We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful and inspiring” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai's Hindu Monastery

Kauai's Hindu Monastery
107 Kaholalele Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
808-822-3012
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 50 things to do in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/day tour
Attraction details
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
137 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Very peaceful and inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I am not Hindu, but once I arrived there I felt inspired to worship. They could tell I was a newbie and one lady there did help me by telling me what to do next.
As far as going just as a tourist, it is worth seeing just for that too. Beautiful scenery, great place for people that love photography.
They do have wraps once you walk in incase you are not dressed appropriately.
Be aware of hours before you go, because until worshipping is done, tourists aren't allowed past the gates leading to the monastery.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    48
    8
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Wonderfully peaceful, lovely rudrasksha mala's made from the trees on the property. Really worth a visit if you are interested in meditation and yoga.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We are a Hindu couple and we visited Kauai for our honeymoon last week. We bumped into couple of Americans in Kauai who suggested that we visit this temple. So we went there 2 days back.

It is an amazing temple situated at the mouth of the Wailua River. Puja is done everyday from 9-10:30 AM. We missed it but do make it if you can.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Blissful morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The Monastery is surrounded by the most beautiful countryside in all of Kauai. The vibe coming from the Hindu Monastery itself and those who work, live and celebrate life there is so peaceful that you leaving feeling...well, blissful. Well worth an hour of your time as you won't forget this place.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Spiritual place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Learned only a bit about Hinduism. It was more about seeing the location and the facility. Very low key, calm, spiritual feel. They have a large section of land that overlooks the Wailua River which flows from rainy Wai'ale'ale Mountain. One temple completed, another under construction. Public tour by reservation only. Nice gift shop.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai's Hindu Monastery also viewed

 

Been to Kauai's Hindu Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai's Hindu Monastery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.