, it is amazing! We would definitely come back to this island and stay longer, but not at this hotel.

We arrived around 1:30pm and the room wasn't ready, which is totally understandable since check in is at 3pm. We went to lunch and then got groceries and got back at 3:30pm assuming our room would be ready. It wasn't ready till 4:30pm and the reception staff were awful. They never apologized and gave us money for the Oasis on site which we did not want to use since we just got groceries (they recommeded we have drinks and I think they were hoping then we wouldn't care about not having a room). They said they'd keep the groceries in the fridge, and they clearly didn't as it was all warm and some had to be thrown out.

The condo is very nice inside (it depends on what room you get, ours didn't have a lot of cooking tools but it worked), but if you need something expect to make a couple calls before someone comes. Our smoke alarms battery was dead and beeped for 3 hours before someone came.

We were on our honeymoon and like the couple below had stayed at Honua Kai Resort in Maui first (amazing!). Our room had no privacy and was on the ground floor. It was beautiful but people are waking by all day.

There are a lot of kids/families at the pool, but we spent most our time adventuring around the island so it was no problem.

Our stay in Maui was at an amazing condo, but Kauai is definitely our favorite island. We will go back to Kauai but not spend the money to stay here again, and instead stay in Poipu or in that area.

Maybe with time this resort will improve, but for the high price you would expect much better service and cleaner rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

After multiple emails back and forth with the management we had everything mostly sorted out and we were ready to make the trek. We arrived at the resort after a hellish trip to get us there. We did have issues with the key codes to access the condo and swimming pool area which was extremely frustrating. The codes were finally corrected 3 hours after our original check in time however management did contact security and security did provide access to the room so we could move everything in as well as get our toddler set up for the night. Once inside the condo, everything seemed to be in working order. As described in the condo description, everything inside the condo seemed to be accurate. The lawn area outside the door is right beside the walkways to the pool however there are shrubs around the perimeter that provide some privacy as well as blocks the entire view of the pool. There is a small area between the shrubs and the wall that you can see ocean. The pools are great which is nice since the ocean is very rough on the east side. The restaurant at the resort is very good and the service was great. If you do plan on using the BBQ make sure that you have plenty of time as they are turned to low (unable to change to high) and some burners are shut off. Overall we would stay at the resort again just maybe not at the same condo due to the views (no pool view/ partial ocean).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Arrived here as the second part of our honeymoon (first part at Honua Kai, Maui, review also listed), we instantly wished we had just stayed in Maui for our entire Hawaii trip. We booked our stay directly throught the hotel, but the receptionist advised us that there had been some sort of mix up with the room we had booked (one bedroom ocean front) and the owner had decided to stay in our room an extra night?!? This made no sense to me. We were given a $50 token for the restaurant in compensation and put in a 2 bedroom garden view (for the first night). This put a real dampener on our stay and meant we couldn’t settle in our room. Anyway we didn’t have much choice and decided to stay in this other room for the first night. When we got up to the room, the kitchen was absolutely crawling in ants there was just a constant stream of them coming out of a cupboard and along the worktop, it was disgusting, the place was dirty, there was a dirty cloth out on the balcony table. I guess if the maid is not coming daily it is not much surprise that the hotel is full of ants since there is rubbish lying around for days in that heat, the ants would be out very quickly. When I am paying 369USD per night the least they could do is keep the place clean, and provide clean towels daily. This is completely unacceptable to be asking for a further charge for daily housekeeping. When I complained to reception about the ants I didn’t really get much response, it seemed like this was just a regular occurrence to them...not good enough! Reception staff have a terrible attitude.

The restaurant on site was not very appealing, if you want decent food you would really have to drive as there aren’t any good restaurants nearby. The only one we came across was Kauai Italian which looks like terrible from the outside but was actually quite a nice restaurant.

I can’t think of much good to say about this hotel, the pools were ok but quite small, the drive to Princeville or Poipu is nice, the view from the second room we received was ok (very small ‘’lanai’’) but we would have preferred to be on a higher floor rather than ground for an ocean front booking, not worth the money.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, anywhere else! Stay somewhere that doesn't have ants. Stay somewhere that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waipouli Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.