We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home (cafe).” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olympic Cafe

Olympic Cafe
1354 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
808 822 5825
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 114 Restaurants in Kapaa
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Chicago Park, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Home away from home (cafe).”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I've eaten at just about every cafe and restaurant on Kauai. The staff at the Olympic Cafe are clearly the best at making you feel like you're family and treat you as a local. The menu covers about every taste preference available. Their tea offerings are wonderful. If you want something special added to your meal, just ask and it's delivered. Parking is not too bad with a lot in the back. Their restroom downstairs has a coded lock and the code is changed daily. The restaurant is on the second floor with great views of your fellow tourists below. When you've finished your great meal and you are ready to hit the beach, there is an ABC Store right across the street. Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    341
    138
    53
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springdale, Arkansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good service and pretty good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We ate there for a late lunch. There were 7 of us and we sat immediately. Our waitress was very prompt and informative. I got the mahi sandwich and it was very good. Two in our party got the grilled chicken, one in a sandwich and one on a salad. They complained that the chicken was not seasoned in any way. One in our party got the ahi burrito. It was HUGE, like a foot long and 9 inches around. It was very tasty. I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great location and atmosphere-food not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We loved the tables overlooking the street in kapaa, and the whole atmosphere here!
But.... The food- although the portions are HuGE! It doesn't make up for the fact that it's not very good, I had fish and chips and it was flavourless and greasy... My husband had a burrito and it was also lacking any flavor.
We may have just ordered the wrong thing.
Prices were decent and service was good.
If say order something safe sounding and go just for the location and atmosphere!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NO CALIF
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Seafood Galore!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Our group had a great variety of food. The first guest had a half pound, 90% lean fresh ground beef burger with fries. The next two guests shared a seafood platter which had a very generous portion even for two. Our appetizer was coconut shrimp. Very good dipping sauce. I had a grilled chicken salad with a variety of home grown field greens, avocado, artichoke hearts, cucumber, tomato and kalamata olives. It was all great. Our server Olivia was a breath of fresh air and very interesting to talk to. The prices are very reasonable for this Hawaiian island.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a Burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

A great place to kick back and enjoy the view and have a great meal. Reasonably priced. Fine wait staff and the deserts look awesome. Enough to enjoy again in a "to go" box later. Highly recommended for the "Good Memory" place to eat inventory.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympic Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Olympic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympic Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.