We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely had better...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kintaro

Kintaro
4-370 Kuhio Highway (Route 56), Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
808-822-3341
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 105 Restaurants in Kapaa
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Glendale, CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Definitely had better...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is more of a 3 1/2 star review. First off, our waiter was working really hard as the restaurant was very busy even up until closing time. We arrived about half an hour before the last seating but was seated within 15 minutes. Going right to the food, my hubby ordered dinner B with sashimi, tempura and soba noodles. It was all just okay. We definitely had fresher sashimi elsewhere and some of the tempura was mushy. I ordered the udon noodles. Again, definitely not the best. There was more veggies than udon noodles and flavor of the soup was just so so. We also ordered the spicy tuna roll and scallop roll. They were both huge portions but very messily put together and not too bad but not great either. Not sure if it was due to close to closing time and the kitchen was so busy that the sushi came after our entrees. The prices were decent though. We may give it one more try just for the sushi but not the dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    104
    36
    32
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Prices were good, sushi not so much.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were recommended to go here by the car rental agent when we landed in Kauai. We decided to go there our first night. It was close to our hotel so we walked over. We decided to do sushi instead of the teppan. My husband and I were not impressed. There seemed to be a lot of locals, but I couldn't understand what they liked about it. The sushi didn't taste good at all. We had a spicy tuna roll, some sushi bomb roll, and other roll which I don't recall the name. They were mediocre at best. The our server was less than enthusiastic and barely came by to check on us when we got our food. I would go back and try the teppan,but I am out for sushi.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Decent Sushi at a Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stopped here for sushi on our way to the airport from Hanalei (for our return flight home). Make reservations if you can, as there was a long wait, although you could also sit and order at the bar, which is what we ended up doing. It was good sushi for cheaper than the Hanalei Dolphin. Again, not the best I've ever had, but decent, and for the island, the prices were very reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Crowded place, lots of locals, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a really good dinner here. We were there at 7pm on a Saturday night, and the placed was packed, so service was a little slow, but really not bad: Someone took our drink order within a minute of sitting down, and as soon as we indicated we were ready to order the waiter came right over.

Sushi was excellent! We would definitely go back.

I think most of the negative reviews are due to the atmosphere: It's a big, busy restuarant, not a cozy little sushi bar.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Honestly, who would eat here?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Where to start?
We were given teaspoons to eat our miso soup with.
We had to ask more than once to get the small dishes for soy sauce.
We were a party of six. Our entrees were served over the course of about one hour, with one of our party having nothing to eat during that time.
One of us asked if the side dish that was supposed to come with the entree would be coming - the response was "So, you want that?"
The food was really not good. The service was a joke. We felt like we were on Candid Camera.
The atmosphere was loud and cafeteria-like.
The concierge at our resort hotel said that in past years this place was good. They got good reviews in the guide books (reviews which are now outdated) and still get big crowds of tourists so they are resting on their laurels and really don't care about quality at all.
Don't waste your money on this joke of a restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kintaro also viewed

 

Been to Kintaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kintaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.