We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious, cheap tacos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tiki Tacos

Tiki Tacos
Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
(808) 823-8226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 105 Restaurants in Kapaa
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“delicious, cheap tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went here for dinner on the last night of our honeymoon, in search of a good, cheap eat. We hit the jackpot here. The tacos were huge and delicious. Tons of flavors and meat options to choose from. Everything was made fresh. Prices were great, especially for the portion size. We would come back here in a heartbeat!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    56
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Spicy it is!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

My mouth was burning but loving it at this random taco place. They make food stuff. No Ac so take it home or eat on the go. They make their own tortillas and use organic ingredients when they can.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chgo
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I need to take this place back home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Tortillas are made on the spot! Fresh as hell! Tacos are huge and very well served! Very affordable!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cool t-shirts...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went to Tiki Tacos expecting to be blown away and were honestly underwhelmed. The tacos are solid (we tried several different kinds), but not amazing. Plus, you have to constantly shoo the chickens away so they don't steal your food! My husband got one of their awesome shirts though and we love it. He got the brown one with the calaveras and their slogan, "Authentic Mexican food with a Hawaiian heart." Awwww...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Quite disappointed!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I am in total agreement with Norm1983. We were quite disappointed with the establishment. I understand I am not expecting tacos one buy in Mexico. I know they advertise themselves as a place for Mexican food with a Hawaiian heart; I believe there wasn't much heart left! My wife ordered a fish taco and our daughter and I ordered chicken tacos. With tips and drinks we paid USD 27.77. There were hardly any fish or meat in any of the tacos, no tomatoes, no salsa just full of cabbage. A few days after, we were in Maui and had the opportunity to eat at Amigos in Lahaina and Kihei; wow.......!!!!! what a difference. If Tiki gets TWO stars, I probably should give Amigos 20 stars.....!!!! I am sure we are not going back to Tiki again!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiki Tacos also viewed

 

Been to Tiki Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiki Tacos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.