We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value/Overlooked Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Hale Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation Hale Suites to your Saves list
Plantation Hale Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
West Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Great Value/Overlooked Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

My husband and I just returned from a week at Plantation Hale and we loved it. The staff was friendly and courteous, the room was spotless and we had a great view of the ocean.I should add here that we got an up-grade and didn't know why. Apparently (and I had forgotten this) I had mentioned in an early e-mail that we were coming to celebrate my 60th birthday...they upgraded the room because of that ! The two swimming pools were beautifully landscaped and nicely maintained and very quiet. The guest laundry is such a nice convenience. You don't have to pack a lot because you can do laundry, as we did, mid-week.
The hotel is very close to shopping and several really nice restaurants (Don't miss Tropical Burger in the mall. Breakfasts are dynamite !!)
The hotel is close to many attractions and things to do and someone was always willing to suggest a place we might not have thought of. If you have a chance to stop at Kauai Coffee Co. take it ! It's a pleasant spot to stop and relax for a few minutes, browse the gift shop or grab a light lunch.
We would definitely stay at Plantation Hale again and would encourage others to try it !

  • Liked — Cleanliness and quiet
  • Disliked — That I had to leave !
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    209
    49
    27
    9
See reviews for
130
236
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sewell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

Although most reviews of this hotel were basically positive, I saw a few concerning reviews about the Plantation Hale posted previously here, which led me to some significant concern just before we arrived there for our stay. All concerns were unfounded, however. We were assigned to unit A-16, which is a one bedroom condo unit. It was in good condition, although obviously a lot of things were done low budget, as one would expect for paying a little over $100 on such a touristy island. But everything was very clean. Concerning roaches and other bugs, as one other reviewer wrote a bad review about - no bugs at all, and in fact, the hotel sprayed for bugs while we were staying there. Apparently, Best Western itself owns buildings A-E (those were the buildings sprayed during our visit), and perhaps the later units (F-J) are privately owned as some have noted, and may not be cared for as well. So I guess my best advice is to try to get a unit in A thru E.

Another concern one reviewer noted was crime, as someone broke into her unit. We did not have this problem, but we had a unit right near the conceirge building, and on the second floor, so I guess it would be good advice to ask for one of those units for increased security. Otherwise, just make sure your lanai (porch) door is locked!!

here is what to expect in your condo unit, particularly the kitchen so you are prepared:

3-4 pieces of basic tableware (plate, glass, coffee cup, bowl)
Basic cutlery, really really cheap but serviceable, 4 pieces each
A frying pan
a cutting board
drying rack for dishes
dish towel and rag
dish detergent
Microwave
toaster
Stove and refrigerator (it is a full kitchen)

The housekeeping staff does not perform kitchen duties, so clean your own dishes!!

Unit had a large TV in the living room and a smaller one in the bedroom.

The unit had a bit of a musty smell, but I guess that is to be expected with people coming in and out with wet beachwear.

The main desk staff were always quite friendly.

Three days per week, the "Activities Desk" provides an orientation session (with continental breakfast, bare bones) first thing in the morning to help you get to know the island. Important to know is that this employee works for a tour booking agency, and after she gives you some good basic island info, will do a bit of a sales pitch to get you to book your tour through her. She was nice enough and seemed to give as good a deal as any other third party booking agent, so we ended up providing her with a very tidy little commission.

All in all, I was pleased with our stay there. Kapaa is a nice intermediate town location so you can explore both the south and north sides of the island without driving too far in any one day.

  • Liked — The full condo for hotel room prices
  • Disliked — Nothing really - really cheap cutlerly in the kitchen??
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

We stayed 6 nights and were very pleased with everything. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the concierge was invaluable. Loved having the one bedroom suite so it felt like a rental instead of a hotel. I enjoy having the option to cook a meal or two instead of eating out all the time. It has a perfect location, central to all parts of the island, with an incredible beach within walking distance. We loved every part of our stay.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

My wife and I spent a very relaxing week at Plantation Hale, and were very surprised at the warm greeting we received. We travel quite a bit, and have grown to expect indifference at most hotels when you check in.

We had flown in from the Los Angeles area, and we were looking forward to being able to get into our room, change into cooler clothes and get to relax.

As we checked in at their open-air lobby, we were greeted with nice cool face clothes from the desk staff, and a nice cool bottle of water. This was most unexpected, and a nice touch of Aloha, which we don't get from other hotels.

Our room was ready, but again we were very pleased to see it was not just a room, but a separate bedroom and living room with a complete kitchen which came with a full size fridge, not just a little bar fridge. There was a stove, which we never really used, and a microwave, toaster, blender, really more than we ever needed, but nice to have. We actually did use the blender to make some nice cool island drinks, and we would never had done that otherwise.

The pools were delicious, well maintained and perfect temperature, so you could stay in them for an extended time. There were two hot tubs, and we enjoyed these after our nightly stroll.

