We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olympic Cafe

Olympic Cafe
1354 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
808 822 5825
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 105 Restaurants in Kapaa
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Eureka, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Had a very nice lunch at the Olympic Cafe sitting in their second floor open air restaurant above the main highway. Views of the mountains and valleys on one side and ocean views on the other.
We ordered the "Furikake Ahi" as an appetizer and as our server had promised...it was awesome and a huge portion. We also ordered the Island burger and a tostada/taco salad which were good but not great and the salad was so big it would have served the two of us. The beers were cold, the breeze was cooling and the food made for a pretty nice lunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    296
    129
    47
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Good food, very accommodating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My husband and I took a large group of family and friends here the first night we arrived in Kauai. The wait staff was more than accommodating to our party size with little to no notice and barely any wait time!

The restaurant is a cool balcony above some shops in the heart of Kapaa. The food is typical American style food, but it was delicious. Great drink options as well! The staff is very kind and attentive. Absolutely worth going to!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota FL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Balcony eating downtown Kapaa...nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Enjoyed eating here twice during our Kauai visit. Second story views of the ocean and Kapaa....good food.....pleasant eating experience. Busy place sometimes, so plan accordingly. I would recommend it for mid day lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good, and large portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Olympic Cafe in Kapaa, Kauai is one of the best choices for lunch on the island. The food tasted great (gotta love those waffle fries), and the portions were large. Service could have been better, but the food more than made up for it. The restaurant is on the second floor, and we sat overlooking the street, so the view was interesting, but not island beautiful. If you are in Kapaa, it is definitely worth a stop.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent Island, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun Balcony Eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This place is great for the atmosphere. The outdoor dining, on the upper level of a strip mall on Kuhio Hwy was entertaining. The service was good and food came out quick. Food was average, except the Kahlua pork is a stand out dish on the menu! The fish was too buttery for my taste. The Aloha Friday special is an amazing deal! And very fun.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympic Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Olympic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympic Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.