We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a break from fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba Burgers

Bubba Burgers
4-1421 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1714
808-823-0069
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 114 Restaurants in Kapaa
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Take a break from fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I visited Bubba's twice during our stay on Kauai, and we're glad we did. The Double Bubba with Cheese is the way to go here (there's plenty of places to get a quality fish sandwich on the island, so why go to a burger joint for one?). The only reason they don't get five stars is because everything else besides the burger is sub-par. The staff leaves a bit to be desired, the onion rings are terribly pedestrian (fries are alright, however), and the atmosphere...well...it is about what you'd expect. If you're a land-lubber in search of a break from all the ahi, and don't lose your bananas over niceties, check out Bubba's.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    202
    140
    47
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Affordable and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I stopped by Bubbas on the way back from the beach for a quick bite to eat and we were highly amazed at what we found. We both ordered burgers, I got the teriyaki burger and she got a regular burger. They were fresh, juicy and very delicious. What can possibly be better than a great buregr, onion rings and a milk shake? After eating several places before finding Bubbas, we were expecting to pay $15 to $20 per person, so we were blown away that the total for the 2 of us came to just over $20. Hands down, the best food for your buck on the entire island!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“In N Out of Kauai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Funky burger joint with plain old fashion burgers and great French fries. I like it because I can get a small burger and it is my husband's favorite place to eat. Buy one of their clever t-shirts and you get a free drink every time you wear it. Sit outside and watch the world go by.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good vibe. Fair food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My fish sandwich was OK. Had it with frings, which is a mix of fries and onion rings. Frings seemed to me to be a little oily. Ball and chain had a Double Bubba. He said it was nothing to write home about.

Counter staff was firendly. Nice indoor-outdoor atmosphere. Really a lot better places nearby to have lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was a place our daughter was excited about going. Turned out to be disappointing... The burger was only okay, the onion rings were not good and the girl taking the orders was not very friendly. In and Out burger and Whataburger have them beat hands down.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Burgers also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba Burgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.