We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Celebrate a Festive Occasion!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kintaro

Kintaro
4-370 Kuhio Highway (Route 56), Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
808-822-3341
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 105 Restaurants in Kapaa
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Koloa, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Place to Celebrate a Festive Occasion!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Went to Kintaro's to celebrate a friend's birthday (seems like there were 3 or 4 other tables doing the same!). We had 6:30 reservations and were taken to our table shortly after that. Our waiter was on it from the get go. Our drinks were never empty (to include water glasses) and he constantly checked-in with us to see if we needed/wanted anything else. They have a pretty good selection of appetizers, main dishes, deserts, and drinks and the prices are comparable to other restaurants of this caliber. They even have teppanyaki style cooking (cooking in front of you). The decor of the restaurant is nice, but the layout of the restaurant is lacking. I think they are trying to cram too many people into too small of a space. My chair was constantly being bumped by people/waitstaff trying to squeeze by. Moreover, the fella that would come and clear finished plates from the table would reach over/in-between me as I was eating and I really didn't appreciate his hairy arms skimming my plate.

Overall I highly recommend Kintaro, but because they do so much business I would definitely say to make reservations.

I know I'll be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    105
    36
    32
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lindale, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The people we were renting our place from said this was the best sushi on the island so we knew we had to try it out. We were not disappointed! I'm pregnant so was not able to enjoy the raw fish, but had my fair share of fried & cooked and it was delicious! We didn't make reservations but were there early enough to beat the crowd. I would recommend reservations though.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Fantastic sushi and authentic Japanese cuisine in the heart of Wailua. The first restaurant where I went on a date on Kauai.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Left Coast CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We liked it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

After reading mixed reviews, we were scepicle about eating here, but decided to try it anyway after several locals suggested it. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The atmosphere is lovely, our server was busy, but efficient and pleasant. Our favorite item was the Bali Hi Salmon Roll.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is one of our number one "have to's" whenever we go to Kauai. The Teppanyaki and sushi are so wonderful. Great portions for the price. You can tell how popular and good it is by the number of people, especially locals. In addition to the line that is always present at the door and the waiting area. All employees are very friendly and it's a nice family atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kintaro also viewed

 

Been to Kintaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kintaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.