We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Pasta Kapaa

Kauai Pasta Kapaa
4-939 Kuhio Hwy, Ste B, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1583
+1 808-822-7447
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kauai Pasta Kapaa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 105 Restaurants in Kapaa
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: none (highway frontage)
Description: We are family owned, chef driven restaurant specializing in Italian comfort food while offering upscale contemporary daily specials. Our KP Lounge features handcrafted signature cocktails, a boutique wine selection, quality beers & unique tapas menu. We appeal to families, couples, visitors and locals alike. We can offer a private banquet dining room, or entire restaurant buy-out for special occasions or corporate events. We strongly recommend reservations, but gladly welcome walk-ins. We look forward to serving you!
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Some of the best bruschetta we'd ever eaten!!! Small restaurant. Call ahead for reservations if you a have a party larger than 4. Pesto was amazing!!!! Great Cesar salad too. We were leased with the pricing too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    138
    67
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had planned to order take out from Kauai Pasta. We looked at the menu and there were so many great choices we decided to eat in. It was a GREAT choice. We had Bruschietto appetizer. It was one of best I have ever had. The salad was fresh and the dressing was light and full of flavor. We had Pesto Chicken with Fettuicini Alfredo and Chicken pasta with peppers mushrooms. Both servings were so large we could have shared one.

Reviews have stated the atmosphere is lacking,. I did not find that the be the case. The restaurant was clean. The staff uniforms were clean. The table and chairs were clean not torn. The restaurant was dimly lit for mood. If I lived in Kauai it would be a regular stop for me.

It was an excellent value for the dollar. It was the most reasonably priced dinner we ate in Kauai. Make it a dinner stop while in Kauai.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really good pesto!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A friend told me that the pesto here was the best he'd had outside his own kitchen, so we decided we had to try it. The dining room isn't very inviting, and we have an ocean view from our condo, so we got take-out. What he didn't tell me was how huge the portions are, so we ordered Eggplant Parmesan, which was excellent, with a side of pesto spaghetti, AND Grilled Chicken with Pesto, and a side of pesto spaghetti. When my husband went to pick it up he saw it sitting there, waiting, and asked how long it had been out (we had requested in advance a specific time to pick it up). He was told about 10 minutes, which meant it wasn't going to be hot. The owner/manager kindly offered to redo it, so we had hot food, but they may have reheated the chicken. In any case, it was overcooked and dry. But the pesto was incredible! Nice and garlicky, lots of basil, and macadamia nuts instead of pine nuts. It really worked, and we had leftover pasta for the next night with our fish.
I would go back for that pesto, and the eggplant, and might get 2 orders to have leftover pesto again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota FL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just "OK".......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

It was "OK" dinner. Not a fancy place by any means, but all I really care about is GOOD FOOD! My wife had the lasagne without meat sauce. She said it was very cheesy....OK. I had the chicken parmesan. Chicken was not very tender. Pasta was OK.

So I guess the dinner was just OK............not much else to say. Add a Bud and the total was $37. For some that is cheap, for some that is expensive. No salad, no soup, a little bread served on the meal plate. If you are really in the mood for Italian, this place will do..........it's OK.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Good italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Not the "food" of the isalnd but certainly a good dinner option somewhere where the "classy" food and best restaurant is maybe not frequent.
The menu is italian, the dinner was clasic and tastefull. It's really unexpensive. Good choice for a dinner

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai Pasta Kapaa also viewed

 

Been to Kauai Pasta Kapaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Pasta Kapaa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.