We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Hale Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation Hale Suites to your Saves list
Plantation Hale Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We recently were able to take our son, daughter-in-law and three grand children to Kauai on a one week vacation. We found this hotel on a living social deal on line.
The room was a one bedroom with a living room and a small kitchen. We found it to be very clean and recently redecorated.
The staff were all very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Only two stories but quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Aloha pattyshirlene. I am so pleased you and the family enjoyed your visit to Kauai.We do have a wonderful staff and I will share your comments with them. mahalo for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    228
    58
    29
    11
See reviews for
143
255
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just arrived home from spending a wonderful six days in Kauai. Plantation Hale was not only a great value but the location was perfect for visiting the Kilauea Point National Wildlife Refuge on the north shore as well as Waimea Canyon on the west shore. We did not have an ocean facing room which was not crucial to our stay since we were out of the room much of the time. However, the room accommodation was spacious and well kept with a separate bedroom, queen hideaway, kitchen with dishes, cookware and necessary utensils if you chose to cook. There are even barbecues available. Walking to the beach was only a short walk across the field where we enjoyed the bird life along the way. We did not swim at this location due to strong currents but enjoyed laying out. One night we ate dinner at the Hukilau Lanai Restaurant across the street. Make sure you make reservations. We took advantage of their Tasting Menu with wine pairings for $40 which I thought was very reasonable. Also walked over to the Coconut Grove Market Place for some great shave ice. Thank you to the concierge who helped arrange our kayak trip and my daughter's surf lesson in Po'ipu. Those adventures were just plain fun experiences. Special thanks to the housekeeping services who always had a clean room and supplies for us when we returned. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel at home. If you are looking for spa services or a golf course at this hotel don't come here. But if you are looking for a place where Hawaiian hospitality reigns this is the place. Bottom line: I would definitely come back to this gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: We liked being on the second floor but there were no elevators which for some would be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Aloha Chang Yu. What a nice review, thank you so much. On behalf of our team we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is always our goal to have our guests feel that they received a good value choosing Plantation Hale Suites. We have so many nice restaurants close by however the Hukilau is one of my favorites. Being located on the Royal Coconut Coast is the perfect location to enjoy so many of Kauai's wonderful activities, and it sounds as if you had the opportunity to do so. I will share your comments with our Concierge and Guest Relations staff. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon. Mahalo Nui Loa for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a complex of several large buildings.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The apartment was clean, with good furniture. The kitchen equipment is rather dated, but everything worked just fine. Parking, internet and local calls are all free. There is a safe in the room, but you have to go to reception to get a key for it, at a cost of $1.50 per day including tax.

There are good restaurants nearby if you don’t want to cook your own food. It is within walking distance to a variety of stores, including a supermarket.

For the price, this is excellent value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Aloha skybee. That you for your recommendation and review of our resort. We very much appreciate your sharing with our friends at Tripadvisor. Hope we will see you again soon. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We booked our trip to Kauai after receiving a Travel Best Bets email with this great deal for flights and hotel, not knowing too much, except that you possibly couldn't go wrong going anywhere in Hawaii. We absolutely loved the hotel (and we will go back!!). Our room was great, it had been updated, better than the pictures online, but I checked out some online through VRBO and I don't think all suites are updated. It had all the ammenities we needed, was quiet and we had one of the best views of the ocean..We liked having the seperate bedroom since we have two kids that went to bed and it was great for naps too.

The staff was amazing and our cleaning ladies left extra lotions for our daughter because she loved it so much!

The location was great as well, we toured the entire island and found this hotel to be the best spot for us to hike and find beaches(really nothing was that far of a drive, even to the other side of the island!) . We never went to the same beach twice because there were so many to visit! We have already made lists of things we want to do next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha MNB2006. We are so pleased you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for pointing out our great location and staff. We receive many positive comments on our new local Hawaii lotions. I will share your comments with our team. We are also very proud that Plantation Hale Suites was named in the April edition of Hawaii Magazine as in the top 20 as the best of the best for budget hotels on Kauai. Thank you so much for the great review and your business. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A nice vacation location in Kapaa, Kauai. The suites include a full kitchen and lanai. Furnishings are a little dated and worn but the units are clean and the hotel is located a short walk from the beach. The "scenic" side of the buildings have a view of the ocean. Lots of room for a family and the price is reasonable. Nearby is a small shopping center with a farmer's market. Restaurants are available at nearby hotels. We got a good deal for five nights and a rental car!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha TnEShlaes. So nice to hear you had a great time with your family. It sounds as if you bought our AMAZON package, That is a terrific value. Our suites are perfect for families. I will share your review with our team. I do hope we will see you again. It is obvious from your Top Contributor status you are a frequent traveler. Paris is one of my favorite cities also. Mahalo for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here from Mar. 10-15 an thoroughly enjoyed the spacious room and location. Sierra at the front desk was very helpful. One of the concierges, Kiana, was great--she managed to obtain a Napali sunset cruise with 2 days notice--she phoned 4 different companies before she landed it for us. Her recommendations were spot on--I would certainly do the Wailua river guide (it features some outstanding entertainment) again. BTW, we went to Eggberts in the Coconut Marketplace for 3 days--the macadamia pancakes are addictive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha gil014. I agree with you the Macadamia Nut pancakes are a must!. Thank you for acknowledging both Sierra and Kiana. We are fortunate to have such a good staff. I will make sure they see your comments. It sounds as if you had a chance to see some of our beautiful island. There is so much more to see we hope you will return soon. Mahalo for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallon, NV
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were luck enough to get in on a promotion through Amazon.com for this site. Got the suite, car rental, and $25.00 voucher for $899.00 for five days in Kauai. Never would have thought to try this spot except for the promotion. Rooms were large and clean with a great view of the ocean. Couldn't have asked for more, hotel staff was very helpful and courteous. We would recommend this facility to anyone coming to Kauai.

The only little problem is the the hot and cold water knobs were switched in the kitchen, other than that it was a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha MRducker. Thank you for the kind words. AMAZON is a great partner and their package is a great value. We hope you will take advantage of future AMAZON sales with us. Thanks for the recommendation and acknowlidging the staff. I also appreciate the heads up on the hot and cold knobs. Engineering has corrected it. Mahalo for your business.Watch for the AMAZON sales. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation Hale Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Hale Suites

Address: 525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Hale Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation Hale Suites is located in the heart of Kauai on the scenic Royal Coconut Coast and steps away from Waipouli Beach. Enjoy spacious one bedroom suite accommodations (738 sq ft) with the finest amenities such as full kitchens and private lanais. Suites sleep up to six people. High speed Wi Fi,Flat Screen LCD TV's with Cable (60 preimum channels)Blu-Ray DVD, Movie library,350 DVD's. Planation Hale has three outdoor pools,(4)picnic and BBQ areas, whirlpool spas, Shuffle Board. The resort offers several restaurants, full Concierge and Activities Desk, mini market, ATM, and a SPA. Located nearby, Golf, Tennis, Horseback Riding, Wailua River and Kayaking,Opaeka'a Falls, Waimea Canyon, Hiking Trails. Kauai's best location and value. great for a romantic getaway, or a family vacation. Our dedicated staff welcomes you with the true Aloha spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Plantation Hale Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hale Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Kapaa Best Western
Plantation Hale Suites Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Hale Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.