We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent pasta per american standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Pasta Kapaa

Kauai Pasta Kapaa
4-939 Kuhio Hwy, Ste B, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1583
+1 808-822-7447
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kauai Pasta Kapaa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 114 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: none (highway frontage)
Description: We are family owned, chef driven restaurant specializing in Italian comfort food while offering upscale contemporary daily specials. Our KP Lounge features handcrafted signature cocktails, a boutique wine selection, quality beers & unique tapas menu. We appeal to families, couples, visitors and locals alike. We can offer a private banquet dining room, or entire restaurant buy-out for special occasions or corporate events. We strongly recommend reservations, but gladly welcome walk-ins. We look forward to serving you!
Roeselare, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A decent pasta per american standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Not Italian but tasty pasta in a nice atmosphere. Altough there was a bigger lunch room with less then appealing atmosphere at the back. Maybe for lower prices as well, I don't know.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    150
    72
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kauai, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you are going to eat here, you must have the butternut squash ravioli and the calamari. The salads are delicious as well. The lounge offers a cozy atmosphere for 2 or 4 where you can order drinks as well as food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Very Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

It may not be Little Italy but we enjoyed the time there. Plenty of food. Very nice quality. Service was nice and down to earth. Prices were so very reasonable especially for Hawaii and Kauai. We would definitely recommend to anyone staying in or near Kapaa.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Italian on Kauai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Growing up in an Italian family - I didn't expect much from an Italian restaurant in Hawaii - but I was pleasantly surprised! Salads were huge and excellent (best greens we had on the island) and the mains were outstanding! Meatball were clearly handmade - tasting like they had the "standard" veal, pork, and beef combo I would expect. My wife's lasagna was delicious and didn't taste like it had been frozen (u can tell). 5/5 and servers were super helpful and ever present. Loved it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Food Tasty but Service Poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

They serve very good food and have excellent specials. I had Butternut Squash Ravioli and my wife had the Pasta with Meat Sauce. Both were very good but mine was hot and her's was cold. I think mine was done first and sat under heat lamps which got it hot. They came out together and her pasta was cold.

Service was extremely slow. It was 15 minutes to get a drink and another 30 minutes to get our meals. We never saw our waiter except when he brought the drinks and food. Trying to wave someone down to get a spoon or parmesan cheese was a big effort.

To us, it's not worth it to go back even though the food was pretty good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSkauai, Owner at Kauai Pasta Kapaa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your business. We were dismayed to get your review. All the food served should be hot, so we apologize for your wife's not being the right temperature. Had you let a manager know, we would have gladly made you a new a hot dish immediately. We also apologize for the service you experienced, and this is not typical of our restaurant or what we expect from our staff. We want all our customers to feel pampered and taken care of, and we are sorry this was not your experience. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Aloha, Kauai Pasta Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai Pasta Kapaa also viewed

 

Been to Kauai Pasta Kapaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Pasta Kapaa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.