We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kintaro

Kintaro
4-370 Kuhio Highway (Route 56), Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
808-822-3341
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 105 Restaurants in Kapaa
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Kintaro Japanese Restaurant was recommended by the owners of the house that we rented as being a favorite with locals. Indeed, when we entered we encountered a lively atmosphere with many people whom I took to be locals, not tourists.

The Japanese-style decor is nice. Unfortunately, I cannot say the same for the food, which I found extremely bland and uninteresting. For my main course I had the tempura shrimp, which were tasteless.

Service was adequate but not particularly engaged or friendly.

I do not recommend this restaurant nor would I go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    104
    36
    32
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food but no entertainment.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We had been here before and came back because we remembered how much fun we had with the teppanyaki. The food was great but there was none of the usual knife throwing, chopping etc. We were disappointed but I have to say we really enjoyed the meal. Amazing fillet-so tender and the shrimp was really tasty too. I asked why they don't do the show and our chef said that it was too time consuming??? Weird!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not delicious nor real Japanese food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

A truly an appalling meal. So disappointed. Service was friendly and insincere. Their true feelings are showing. We ordered three streak teppanyaki and one Tenpura dinner.

Fried wonton - dipping sauce good, inside of wonton bland - 1 star
Miso soup - too salty,very little dashi (fish stock) in it - 1 star
Suimono salad? - too sweet, tasted like sweet relish for hot dogs - 1/2 star
Tempura - Awful. Coating not crunchy, doughy like I can get from the local supermarket in Yokohama. Prawn was mushy and had no flavor or texture. Even supermarket tempura is
better. Frozen? 1/2 star
Filet mignon teppanyakki - lovely piece of meat, tasty and cooked to perfection but destroyed by too much salt. The stirfried vegetables were good but again too salty. - 2 stars
whiskey and soda - They messed up the order and we got rum and soda. Argh! - 1 star

Yes, it is crowded. Yes, it is popular. Why? We haven't a clue. It was loud and noisy like a pizza joint. Not a serene atmospere condusive to conversation. If you care about the quality of the food that you will be eating and being able to carry on a conversation in a normal tone of voice, then I highly recommend that you avoid this place if you really want Japanese food. This IS NOT the place. Go to Keoki's in Poipu. Not Japanese but you will get better food for about the same prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Im glad we went! it hit the spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

My favorite was the salmon sashimi. service was great. everything we ordered came out wonderful. the crew really works hard. be sure tontipthese guys. they earn it

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very Good Japanese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

you can tell it is good all the locals go here and they fill the place very large dining rooms but you still must make reservation to get seated at a certain time, all good selections just watch the locals,

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kintaro also viewed

 

Been to Kintaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kintaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.