We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money but also a bit misleading.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Hale Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation Hale Suites to your Saves list
Plantation Hale Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money but also a bit misleading.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The only think that stops me from giving this 5 stars is being told upon check in that I had to pay an additional 12 dollars amenity fee. This was the first time I knew about this. It was for things like wifi and DVD player that was, according to everything I had read, FREE. It also said that it covered parking and in room coffee that one would normally expect to be included in the room rate. Even with this extra cost it was still really good value but they should have been upfront about this charge and not say that item are free when they are not!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Aloha Ray M,

I am always disappointed when we do not have the opportunity to address guest issues in person when they are on property. I will certainly share your feedback with our staff and sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Our amenity fee is fully posted on our web-site and calculates into your reservation cost when reserved on the website. In addition it is collected at check in not check out. The fee offers great value. Wi-Fi, Parking, Kauai Coffee in suite daily, Safe, 30 minutes daily of Long Distance to either the US mainland or Canada., Local calls, Beach towels, Daily Maid service, Lobby computer usage, and as you pointed out our DVD library with over 400 movies, (latest releases) a 20% discount at the SPA, and bottled water upon arrival. Most resorts in our area have individual charges for many of these items and charge additional for parking, maid service every three days and a departure cleaning fee.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    221
    55
    28
    10
See reviews for
139
250
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

this place is so beautiful we were in the k building my husband has a bad knee and at first we were on the second level but too hard for him they were very gracious to put us on the first floor and the suite was very comfortable and very close to most everything and the pool was great too even though we did not spend alot of time in it.The suite had most everything we needed if we wanted to cook.We would go back again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Aloha Louise D,

I am glad you had a great time here at Plantation Hale Suites. Look forward to meeting you the next time you come back to the island of Kauai.

Thank you for posting such a great review of the property.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Overall, it was a good stay. Stayed for a full week with three small children, in an older suite. Detailed review and what they can do better: Maid service was pretty good. Upon arrival everything was ok except the bathroom sink was dirty. Showers were cleaned ok, not perfect. Some days there was still sand in the bathtub. Dresser and nightstand drawers made clothes kinda smell musty. The conditioning shampoo was just a shampoo, I would recommend bringing your own conditioner as they do not provide any and the shampoo wasn't great. The lotion was fantastic though, loved it. Kitchen is not fully stocked. They don't have a can opener nor a baking dish. There is an oven, but no dish to bake things in. We had to return all the canned stuff we had bought at Safeway. Other than all that, it was great! Service is nice. Everyone was so nice there at Plantation Hale. We will most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Aloha KO2005,

I am glad you had a good stay at the Plantation Hale Suites. I apoligize for the inconvinience with the kitchen, I will bring it up with the staff so this does not happen in the future. I am glad you enjoyed the staff and service. Please feel free to give me a call on your next visit to the propery...

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here during our time in Hawaii and had a decent stay. The rooms are older and showing their age but completely functional. The kitchen was a great asset and we used daily. They had a fantastic local coffee stocked in the rooms. The location is a little noisy with close proximity to the highway. There is plenty of shopping and food within walking distance and then the local expedia guide desk is helpful with planning other activities. There is a cultural office in the nearby shopping plaza that has many great activities to do. We recommend Hukilau Lanai and Oasis on the Beach as locations to Eat.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room not facing the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Aloha John S,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Plantation Hale Suites. I agree with you, the property is very centralized with a lot of shopping and dining just a walk away.

Thanks again for posting a your comments about the Plantation hale Suites. Look forward to seeing you the next time you are on the beautiful island of Kauai.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We just returned form our second trip to Kauai. We were there for the first time 5 years ago and stayed at Plantation Hale. Our first experience was so good we stayed there again this trip. We stayed in the same room this trip that we had on our first trip to Kauai. We found the Condo had been upgrade with new furnishings, new carpet, and completely repainted. To say the least they have done an excellent job on the renoviated units. A well done to them. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful The maid service is second to none for any Hotel or Condo Hotel. The location is perfect for going in any direction on Kauai. We wil not hestitate to stay there again. Their rates are excellent for the Island of Kauai.

Room Tip: We stayed in building C on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Aloha Travelers2014,

Let me start by saying welcome back to Plantation Hale Suites. Yes, we have just finished renovation in the interior of our suites. I will share your positive comments with our staff. I am so glad to hear that they were extremely helpful and that the maid service was second to none, always nice to hear the good comments about our special staff here at Plantation Hale Suites. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Kauai.

Mahalo....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

As we explored the east &north coast of Kauai with 8 family members Plantation Hale was the perfect place for us to stay. Kapaa was so close with teenage grand-daughters to explore and Lydgate & Donkey Beaches were so close by. The price of our suite ($158) was so reasonable and the suites were spacious, comfortably sleepng 4 people. (We rented two suites). It is worth paying the extra for an ocean-side view. The garden suites are too close to a busy highway and the difference in price is minimal. The staff were friendly and helpful. We are already planning our next trip to Kauai and Plantation Hale will be a definite choice.
Jeannie H , Victoria BC

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Aloha BCMagicMan,

I was thrilled to read your comments. Thank you for the recommendation and for acknowledging the staff. I agree they are a very nice. Plantation Hale is fortunate to have such a dedicated team. Mahalo for your business, we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our island.

Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Plantation Hale for two weeks. They have been renovating the suites and we were fortunate to get one of those. Everything worked well even though it is an older condo-hotel. The staff are great, warm, friendly and full of information, where to go, what to do. Our beds were comfortable and the maid service took care of our every need. I guess we're easy guests. Still, I have been there many times in the past and we were not disappointed on this trip either. Kaua'i is such a beautiful island. Plantation Hale is centrally located, easy access to all island activities and I must comment on the complimentary soap, shampoo and body lotion they provide; some great products. Really, I gotta say we had a wonderful time, were happy with our accommodations and the staff is simply marvelous. Plantation Hale gets five stars from us. I can only hope you'll have as enjoyable a time.

Room Tip: Room facing the ocean was our selection on the second floor. Garden rooms look appealing though I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Aloha Greg G,

I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Plantation Hale Suites, I will share your positive comments with the staff. I also wanted to say 'welcome back" as you have been here a few times already.

Thanks again for posting a great comment about the Plantation hale Suites. Look forward to seeing you the next time you are on the beautiful island of Kauai. It is nice to receive such a good rating and comments from a Senior Reviewer. Mahalo

Aloha!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation Hale Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Hale Suites

Address: 525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Hale Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation Hale Suites is located in the heart of Kauai on the scenic Royal Coconut Coast and steps away from Waipouli Beach. Enjoy spacious one bedroom suite accommodations (738 sq ft) with the finest amenities such as full kitchens and private lanais. Suites sleep up to six people. High speed Wi Fi,Flat Screen LCD TV's with Cable (60 preimum channels)Blu-Ray DVD, Movie library,350 DVD's. Planation Hale has three outdoor pools,(4)picnic and BBQ areas, whirlpool spas, Shuffle Board. The resort offers several restaurants, full Concierge and Activities Desk, mini market, ATM, and a SPA. Located nearby, Golf, Tennis, Horseback Riding, Wailua River and Kayaking,Opaeka'a Falls, Waimea Canyon, Hiking Trails. Kauai's best location and value. great for a romantic getaway, or a family vacation. Our dedicated staff welcomes you with the true Aloha spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plantation Hale Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hale Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Kapaa Best Western
Plantation Hale Suites Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Hale Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.