We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, average food, great view of city/street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olympic Cafe

Olympic Cafe
1354 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
808 822 5825
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 114 Restaurants in Kapaa
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good service, average food, great view of city/street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We enjoyed a lunch here and sat at the open air windows. It was partly rainy, cloudy, but enjoyed the hustle and bustle that is Kapaa on a weekday at lunchtime. We'd walked down the coast about a mile from the park just north of the town. Cute town, nice cafe, OK food, good beer. My husband bought their logo'd beer glass as a souvenier. Service was good, predictable. If we're ever back that way, we'll stop by for lunch again. It was busy! Locals must love it! Huge menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    341
    138
    53
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The locals we talked to while exploring the art walk recommended this as a nice alternative for breakfast from the hotel.
We enjoyied the view as the winds cooled down our already hot morning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BAD SERVICE AND BAD FOOD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had the fish tacos at the Olympic in 2008 and they were the best! We were anxious to get them again during our revisit to Kauai. Boy were we disappointed! First of all there were only a few waitresses and they quickly disappeared after dropping off food orders. We could only find the busboy to ask for help after no one waited on us after 15 minutes. We were about to leave when the bar tender came over and let us know she was our waitress. She was nice but already very busy at the bar. We ordered fish tacos and when they came they were nothing like the 2008 tacos. These were made with chunks of dried, tasteless fish and were not the Baja style we remembered. The black beans and rice were ok, nothing special. Overall very disappointing, sometimes you just cannot go back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Hey, its no frills but HUGE portions and a great bar. The fish and chips and monster burrito were both huge portions. Domestic drafts for $3.50 are a home run. Parking behind restaurant. Great place! Scenic view is the main street of town!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Decent food terrible waitresses”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The food was decent, but our waitress was terrible. She was extremely rude and actually would mutter angrily as she stormed off. Then she would not come back to our table for long periods of time. She forgot about our appetizers and never apologized about anything. She was going out of her way to be rude to us. I'll never go back. I'm sure I can find another place with decent food and waitresses that know how to do their jobs in a professional manner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympic Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Olympic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympic Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.