We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway, clean, comfortable, good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Hale Suites

Save Saved
You added Plantation Hale Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plantation Hale Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice getaway, clean, comfortable, good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at the Plantation Hale in mid-April and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff were welcoming and helpful, the suite we stayed in was newly refurbished and quite nice. As I understand it, these are condos that the owners rent to travelers when not occupied, and they are equipped with everything needed for a comfortable stay. Our suite looked out toward the ocean, which was a short walk away, perhaps 200 yards. There was free Wi-Fi, BlueRay players and flat screen TV's in the living room and bedroom. Shopping and restaurants were close by as well. We would stay again.

Now the downside: the pools (3) were very close to the busy highway, making a relaxing afternoon in the sun difficult due to noise and exhaust. While getting to the beach was easy, there were no chairs/loungers available to borrow on the property (you can rent them from various locations in Kapaa). There was a lot of road construction while we were there, snarling traffic and making travel less than pleasant.

All in all, we had a great time, and would recommend this resort/hotel with the following caveats: Make sure you secure a "scenic view" and ask for a recently redecorated unit. Rent beach chairs at the beginning of your stay to make your beach time more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a Scenic View, not only for the view but for the quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Aloha Knitnurse.
Thank you for the great review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and feel you received a good value. Sorry for the traffic. The county is building a seven mile bike and walking path along the ocean. I hope you had the opportunity to experience what is now complete. They will be done with the bridge section south of Plantation Hale soon. When completed the path will be the only one of its kind in the state of Hawaii. Mahalo for your feedback and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    194
    47
    25
    8
See reviews for
112
211
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Suite had been recently redecorated. Clean, quiet and good location. Close to grocery outlets. Although a bit far to the beach, it didn't matter since the beach was not very good. Bettter beaches were a short drive away. Concierge was very helpful with planning activities and sightseeing. Only drawback was the wifi; could not connect but the Hale had free access to a computer. Staff was most accommodating and helpful. The new Weber barbeques were great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Aloha Steve C.
Thank you for the nice review and acknowledging our staff members. I am so pleased you enjoyed our new suites and BBQ areas. I do apologize for the WI FI. It is being worked on right now building by building. We upgraded our system in January and added more bandwidth at significant expense. I am not sure what the issue is however it will be corrected. Mahalo for your business, we hope to see you again soon. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Plantation Hale was a wonderful hotel. They have all suites, for the price of a hotel room, and they were nice suites! The hotel staff was lovely, they had free movie rentals, and they also helped us plan our activities as soon as we got there. There are three pools and bbqs! It is located in Kapa'a, which is in the middle of the East of the island, right between the beautiful southern beaches and the adventurous north shore. The hotel is right next to Coconut Marketplace and the Wailua river, as well as good restaurants. It's definitely the perfect place to stay if you're staying for a longer time, since you can cook. Made our honeymoon that much more magical.

Room Tip: ABCD are the closest buildings to the front desk and have a pools nearby. These are also the closes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Aloha Teresa H.
I was so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. It is really special to us to hear we made your Honeymoon magical. Also, thank you for the shout out to our staff. I will share your comments with them. We hope we will see you again soon. Congratulations. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed there in April 2013 with two kids - 9 and 6 years old. We stayed in a very nice, clean and spacious room with full kitchen, balcony, one bedroom appt. We had a pool access. The ocean is pretty close - 1 min walk, but it is not safe for swimming. There are two another hotels close by with restaurants and kids friendly place to swim. we loved the location - East part of the island. So e went both South and North of Kauai.

Room Tip: Take an ocean view or the farthest room from the highway if possible. Building F is pretty quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Aloha Malyasha,
Wow! What a nice review, so happy you and the family enjoyed your stay and our location. It sounds as if you had ample opportunity to enjoy our special island. We hope to see you and the family again soon. Thank you so much for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We recently were able to take our son, daughter-in-law and three grand children to Kauai on a one week vacation. We found this hotel on a living social deal on line.
The room was a one bedroom with a living room and a small kitchen. We found it to be very clean and recently redecorated.
The staff were all very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Only two stories but quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Aloha pattyshirlene. I am so pleased you and the family enjoyed your visit to Kauai.We do have a wonderful staff and I will share your comments with them. mahalo for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just arrived home from spending a wonderful six days in Kauai. Plantation Hale was not only a great value but the location was perfect for visiting the Kilauea Point National Wildlife Refuge on the north shore as well as Waimea Canyon on the west shore. We did not have an ocean facing room which was not crucial to our stay since we were out of the room much of the time. However, the room accommodation was spacious and well kept with a separate bedroom, queen hideaway, kitchen with dishes, cookware and necessary utensils if you chose to cook. There are even barbecues available. Walking to the beach was only a short walk across the field where we enjoyed the bird life along the way. We did not swim at this location due to strong currents but enjoyed laying out. One night we ate dinner at the Hukilau Lanai Restaurant across the street. Make sure you make reservations. We took advantage of their Tasting Menu with wine pairings for $40 which I thought was very reasonable. Also walked over to the Coconut Grove Market Place for some great shave ice. Thank you to the concierge who helped arrange our kayak trip and my daughter's surf lesson in Po'ipu. Those adventures were just plain fun experiences. Special thanks to the housekeeping services who always had a clean room and supplies for us when we returned. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel at home. If you are looking for spa services or a golf course at this hotel don't come here. But if you are looking for a place where Hawaiian hospitality reigns this is the place. Bottom line: I would definitely come back to this gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: We liked being on the second floor but there were no elevators which for some would be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Aloha Chang Yu. What a nice review, thank you so much. On behalf of our team we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is always our goal to have our guests feel that they received a good value choosing Plantation Hale Suites. We have so many nice restaurants close by however the Hukilau is one of my favorites. Being located on the Royal Coconut Coast is the perfect location to enjoy so many of Kauai's wonderful activities, and it sounds as if you had the opportunity to do so. I will share your comments with our Concierge and Guest Relations staff. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon. Mahalo Nui Loa for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a complex of several large buildings.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The apartment was clean, with good furniture. The kitchen equipment is rather dated, but everything worked just fine. Parking, internet and local calls are all free. There is a safe in the room, but you have to go to reception to get a key for it, at a cost of $1.50 per day including tax.

There are good restaurants nearby if you don’t want to cook your own food. It is within walking distance to a variety of stores, including a supermarket.

For the price, this is excellent value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Aloha skybee. That you for your recommendation and review of our resort. We very much appreciate your sharing with our friends at Tripadvisor. Hope we will see you again soon. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plantation Hale Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Hale Suites

Address: 525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Hale Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation Hale Suites is located in the heart of Kauai on the scenic Royal Coconut Coast and steps away from Waipouli Beach. Enjoy spacious one bedroom suite accommodations (738 sq ft) with the finest amenities such as full kitchens and private lanais. Suites sleep up to six people. High speed Wi Fi,Flat Screen LCD TV's with Cable (60 preimum channels)Blu-Ray DVD, Movie library,350 DVD's. Planation Hale has three outdoor pools,(4)picnic and BBQ areas, whirlpool spas, Shuffle Board. The resort offers several restaurants, full Concierge and Activities Desk, mini market, ATM, and a SPA. Located nearby, Golf, Tennis, Horseback Riding, Wailua River and Kayaking,Opaeka'a Falls, Waimea Canyon, Hiking Trails. Kauai's best location and value. great for a romantic getaway, or a family vacation. Our dedicated staff welcomes you with the true Aloha spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Loews Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Plantation Hale Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hale Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Kapaa Best Western
Plantation Hale Suites Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Hale Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.