We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOME away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Hale Suites

Save Saved
You added Plantation Hale Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plantation Hale Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
Los Angeles, CA.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“HOME away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have just came from Kauai and I can not wait to go back but only if I stay at this little piece of heaven called Plantation Hale Suites. It is just like being at home.
By the minute you enter the property you can feel it: relaxation is awaiting you. The environment, the decor, the staff...just perfect.
This hotel/suites is located a short nice driving distance from the airport. The room we have, A15, was great, clean, spacious, nice garden view and a very little noisy only if you get bother easily with a light traffic flow (is an island, the traffic can not be bad so don' worry about it). Adjacent to it is the Coconut Marketplace and a few supermarkets within walking distance where you can buy your groceries and cook at your apartment since the kitchen is well equip with everything you may need in case you want to prepare a three course meal. Or breakfast for instance since the hotel provide you every day with some excellent Kauai's coffee (regular and decaf) that you can brew at your own convenience.
One thing we noticed and really like is that this property is very well accessible for handicapped people. The pool in the middle (they are three) is equip with an excellent lift and since we have a disable child in the family, this is something that really got our attention and have us very, very please.
The hotel staff where great. When we check in our experience with Alicia and Noe where as fantastic as when we check out with John Douponce and his assistant.
Before my trip, I pick this hotel based on the great reviews on Tripadvisor and I hope my comments does help somebody else as well.
Thanks Plantation Hale Suite for making our stay so pleasurable, especially to the housekeeping service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Aloha yomole.
Thank you for choosing us as your "Home away from home". Our team will be so pleased to know how much you and your family enjoyed your stay at our resort. It is always our goal to make our guests feel like they are at home. I agree with you our staff is wonderful and I will be sure to share your comments with them, and thank you for acknowledging Alicia and Noe. I enjoyed meeting you at check out. We look forward to seeing you and the family again soon. Mahalo for your business and the fantastic review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    192
    47
    25
    8
See reviews for
111
211
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel manager upgraded our room on check-in which was very nice. The location is very good as there is great shopping next door and a lot of good dinning within minutes. I am able to see the ocean from my room but it would be a couple minute walk. The staff here has been very friendly and overall the property would be considered a good quality economy hotel. My only complaint is that the shower smelled like dirty feet.
The traffic in Kapaa is heavy at times but not bad enough to keep you away. Next year we are having a family vacation to Kauai and I will recommend this hotel to my kids since they are more budget aware. If you want a quiet comfortable place to crash that will leave some cash in your pocket, this place will work.

Room Tip: Take a top floor. I can see the ocean from B building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Aloha spaz4plastik.
Thank you for the kind words. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and feel we were a good value .We look forward to seeing you and the family again soon. I was happy we were able to upgrade you and pleased you enjoyed our new suites. Mahalo for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldergrove, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Plantation Hale at the end of April. The layout was perfect for us as my husband and I were traveling with my mom. The suite gave us all sufficient privacy and it was also very clean. The location is perfect if you plan on checking out the whole island as we did. Since the main highway doesn't actually go completely around the island, the east shore is a great central point to access the other areas. The staff are friendly and helpful here, the grounds are nicely kept and the nearby shops make it handy for stocking up the kitchen. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Aloha Kaliyan.
It's wonderful to hear that you, your husband and mom had such a nice stay with us. I don't think I could describe our resort or location any better! We are lucky to have such a nice product, and even a better staff to take care of our guests. We look forward to seeing everyone on a return visit. Mahalo for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Platation Hale was lovely. The staff is friendly and very helpful! cleaning folks as well. This is our 8th time in Kapaa and first time in this condo and we highly recommend if you are looking for clean, good location and price:)) Its a great value. Easy to walk to restaurants and shops.
Mahalo Half Moon Bay CA

Room Tip: Bldgs. C, F and J some face the ocean or pool and are lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Aloha vitasweeta.
Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear you had a lovely stay with us and that our team took care of all your needs. I really appreciate your recommendation and hope we will see you on your 9th visit to Kauai. mahalo for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Once again I returned to Plantation Hale for this years holiday. We decided to take a Deluxe Suite and were very pleased with the decoration, amenities and above all service. Thanks again to the staff for making our stay perfect as always; we will tell everyone that the must stay with you when visiting Kauai!

Best regards, Greg

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Aloha Greg E.
Thank you for being a return guest. I am pleased you enjoyed our new Deluxe Suite, and I see you found Lappert's. It is a local Hawaii must...Mahalo for your patronage. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagle, Idaho, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We think the suite is clean, comfortable and makes us feel at home. This trip has been a dream on my bucket list since I can remember and now for our 35th wedding ann. I talked hubby into it. He came reluctantly, but is having a great time. We loved being right across from the beach/ocean. The accommodations are great, comfy and clean.
The only thing we would change is to get that Rooster to crow at 7 am instead of at 5-5:30 AM!
Dawn, a housekeeper, is top notch! She really goes above and beyond and we can always tell when she cleans our suite. She is really special and deserves recognition for her fine efforts in taking care of our home away from home.
Thank You Dawn! You are so awesome!!!!

Room Tip: The corner suite has great cross ventilation- never needed to run air conditioner or fans. Morning S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha Anna S.
Thank you kindly for the great words. We are so happy to have been included on your bucket list for your 35th anniversary. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in spite of the Rooster. Dawn is a terrific member of our team. Thank you for recognizing her. She is "awesome". We do hope we will see you again soon and on behalf of our team. Happy Anniversary. Mahalo for your business.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stay at this place all the time. The staff is great, the place is clean, Beautiful and relaxing. Love that they have 3 pools to choose from. If you want just peace and quite and there are kids at one pool, you can move to another. The new room upgrades are great. Love the location almost 1/2 to any part of the Island.

Room Tip: This place is a great value. Look for their specials on differant sights as you can get some real de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Aloha PH.
Thank you for your great review. I am pleased you enjoyed our resort and location. I agree, we do have a great staff and I will share your comments with them. Hope to see you again soon. Mahalo for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plantation Hale Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Hale Suites

Address: 525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Hale Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation Hale Suites is located in the heart of Kauai on the scenic Royal Coconut Coast and steps away from Waipouli Beach. Enjoy spacious one bedroom suite accommodations (738 sq ft) with the finest amenities such as full kitchens and private lanais. Suites sleep up to six people. High speed Wi Fi,Flat Screen LCD TV's with Cable (60 preimum channels)Blu-Ray DVD, Movie library,350 DVD's. Planation Hale has three outdoor pools,(4)picnic and BBQ areas, whirlpool spas, Shuffle Board. The resort offers several restaurants, full Concierge and Activities Desk, mini market, ATM, and a SPA. Located nearby, Golf, Tennis, Horseback Riding, Wailua River and Kayaking,Opaeka'a Falls, Waimea Canyon, Hiking Trails. Kauai's best location and value. great for a romantic getaway, or a family vacation. Our dedicated staff welcomes you with the true Aloha spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Loews Hotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Plantation Hale Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hale Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Kapaa Best Western
Plantation Hale Suites Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Hale Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.