We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely private cabana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 17 Palms Kauai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 17 Palms Kauai to your Saves list
17 Palms Kauai
414 Wailua Kai Street, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
ALL Amenities FREE
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
seattle, wa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely private cabana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

17 Palms was marvelous! It was so nice to have our own little house during our Kauai visit. Jeff & Ross have made it a super cozy stay with all the amenities you could think of (the anti-itch cream was a godsend!). The cabin is centrally located and we really enjoyed the town of Kapaa'a. the bedroom stays really cool (we never had to turn on the A/C) and the sunshine streams in during the day. There's a DVD player, so bring movies if you want (or rent at the nearby Blockbuster). All in all a great place to stay in beautiful Kauai!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    25
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
123
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

Our 17 Palms cottage was great. We booked the cottage online and were delighted to find it was exactly right for us. Just outside of town and steps away from a beautiful beach, it was quiet and private but close to grocery stores and anything else we needed. The owners, Ross and Jeff, were very gracious and had lots of helpful to-see and to-do suggestions. The cottage was meticulously clean, charmingly decorated and the kitchen was complete with all we needed. We loved our trip to Kauai and 17 Palms.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

We stayed in the Hale Iki Cottage for 5 nights in November and wished we could have stayed longer.

The cottage was perfectly decorated (looking even better than the beautiful photos on the website - a very rare occurrence when you book accommodation!) and stocked with everything and anything we could have possibly needed during our stay.

Ross and Jeff were fantastic hosts, providing both information and suggestions before we arrived, during our stay at the cottage and even afterwards, suggesting some awesome things to do for our later leg of the trip in San Francisco!

The location would be hard to beat as you are so central with many things within walking distance (restaurants, shops etc) and ideally located centrally for easy trips north and south. Make sure you slip out the back gate and cross the street to watch the sunrise on the lovely little beach in the morning - its not to be missed.

When we visited the weather was quite unstable with some impressive thunder and lightening storms which didn't make our stay any less enjoyable - but just meant that there were a few things - especially hikes etc that we didn't get a chance to do during our stay - no worries though as we will defiantly be back!

Thanks to Ross and Jeff for a lovely home whilst on Kauai.

Ryan and Vikki

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

My wife and I traveled to Kauai this winter along with my wife's parents, and stayed at 17 Palms for a week. We took both cottages (Meli Meli and the Hale Iki), so we could have privacy but stay in the same compound. It worked out perfectly.

But lemme back up - before we even arrived, we'd had a few highly-informative and helpful calls with the owners, who got us very excited and perfectly prepared. Upon arrival, we all agreed that 17 Palms was more beautiful in person, and the location was ideal. We were close to the airport -- and to stuff like supermarkets and coffee shops -- but also a 2 minute walk from a gorgeous beach. You can also make half-hour drives to either the north (places like 'Anini or Tunnels beaches), or down south to Poipu Beach and an amazing meal at Roy's.

I suspect you'll even have a better stay, because it sounds like they're prepping some construction and additions to the grounds (not that the cottages lack in any areas - they even have beach chairs, charcoal for the grill and suntan lotion). We would DEFINITELY stay here again, and we're pretty particular and well-researched.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

I selected this location because I wanted to see Kauai and this cottage was smack in the middle of the road. Since I was out and about every day, having a place right on the beach was not important to me. Jeff and Ross are incredible hosts and the abundance of amenities that everyone has noted make this place incredibly special. If you are the type of person who stays clear of sterile hotels and require that homey local feel to your vacation, stay at 17 Palms!
Unfortunately I am a very light sleeper and as a couple reviewers have noted, the location has a bit of noise; the garbage trucks @ 6:00am every morning, traffic on both roads, music from a night club near by. Still, if you are looking for a great value in paradise, book your stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

If you want to stay away from big hotels, resorts & time shares then the immaculately clean Hali Ike is the place for you. This little house is surrounded with your own tropical garden of palms, banana, fig, avacado trees, orchids and flowers. Your own private garden & only 2 minute walk to Ocean & Heiau. A great central location to all spots on the island. Relax on the lanai and enjoy the sound of tropical birds. This was the perfect place to celebrate our 25 anniversary. We would return to Hali Iki in a second!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Mele Mele Cottage was a great place to stay, and it was very comfortable and clean. The cottage came loaded with every amenity you could want. Throughout the week we were there, I kept discovering more things that I've never seen in any other vacation rental -- sharp knives for cutting pineapple, beach chairs and beach towels, soap for the laundry. The location is great. It's central to everything, but private. The garden around the cottage is very nice. One of my favorite things was waking up in the mornings with the windows wide open. The early morning temperature was perfect, and the gardens smelled so fresh and green. You can tell that the owners lavish attention and care on this property.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 17 Palms Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Palms Kauai

Address: 414 Wailua Kai Street, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Palms Kauai is comprised of two Kauai vacation cottages in a garden setting chosen by Conde Nast Traveller Mag. As "one of the 5 perfect places to stay on Kauai" - a private oasis adjacent to Wailua Bay, one of Kauai's most popular beaches (made famous in Elvis' Blue Hawaii). Everything you need during your Kauai vacation is a short walk, located across the street from the beach path and one block from tons of restaurants and shops, rentals, etc. These are fully equipped, free-standing homes with complete amenities including complete kitchens, laundry, dishwasher, sharp knives!, Wi-Fi, and many other niceties, a true home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your 17 Palms Kauai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Palms Kauai Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 17 Palms Kauai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.