We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in Kauai!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kauai Country Inn
Save Saved
You added Kauai Country Inn to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   6440-B Olohena Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #3 of 18 Kapaa B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fun in Kauai!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2006

My husband and I recently celebrated our 2nd anniversary with a 10 day trip to Kauai. We stayed at the Kauai Country Inn (in the Yellow Ginger Suite) for the the duration of our trip. The KCI is in Kapa'a, which is a great location because it's really central to everything on the island. It took us about 45 minutes to get to the extremes: Waimea (South) or Princeville (North). Everything else fell somewhere in between, so we thought that it was a great location for our stay. The inn is out in the country a bit, which is cool; we listened to the frogs, insects, and chickens instead of traffic! The Yellow Ginger Suite is very nice; two bedrooms, a bath, a kitchen, and a living room. Mike and Martina (the owners, who are a very friendly and fun pair!) have personal touches all throughout the inn, and they have lots of beach and snorkeling equipment for your use (free!). They also have kayaks for rent. All in all, we were very happy that we chose to stay here, as we saved a ton of money yet really enjoyed the accommodations.

Thanks, Mike and Martina! Hopefully we'll be back again someday! :)

  • Liked — Location, value, friendly owners, personal touches
  • Disliked — Bathroom could use a few more hooks
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    24
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
106
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2006

We had an amazing time at Kauai Country Inn. We are a young couple (28yo/32yo) from the East Coast (and we are quite picky and hard to please). It is always scary (or adventurous depending on your outlook) to stay off the beaten path, but when we first arrived we were pleasantly surprised to see that it looked just like the pictures on the website. The location of the Inn is perfect, as the Kapa’a restaurants and shopping are close by, and you are equidistant to the North and South beaches. We loved turning off the main highway and driving up into the rainforest at the end of everyday—made us feel like locals. The air just smelled good! The Orchid Suite was immaculately clean like no one had stayed there before us. It was cozy and friendly, like our own place. Terrific details like the tiled shower, stuffed-animal monkey hanging on the lamp, cedar-lined rooms, beach chairs, towels, cooler and Hawaiian touches. We loved the posters on the wall from Mike and Martina’s previous ad-exec life in L.A. The kitchenette allowed us to save tons of $$ on breakfast and lunch, which we packed into the provided cooler daily. Mike and Martina were welcoming and friendly, and genuinely seem to love what they do.

We’d suggest going shopping at Safeway and stocking up on breakfast and lunch options, especially bottled water which can get expensive. Our favorite trips were definitely up North, to Ke’e Beach, Tunnels Beach, and ‘Anini Beach. Poip’u Beach in the South was worth seeing but much more touristy. Lydgate was terrific for easy snorkeling and was really close to the Inn. The trip up to Waimea was long but worth the views.

The only thing that could’ve been better is had there been a washer/dryer (which we think they are installing). Next time, we would also probably stay in one of the other suites with better air circulation (because the Orchid Suite is like a half-basement with the walk-out lanai on one side but small, low to the ground windows on the other). This wasn’t really a problem though because we were pretty much out from 8am to 8pm daily and we’d turn the air on to sleep. We would definitely recommend this experience! Staying at Kauai Country Inn makes you feel like you’re in the home of long-time friends instead of in an overpriced cookie-cutter hotel.

Thanks to Martina and Mike!
Kari&Scott from NJ

  • Liked — Cleanliness, style, location
  • Disliked — Central Air would have been nice, but we understand that it's uncommon in most Inn's on Kauai
  • Tips/Secrets — This Inn is an amazing value, probably the best value for travel accomodations on Kauai. Book it because it books fast! Martina and Mike are professionals and take their business very seriously--no hidden surprises, just a great place to stay.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2006

We (53 and 50 y.o.) stayed at KCI for 4 nights in early July. It was great! This was the last of 4 small B&B-type places we stayed on Maui, the Big Island and Kuai on our 2 week trip. The room was extremely clean, quiet and very comfortable; the kitchen had what we needed for basic meal prep; and Mike and Martina had great advice/recommendations. KCI is about a 10 min drive to Kaapaa and the ocean, and we really enjoyed the quiet country setting -- no traffic and great views. Also, I like roosters. The Beatles museum was a real treat.

Do I need to point out that Kuai is fabulous? and it's small enough that a short drive will get you to lots of it -- and it's a pretty and interesting drive, although the traffic in Kaapaa does slow down to a crawl at times.

