We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive Alternative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Hale Suites

Save Saved
You added Plantation Hale Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawaii Connection Official Website
and 7 more sites!
Plantation Hale Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Inexpensive Alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Plantation Hale is an older resort surrounded by the newer, fancier, and more expensive places. It is an easy walk to the beach and food/shopping at the Coconut Grove Center. The staff was friendly and helpful. The biggest drawback is that the wireless does not work in certain parts of the facility, including our room. There are provisions in the rooms for hardwiring laptops, but that did no work with an iPadd.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Aloha Tim F.
Thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt we are a good value, and offered the right location. I believe we have now corrected the WI FI problem. We just installed an upgrade of bandwidth in January to handle I Pads, and smart phones. Over the past couple weeks we have had some problems. Our vendor went through the entire property and quite honestly we had a few modems off line. I apologize that you had a problem. Thank you very much for your business.Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    183
    45
    25
    8
See reviews for
104
197
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel is very nice- it is newly remodeled and is wonderful. Everything was very clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly, especially Noe and the manager John. It is centrally located to all of the Island and is convenient to groceries, shopping and a GREAT restaurant- the Hukilau is right across the street and there are places close by for happy hour with entertainment every night. A great location for walking to the beach to see the sunrise.

Room Tip: rooms on the ocean side are quieter, we had a corner suite on the second floor, it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Aloha JcoloG.
It was so nice meeting you both. I am so pleased you enjoyed Plantation Hale. On behalf of our team thank you so much for your great review. I have shared your shout out with Noe. It was nice of you to acknowledge her. We were pleased to be your home base while in Kauai, and look forward to seeing you again soon. Watch for our upcoming AMAZON sales. Mahalo for your comments and business. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

To start, this property is so perfectly located to the North Shore and the West side of the island and the airport. Starbucks is 2 blocks away, Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf is 1 block away. Both of these are located in separate grocery store parking lots. There is many many places to eat really great food within walking or short driving. Needless to say, this property also offers a full fridge, and stove. We basically only ate out for dinners. They also have BBQ grills. The pools and hot tubs are very clean. The property it's self is magnificently manicured. We were very pleased with everything. The beach is a little walk through a field, but there is a lot of reef, and a man drown during our stay. I would not recommend getting into the ocean in all of Kauai unless you have been given a green light by many, many many locals!!!! I hope your Kauai vacation is a blast too!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo MignonT.
We are thrilled that you had a "blast" staying with us. It sounds as if you not only enjoyed the resort but found some of my favorite restaurants also.I too like Kauai Pasta, the food is great and reasonable. I also agree with you that our location on the Royal Coconut Coast is central to anywhere you wish to go on the Island. We very much look forward to your return. Thank you for your business. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at the Plantation Hale in mid-April and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff were welcoming and helpful, the suite we stayed in was newly refurbished and quite nice. As I understand it, these are condos that the owners rent to travelers when not occupied, and they are equipped with everything needed for a comfortable stay. Our suite looked out toward the ocean, which was a short walk away, perhaps 200 yards. There was free Wi-Fi, BlueRay players and flat screen TV's in the living room and bedroom. Shopping and restaurants were close by as well. We would stay again.

Now the downside: the pools (3) were very close to the busy highway, making a relaxing afternoon in the sun difficult due to noise and exhaust. While getting to the beach was easy, there were no chairs/loungers available to borrow on the property (you can rent them from various locations in Kapaa). There was a lot of road construction while we were there, snarling traffic and making travel less than pleasant.

All in all, we had a great time, and would recommend this resort/hotel with the following caveats: Make sure you secure a "scenic view" and ask for a recently redecorated unit. Rent beach chairs at the beginning of your stay to make your beach time more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a Scenic View, not only for the view but for the quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Aloha Knitnurse.
Thank you for the great review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and feel you received a good value. Sorry for the traffic. The county is building a seven mile bike and walking path along the ocean. I hope you had the opportunity to experience what is now complete. They will be done with the bridge section south of Plantation Hale soon. When completed the path will be the only one of its kind in the state of Hawaii. Mahalo for your feedback and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Suite had been recently redecorated. Clean, quiet and good location. Close to grocery outlets. Although a bit far to the beach, it didn't matter since the beach was not very good. Bettter beaches were a short drive away. Concierge was very helpful with planning activities and sightseeing. Only drawback was the wifi; could not connect but the Hale had free access to a computer. Staff was most accommodating and helpful. The new Weber barbeques were great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Aloha Steve C.
Thank you for the nice review and acknowledging our staff members. I am so pleased you enjoyed our new suites and BBQ areas. I do apologize for the WI FI. It is being worked on right now building by building. We upgraded our system in January and added more bandwidth at significant expense. I am not sure what the issue is however it will be corrected. Mahalo for your business, we hope to see you again soon. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Plantation Hale was a wonderful hotel. They have all suites, for the price of a hotel room, and they were nice suites! The hotel staff was lovely, they had free movie rentals, and they also helped us plan our activities as soon as we got there. There are three pools and bbqs! It is located in Kapa'a, which is in the middle of the East of the island, right between the beautiful southern beaches and the adventurous north shore. The hotel is right next to Coconut Marketplace and the Wailua river, as well as good restaurants. It's definitely the perfect place to stay if you're staying for a longer time, since you can cook. Made our honeymoon that much more magical.

Room Tip: ABCD are the closest buildings to the front desk and have a pools nearby. These are also the closes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Aloha Teresa H.
I was so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. It is really special to us to hear we made your Honeymoon magical. Also, thank you for the shout out to our staff. I will share your comments with them. We hope we will see you again soon. Congratulations. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed there in April 2013 with two kids - 9 and 6 years old. We stayed in a very nice, clean and spacious room with full kitchen, balcony, one bedroom appt. We had a pool access. The ocean is pretty close - 1 min walk, but it is not safe for swimming. There are two another hotels close by with restaurants and kids friendly place to swim. we loved the location - East part of the island. So e went both South and North of Kauai.

Room Tip: Take an ocean view or the farthest room from the highway if possible. Building F is pretty quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Aloha Malyasha,
Wow! What a nice review, so happy you and the family enjoyed your stay and our location. It sounds as if you had ample opportunity to enjoy our special island. We hope to see you and the family again soon. Thank you so much for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plantation Hale Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Hale Suites

Also Known As:
Plantation Hale Hotel Kapaa
Plantation Hale Hotel
Best Western Kapaa
Kapaa Best Western
Plantation Hale Suites Kauai/Kapaa
Address: 525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kapaa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Hale Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation Hale Suites is located in the heart of Kauai on the scenic Royal Coconut Coast and steps away from Waipouli Beach. Enjoy spacious one bedroom suite accommodations (738 sq ft) with the finest amenities such as full kitchens and private lanais. Suites sleep up to six people. High speed Wi Fi,Flat Screen LCD TV's with Cable (60 preimum channels)Blu-Ray DVD, Movie library,350 DVD's. Planation Hale has three outdoor pools,(4)picnic and BBQ areas, whirlpool spas, Shuffle Board. The resort offers several restaurants, full Concierge and Activities Desk, mini market, ATM, and a SPA. Located nearby, Golf, Tennis, Horseback Riding, Wailua River and Kayaking,Opaeka'a Falls, Waimea Canyon, Hiking Trails. Kauai's best location and value. great for a romantic getaway, or a family vacation. Our dedicated staff welcomes you with the true Aloha spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Venere so you can book your Plantation Hale Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Hale Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.