We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Portuguese Bean Soup!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ono Family Restaurant and Shave Ice

Ono Family Restaurant and Shave Ice
4-1292 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1659
808-822-1710
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 102 restaurants in Kapaa
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Isle of Palms, SC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Portuguese Bean Soup!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We love the Portuguese bean soup and I have to have the lemonade whenever I'm there. Great place for breakfast or lunch!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    263
    173
    47
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“So, so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The pancakes were awesome. I had strawberry pancakes. They were so good. The fried rice that comes with breakfast is a tasty change for breakfast. Great food at a good price. Don't miss this.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing pancakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Get the pancakes. They are fantastic, especially with maple syrup and coconut syrup together. To die for! And so filling, you won't need to eat for the rest of the day.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shaved ice to die for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The food here is great, no matter what some visitors say, this is a local place, and the food is local and good. The shaved ice is super.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Place to be for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

We ate here twice for breakfast. The prices are very reasonable and the food was great. Ordered mahi mahi benedict and capt. Platter...onolicious! you cannot get that many places. So good and the service was fantastic, too. Our waitress remembered us after our first breakfast there! You can see why a lot of locals enjoy eating there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ono Family Restaurant and Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Ono Family Restaurant and Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ono Family Restaurant and Shave Ice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.