This was a great value. We'd stay here again

  • Liked — Clean, pretty , freindly hosts, great location, quiet
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2006

We had a WONDERFUL time at the Kauai Country Inn -- it was the perfect place to relax and feel at home on the island. The room and grounds were just like they look on the website. Each suite is well-equipped w/ a kitchenette and a (--) gas grill. Plus there's internet access and VCR/DVD players in each room! Mike and Martina will give you great recommendations so you feel like a local. Be sure to check out the Beatles Museum, it's got a cool surprise inside! We highly recommend a dinner at the Beach House at Po'ipu beach around sunset. And a helicopter ride w/ Interisland Helicopters -- where you'll land near your own secluded waterfall for a swim and a picnic! Get a 4WD so you can off-road in Wiamea Canyon around the Na Pali Coast.

  • Liked — How relaxing and home-like it was.
  • Disliked — It got hot and muggy at night and the air conditioners were too loud.
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to the Kapa'a Farmer's market right at 3pm (it only runs until 4p) for the best stuff.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2006

My husband and I spent 5 nights at The Kauai Country Inn as part of our honeymoon. We came from The Four Season's on Lanai where we were greatly pampered, so we were expecting to feel a bit of a let down at the Inn. That was not the case at all! It's true that the Kauai Country Inn is not a Four Season's resort, but rather than feeling like we were on a luxery vacation, we felt like we were at home. It was nice to stop shelling out $60 for breakfast and instead wake up to a huge bowl of cereal, some fresh pineapple and a freshly brewed cup of coffee (all prepared by us). And there's nothing like grilling up a good burger at the end of a long day spent hiking. We stayed in the Green Rose Suite, which is 1200 sq ft. The suite was very clean and had an excellent kitchen. Mike and Martina (the Inn's owners) are inredibly gracious hosts that will bend over backwards to be sure you have everything you need. They told us all about the best spots to go on the island that aren't very touristy. If you want to get an insiders connection to the island, you don't mind cooking or staying a bit of a drive away from the beach, you can't find a better place to stay then the Kauai Country Inn. The value is truly outstanding.

  • Liked — It felt like home away from home
  • Disliked — A drive to the beach, no pool
  • Tips/Secrets — If it's raining, sit in the hot tub with the beach umbrella covering you. Very romantic!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, MD
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

Our party of five (two families) stayed at the country cottage for six nights in July/August. They do not provide breakfast but the kitchen is big and has most of the utensils needed to prepare your own food. Heavier duty pans would be nicer but what's there is adequate. Ceiling fans and open windows cool the rooms and a local rooster provides the wake-up call. I had hoped for spa-type bathroom products but regular drug store shampoo was provided. A washer and dryer are located in the cottage for guest use. The house Mac died and was replaced by an old laptop which had its share of problems but at least there was Internet access.
The B&B provides boogie boards, snorkel gear, beach chairs, and other beach mats for use by guests. Mike and Martina gave us a list of recommended restaurants were very helpful. Their dog barks loudly but is friendly.
There are fruit tress on the grounds but nothing was in season unfortunately.
I recommend the nearby Lydgate State Park which has a protected swimming area for families with small children. Bring your snorkel gear because there are fish even in that area. The park has picnic tables, showers and restrooms.
The B&B is a good base of operations for Coconut Coast beaches and is a reasonable drive to beaches in the southern end of the island. The drive to Kee Beach on the north shore is longer but it is a great beach and we spotted a monk seal there one day.
All in all, the B&B is a good place to unwind.

  • Liked — kitchen and amenities, breezy and airy bedrooms
  • Disliked — flimsy cooking pans and computer that acts up
  • Tips/Secrets — borrow the snorkel and beach gear
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2006

My girlfriend took me to Kauai in May. She told me that it was the most beautiful, romantic place she had ever visited and she was right. Lovely beaches, majestic mountains, great surf, fresh fish, and a photographers paradise (me:)). Dawn had travelled to Kauai numerous times and even lived there for 2 years...the abundant beauty of the island was known to her. What suprised us both however was our accomadation at the Kauai Country Inn. Nestled on two acres in the foothills above Kapaa on the islands east side was this oasis. Having never visted this neck of the woods Dawn (and I) took a punt and booked a room here...more acurately we booked a large beautiful suite complete with a full kitchen and lanai for less than the price of a standard room with a view of the parking lot at the Marriott during low season. Our stay was serene, romantic, private and luxurious...a perfect tonic from our busy lives here on the mainland. Do yourself a favor and come here - you won't regret it!!

  • Liked — Peace and quality of rooms and property
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — bring a good book
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kauai Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Country Inn

Address: 6440-B Olohena Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kauai Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kauai Country Inn consists of four private, executive style vacation suites, all of which are beautifully furnished in Hawaiian style decor, with private entrance & bathroom, and full private kitchen or kitchenette. Each of our tropical B&B suites is fully equipped with all the regular amenities, but also feature flat screen TVs with DVD players, and en-suite Computers with FREE DSL & Wi-fi internet access throughout the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kauai Country Hotel Kapaa
Country Inn Kapaa
Kapaa Country Inn
Kauai Country Inn Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.