We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Portuguese Bean Soup!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ono Family Restaurant and Shave Ice

Ono Family Restaurant and Shave Ice
4-1292 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1659
808-822-1710
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 105 Restaurants in Kapaa
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Isle of Palms, SC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Portuguese Bean Soup!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We love the Portuguese bean soup and I have to have the lemonade whenever I'm there. Great place for breakfast or lunch!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    189
    53
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“So, so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The pancakes were awesome. I had strawberry pancakes. They were so good. The fried rice that comes with breakfast is a tasty change for breakfast. Great food at a good price. Don't miss this.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing pancakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Get the pancakes. They are fantastic, especially with maple syrup and coconut syrup together. To die for! And so filling, you won't need to eat for the rest of the day.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shaved ice to die for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The food here is great, no matter what some visitors say, this is a local place, and the food is local and good. The shaved ice is super.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Place to be for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

We ate here twice for breakfast. The prices are very reasonable and the food was great. Ordered mahi mahi benedict and capt. Platter...onolicious! you cannot get that many places. So good and the service was fantastic, too. Our waitress remembered us after our first breakfast there! You can see why a lot of locals enjoy eating there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ono Family Restaurant and Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Ono Family Restaurant and Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ono Family Restaurant and Shave Ice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.