We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Serenity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Hale Suites

Save Saved
You added Plantation Hale Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plantation Hale Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Hoolehua, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Slice of Serenity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have only been to Kauai twice, and both times I have stayed with my Ohana at Plantation Hale Suites. The service is AWESOME! The staff makes you feel like family, and are very welcoming. Kama'aina's are welcomed and there is a great sense of aloha. As for the 2 rooms that we stayed in G2 and G6, they were very clean and spacious. In my opinion, I liked G2 better because of the amenities that were offered. Both rooms had dishes supplied and had the same layout, but you could tell that the owner of G2 went the extra mile to keep their guests comfortable.

I will definitely recommend them to family and friends. The guest service agent named Noe was very helpful in accommodating my ohana, and making sure our arrangements were confirmed and prepared.

Room Tip: Rooms located in the rear of the G building is close to the laundry room, and I noticed that there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Aloha LinaThoene,

Let me start by saying welcome back to Plantation Hale Suites. Yes, we have finished renovation in the interior of our most of our suites and the other suite you noted is scheduled to be completed the next few months. I will share your positive comments with our staff. I am so glad to hear that they were extremely helpful, it is always nice to hear the good comments about our special staff here at Plantation Hale Suites. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Kauai.

Mahalo...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    198
    48
    25
    8
See reviews for
121
222
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoolehua, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have had to fly in for multiple trips and the staff are so lovely and show the true Hawaiian Spirit... the room is very SPACIOUS as well as the service was awesome. My Ohana loves it here at Plantation Hale they make them feel like their at home. Aloha and Mahalo for keeping the Hawaiian Spirit alive

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Aloha Jerry F,

Let me start by saying welcome back to Plantation Hale Suites. I will share your positive comments with our staff. I am so glad to hear that they were extremely helpful and that the maid service was second to none, always nice to hear the good comments about our special staff here at Plantation Hale Suites. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Kauai.

Mahalo....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipahu, Hawaii, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Periodically I travel back home (local) and stay at Plantation Hale. I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN. My daughter, three grandchildren and I stayed one night. I was embarressed that I chose this place for my grandchildren and daughter to stay for the night. When I opened the door the room smelled of fowl odor, musty and of pee. I immediately opened the sliding doors and turned on the ceiling fans and left the entry door open to get rid of the foul smell. It took a while. When the front desk said we were upgraded to a garden view, one would expected green and lush foliageand green grass, DO NOT EXPECT A GARDEN unless it starts to rain during the winter months....you may get LUSH GREEN GRASS THEN. Bathroom dirty, The grout on the ceramic floor tiles of the bathroom someone needs to take a toothbrush and clean it or spray it so it does not look BLACK or LIKE IT HAS NOT BEEN CLEANED IN A LONG TIME. Screen door leading to the so call Garden was difficult to move back and forth and took some doing to get it to slide. Had to ask for Coffee packets and was asked to come to the front desk and get it. Then it did not matter, the COFFEE MAKER did not work properly. AC unit noisy.

We were very hesitate to sleep on the bed and checked it to make sure the sheet was at least CLEAN.

"Newly Renovated" overstated - I have stayed here when it was NOT RENOVATED and I can say that the only thing I see changed is the countertop in the bathroom and new drapery.....other than these two things it is still old and outstaed and pretty much the same before such RENOVATION.

I used to live here on Kauai and I love our island, but this was an embarressment and disappointment. The only thing good about this place is the "Suite" and walking distance to eateries. Trust me, for the price it was not worth it!

Room Tip: I do not recommend Plantation Hale
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Aloha Joyce H,

I must say I was disappointed we let you down on our services. I can assure you that is not the norm and I will share your feedback with our team. I sincerely apologize as we do our best to ensure that our guests are satisfied and we strive to meet and exceed their expectations. We care very much about our guests and their comfort.

I do hope you will return and contact myself or Patti (Assistant Manager) for a reservation. Thank you for your business and your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I booked this hotel as a bundle thru travelocity. What attracted me to this property was the dististinc NON-MEGA HOTEL look about it. I came to Kauai for my 65th birthday and much needed vacation. I was NOT disappointed at all, I loved that I had a ground level condo facing the beach. I did not have to lug luggage thru hotel mega lobbies, up one of a bank of elevators to a room that faced the parking lot! This is an older hotel, but it had that Aloha feel about it. Yes the condo was a bit outdated, but it was outdated Hawaii style and was very comfortable. I loved the fact that we would leave the glass sliding door open at night with just the screen door...we could HEAR the waves breaking on the shoreline every night..what a joy that was. I would definately stay here again and also bring any of my family or recommend to my co-workers. Great price, great location, great vacation!!! Aloha..travelinmamma!!

