We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Hale Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation Hale Suites to your Saves list
Plantation Hale Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great value great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

we stayed and found this to be a nice place, it is older; and thus is dated. we had a lot of space with the separate bedroom really comfortable king bed nice grounds near to ocean walks and market / shops.
We had minor issues and requests we we always looked after by friendly and helpful staff. i would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Aloha angie236. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Plantation Hake Suites. Thank you for the wonderful comments and your business. Happy New Year from the Hale team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    209
    49
    27
    9
See reviews for
130
236
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We loved staying at the Plantation Hale on Kauai. The rooms were nice with 2 double beds and a hide-a-bed in the living room. We loved the quiet atmosphere and the beach being just a little ways away. Plantation Hale was a great starting point for all the sights we saw and easy to get to. The people there were so very friendly and helpful. They provided for all our needs from a few missing items in the kitchen to telling us where our family member was getting married! We would definitely stay there again! We loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Aloha Jennifer M. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and our location. It sounds as if you made it to the wedding on time. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes in the New Year. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahiawa, Hawaii
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay in a newly renovated room! The decorations were tasteful - nice and simple and complimented the roomy suite. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, I had several restful nights sleep. The location is convenient, the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We spent a week at Plantation Hale on Kauai and found it most satisfactory. The staff was very helpful and even brought us a larger coffee pot and quickly replaced the malfunctioning remote for the tv. We appreciated the person on duty daily who could advise us as to what to see and when and actually made reservations for us. The condo was spacious, very clean, and well-maintained, the pool area was lovely, and the ground floor deck overlooking the garden area was very nice too. This resort is in a super location too. All in all, this place offers good value for your travel dollar and I would definitely stay here again. Barbara Touchette

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Aloha Barbara T.We truly appreciate your comments, and I am so happy our team responded to your requests, and more important that you had a great stay with us. We hope you will return soon. Mahalo for your business. Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I found the location resort to be very comfortable, staff was very friendly and accommodating . The resort is steps away from the ocean and beach. Nice quiet beaches. Resort close to Kapaa stores and restaurants. I truly enjoyed my experience and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Aloha MP7535. Thank you for the wonderful review. We very much appreciate your comments and business. Happy Holidays from the Plantation Hale family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogue River, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I recently had the misfortune to be flooded out of my room when the water heater in an adjoining long-term resident's room imploded in the middle of the night. Mr. Douponce, the Resort GM, went above and beyond resolving the emergency and getting me other accommodations for the remainder of my stay, even though not required to do so.

The friendliness and helpful assistance of other staff made my stay enjoyable, especially Steve Carvalho, the Maintenance Mgr, who responds promptly and professionally to guest concerns. Front Desk staff were very helpful, always with a smile regardless of the request.

The resort is conveniently located, adjoining the Coconut Marketplace, the best restaurant on the island (IMHO, the Hukilau Lanai), and a short walk to Trees Lounge with live music six nights a week. Both major food stores are a short walk away. For bike enthusiasts like me, the resort's convenient location to the East Side's Multi-Use Path was a sweet bonus.

Stay there -- it's a value and well worth seeking out.

Room Tip: Upstairs units are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Aloha Barry, We were very happy to help you out during a difficult time. Thank you for the shout out for Steven and the staff. I will share your comments with them, Look forward to seeing you back on the island soon. Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Our suite was perfect for our child-free vacation. It was modest luxury; some of the furnishings were a little outdated style-wise but it was clear that updates were occurring (some furniture was brand new). We weren't interested in super luxurious since we weren't in the room during the day anyway (out at the beaches, hiking, tubing the irrigation ditches, etc.). The staff was very accommodating and friendly, having no problem with us adding a guest at the last minute (rooms can take up to 6 people and the cost is per suite, not person).

We used the kitchen to have breakfast every morning plus a few snacks and dinners.

The beds and pull out sofa were all very comfortable.

Having the DVD/Blue-Ray movie library was an unexpected highlight--we watched Jurassic Park 1 and 2 just for fun at night since they were filmed in Kauai.

Another great thing is that the spas were actually HOT, not luke warm as at most hotels. This was great for our muscles after a full day of hiking on the Na Pali Coast.

We will definitely be staying here again next time we visit (with our kids in tow!).

Room Tip: Both floors (ground the second) offer nice views. We were on the ground floor facing the road but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you Julie B. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and posted some pictures.It sounds as if you were able to see a great deal of our paradise. We hope you have fond memories of Kauai, and will return soon. Mahalo for your business and comments. Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation Hale Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Hale Suites

Address: 525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Hale Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation Hale Suites is located in the heart of Kauai on the scenic Royal Coconut Coast and steps away from Waipouli Beach. Enjoy spacious one bedroom suite accommodations (738 sq ft) with the finest amenities such as full kitchens and private lanais. Suites sleep up to six people. High speed Wi Fi,Flat Screen LCD TV's with Cable (60 preimum channels)Blu-Ray DVD, Movie library,350 DVD's. Planation Hale has three outdoor pools,(4)picnic and BBQ areas, whirlpool spas, Shuffle Board. The resort offers several restaurants, full Concierge and Activities Desk, mini market, ATM, and a SPA. Located nearby, Golf, Tennis, Horseback Riding, Wailua River and Kayaking,Opaeka'a Falls, Waimea Canyon, Hiking Trails. Kauai's best location and value. great for a romantic getaway, or a family vacation. Our dedicated staff welcomes you with the true Aloha spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plantation Hale Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hale Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Kapaa Best Western
Plantation Hale Suites Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Hale Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.