All in all, we didn't have any problems. Our housekeeper always had a bright, cheerful welcome for us, and asked us if we needed anything extra.

The price was right, and the extras we received were unexpected but welcome, and we would go again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Value, location
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2007

Overall the Best Western is a nice mid-level place to stay. Rooms are very clean. Guests are a mix of tourists and locals that live there. There are a number of small pools, so you may be able to find one that is private. Two jacuzzis on site along with a ghetto putting green. Staff was very friendly plus they have free internet in the lobby. Damn those Kauai roosters though! You will find them around the hotel.

Located right next to a nice outdoor shopping area which we found really convenient. This is not a luxurious place to stay but it is centrally located on the island, clean, comfortable and priced reasonably.

Would recommend to most travelers.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2007

After reading a few of the reviews, it is obvious to me that some people have had widely different experiences at this very friendly hotel, that has always displayed nothing but the best in ALOHA!.

We stayed at Plantation Hale in early April for a week, and were there the same time that one guest complained about moss in the hot tubs. I don't know where she was looking, but we used the pools and hot tubs every day, and NEVER experienced anything like she describes.

Wondering where all these differences come from, we can advise Trip Advisor travellers some good advice, which may explain some of these variances.

I have found out from the staff there, after staying there numerous times over the past 5 years, that the hotel is a condo hotel, like so many in the islands and that each unit is individually owned. The majority are rented out through the Best Western system, but some are privately rented, through realtors, or through owners themselves. If it is a private rental, they have to provide their own housekeeping, not through the hotel, who could not change her sheets, or give more pillows, explaining her problems which may explain the miscommunication and the loss of her daughter's blanket. I suspect the front desk would be trying to contact the outside housekeepers on her behalf which would also explain the delay.

We always book through Best Western, or directly to the hotel through their toll-free direct line, and never have a problem with the unit, or housekeeping or anything. If you want to take a risk like this and perhaps think you are getting a better deal, remember the hotel brands spend lots of money, time and effort inspecting properties, and ensuring standards are met. But in condo hotels, they only insist on these standards for units rented through their system. Private rentals do not have to comply, and there is a reason for them being private, like the units may not measure up. Book direct, you will be happier.

As far as traffic goes, it is hard to escape it anywhere on the island as there is only one road around the island, which passes many top resorts in addition to this one.

When we travel, we enjoy ourselves, and leave the complaining at home.

  • Liked — Value, location, pools
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay long enough
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

Yuck, yuck & yuck! Where to begin! Just returned from there last night. Although the island is beautiful & the location is great, everything else was terrible! Where to begin... First, when we tried to get 2 extra pillows, it took 2 1/2 days & SIX trips/ calls to the front desk! Their reason being "There was a serious pillow shortage!" Mind you, we were asking for TWO pillows, NOT 22! Second, housekeeping "accidentially" mixed my daughters special security blanket in with the laundry! (The front desk told me this happens all the time and they would TRY to find it, because they do all their own laundry!) Well, needless to say, the blanket (that was handmade by her great grandma the blanket she cuddles with EVERY night) was NEVER found! And we stayed there 7 nights! No apologies, no compassion, even when my daughter stood crying at the front desk! There were several nights that the sheets were not changed at all, despite requesting they be changed... AND even though we stayed on an upper floor room, there was more than one night we were greeted by large cockroaches in our room the size of mice! I do understand this is the tropics and do appreciate the bugs in nature, but DO NOT appreciate being visited by them in the middle of the night! The hot tub was completly full of green moss and was totally unusable! The noise of the highway was unbearable~ sirens, racing cars, honking horns, continued all night! By the end of the vacation, my children were asking to go home! They didn't even want to stay until check out time on our final day! We LOVE Kauia, loved the central location of Kapaa, but will NEVER be back to this hotel! We were truly dissapointed!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation Hale Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Hale Suites

Address: 525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Hale Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation Hale Suites is located in the heart of Kauai on the scenic Royal Coconut Coast and steps away from Waipouli Beach. Enjoy spacious one bedroom suite accommodations (738 sq ft) with the finest amenities such as full kitchens and private lanais. Suites sleep up to six people. High speed Wi Fi,Flat Screen LCD TV's with Cable (60 preimum channels)Blu-Ray DVD, Movie library,350 DVD's. Planation Hale has three outdoor pools,(4)picnic and BBQ areas, whirlpool spas, Shuffle Board. The resort offers several restaurants, full Concierge and Activities Desk, mini market, ATM, and a SPA. Located nearby, Golf, Tennis, Horseback Riding, Wailua River and Kayaking,Opaeka'a Falls, Waimea Canyon, Hiking Trails. Kauai's best location and value. great for a romantic getaway, or a family vacation. Our dedicated staff welcomes you with the true Aloha spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plantation Hale Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hale Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Kapaa Best Western
Plantation Hale Suites Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Hale Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.