Room Tip: Ask for a unit facing the beach, there are buildings that face inward to the courtyard, but hearing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Aloha travelinmamma2013,

I am glad you had a great time here at Plantation Hale Suites for your 65th birthday. Look forward to meeting you the next time you come back to the island of Kauai.

Thank you for posting such a great review of the property.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We picked this resort for our honeymoon based on reviews on Tripadvisor. I paid for an upgraded room with a premium view. What we got was a smelly, outdated room next to the laundromat with a view of the road that leads into the resort. We asked for another room only to be told that nothing else was available.

As far as staff goes, we requested a dinner suggestion at check in and they could not even come up with a suggestion. Thank goodness another guest in line healed us out. We were surprised that this place received so many stars on Tripadvisor. Our experience was nothing like the reviews we read.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha beachgirlx2,

I must say I was disappointed we let you down on our services. I can assure you that is not the norm and I will share your feedback with our team. I sincerely apologize as we do our best to ensure that our guests are satisfied and we strive to meet and exceed their expectations. We care very much about our guests and their comfort.

I do hope you will return and contact meslf or Patti (Assistant Manager) for a reservation. Thank you for your business and your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tienhoven
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

we stayed 6 nights this month at this hotel. Our tour operator selected 3 hotels in Kauai and based on the comments on Trip Advisor we kept this one..
Mistake..
The room wasn't clean properly, spots on the livingroom carpet, dirty kitchen cupboards doors, dirty bath tub, smelly fournitures that look like from the 70's.. this place needs a good steaming /cleaning..
i had to buy febreeze and spray it every day..
cheap this place? if you add tax + daily fee? Looking at some websites when we were there, we could add 10 dollars a day and get the courtyard with beautiful room and Ocean view..
This hotel updated room were at 200 dollars + per night.... Cheap??
So, an advice, Look twice before booking this one...There are plenty of other hotels in the area with clean room and fournitures from this time.
btw, the beach accross the field isn't a proper beach, few meters of sand and too dangerous to swim there..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha natty2013,

I must say I was disappointed we let you down on our services. I can assure you that is not the norm and I will share your feedback with our team. I sincerely apologize as we do our best to ensure that our guests are satisfied and we strive to meet and exceed their expectations. We care very much about our guests and their comfort.

I do hope you will return and contact meslf or Patti (Assistant Manager) for a reservation. Thank you for your business and your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Plantation Hale Suites on the (Royal) Coconut Coast are a local favorite on the east shore of Kaua'i. The suites are in the Coconut Marketplace vicinity. And near to Kuhio Highway -- the path to everywhere.

The quiet, spacious suites are well-apportioned, the beds are great, the prices are a bargain, and both shopping & beaches are truly nearby. Family members have always praised their stays there.

If you're looking for a luxurious yet affordable spot closer to the heart of Kapa'a and its amenities, you will consider this to be a low-profile 'find' that will be impossible to beat. That's why their occupancy rate is so high.

So, book as far in advance as you can.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha Lew G,

I was thrilled to read all of your good comments about the property from the centralized location, beds, and luxurious rooms. I was pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations from the time you stepped into your suite.

Thanks again for posting a great comment about the Plantation hale Suites. Look forward to seeing you the next time you are on the beautiful island of Kauai. It is nice to receive such a good rating and comments from a Senior Reviewer. Mahalo

Aloha!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation Hale Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Hale Suites

Address: 525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Hale Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation Hale Suites is located in the heart of Kauai on the scenic Royal Coconut Coast and steps away from Waipouli Beach. Enjoy spacious one bedroom suite accommodations (738 sq ft) with the finest amenities such as full kitchens and private lanais. Suites sleep up to six people. High speed Wi Fi,Flat Screen LCD TV's with Cable (60 preimum channels)Blu-Ray DVD, Movie library,350 DVD's. Planation Hale has three outdoor pools,(4)picnic and BBQ areas, whirlpool spas, Shuffle Board. The resort offers several restaurants, full Concierge and Activities Desk, mini market, ATM, and a SPA. Located nearby, Golf, Tennis, Horseback Riding, Wailua River and Kayaking,Opaeka'a Falls, Waimea Canyon, Hiking Trails. Kauai's best location and value. great for a romantic getaway, or a family vacation. Our dedicated staff welcomes you with the true Aloha spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Loews Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Plantation Hale Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hale Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Kapaa Best Western
Plantation Hale Suites Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Hale Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.