We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't want to leave.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Hale Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Plantation Hale Suites to your Saves list
Plantation Hale Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“You won't want to leave.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had a great time and I have to say the staff were all exceptional - so friendly and helpful. I would name names but there's not a one who doesn't deserve mention. The condo was very convenient for our late-night arrival at Lihue airport. It was attractive, comfortable and well equipped; how often does a rental place even have a bread knife and a blender? There were a couple of maintenance problems that were fixed as soon as we mentioned them; when we had a problem with a DVD that we borrowed free from the front desk late on Saturday, they replaced the DVD player on Sunday morning. They need to know there's a problem before they can fix it, but the response is very swift
We were particularly impressed by the strong and free Wifi signal.
We like to walk, rather than drive, so one drawback is that it was hard to walk anywhere but to the beach and to a few places nearby. However the government is working on making the island more pedestrian friendly by putting in more walking paths. This hotel is in a good location for day trips to anywhere on Kauai. We'll stay there again. You can get one King bed or two smaller beds, but all units appear to be one-bedroom, which is another drawback for us (who have older children), tho not for everyone. No dishwasher.
We didn't swim much as we were there in December, a month of heavy seas. The hotel pools are not heated, so the water can be cold on those rare cool days. Note: there is a small farmers' market next door at Coconut Grove on Tuesday and Thursday mornings from 9 am-noon. We chose fresh local pineapple, passion fruit and a variety of different kinds of bananas at this market. Unfortunately this market was not on the helpful list of farmers' markets that the hotel gave us when we checked in. The staff gave us good information on places to go, things to do and how to tell if local fruit is at its peak. All in all, we lost our heart to Kauai and Plantation Hale (pronounced "Ha-le", it means "house".).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Aloha BNXT. Wow, such wonderful comments. We always try to exceed expectations.I am so pleased our team was so responsive. We will have the list of local Farmers Markets updated. We hope you will return soon, and wish you and your loved ones a wonderful and Safe Holiday Season. Thank you for sharing your experience with our friends at Tripadvisor, and for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    201
    48
    25
    8
See reviews for
121
225
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Illinois
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The price was right and it was perfect for me. The staff was nice. The room was huge. I thought it would be small but there was a bedroom with 2 beds, a kitchen, a bathroom, and a living room. It was awesome! You definitely get your money's worth. The beach across the street was nice too

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Hale suites location is awesome. Close to everything, central to the cool locations.Services are great. Clean place. Simple.To top it off-Nagel the expedia expert helped us planned,organized, and made appointments for us! She was very helpful and very good at her job! Highly recommendable!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Aloha Mim 16. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We think our location on the Royal Coconut Coast is a winner also. I will share your comments with Nagel at Activities Desk. Mahalo for staying with us, we wish you and your family a wonderful Holiday Season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Grove, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We booked through Expedia and had no problems. Our suite J14 was comfortable and functional. The beach, shopping, dining etc. were close. It is in a good location to access all parts of the island. The only maintenance problem was handled promptly and with no fuss. The pools and hot tub were nice and close, as was the beach. Erin the concierge was wonderful and very helpful, as were the front desk staff. It was definitely worth getting the ocean view deluxe suite. We would definitely stay here again, and probably will.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, British Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Location of the former Best Western is excellant. We were next door to places to eat, shop, etc....
We walked to Kapaa on the street and also on the beach. Only a few miles to the trailhead to hike " Sleeping Giant Mountain ". Any issues we had were dealt within minutes. Our suite E15 was roomy, comfortable with an outdated kitchen and washroom. " Noe " on the front desk was first class. The gentleman that also served us did a fine job. We were there for a seniors slopitch tourney and spent two weeks at the Plantation Hale. Do rent a vehicle to get around to both ends of the Island and visit the Coffee Plantation on the west side and brouse in Koloa Old town and Hanapepe Old town. In Kapaa a gem is the small Verde Mexican Restaurant , with fantastic, huge burrito"s. And the staff are great and allow meal splitting. The hotel pool was very good. A barbecue on site was also available and our team did make use of. Mahalo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Aloha Kanucklehead. Thank you for the nice comments, and for acknowledging Noe. I think we have a friendly team here always willing to go the extra mile. It sounds as if you had a great time exploring our beautiful island. I will check the kitchen in E-15, we are renovating and re-placing kitchen items as needed. Thank you for bringing that to my attention. I want to wish you and your family a very Happy and Safe Holiday Season. Mahalo for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona Lake, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The location is ideal for heading to the north side OR to the west side of Kauai. We did both. We had to do some cooking on our own do to food allergies, so this place was fantastic featuring a kitchen, dining table, and living room. The hot tub and pool were a minute away and the walk to the ocean takes about two minutes. We WILL go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Aloha 55Bruce. Thank you for your wonderful comments which I shared with our team.We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.On behalf of the team I want to wish you and your family a Safe and Happy Holiday Season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We booked our trip through Orbitz and visited May 2012. We were there for 10 days and thoroughly enjoyed the location, pools, hot tubs, etc. It's a very quiet place with wonderful maid service and security. There are washers and dryers for each building and they were reasonable and worked well. As others have said, the grocery stores are nearby as well as other stores and restaurants. I loved the little doves that would come around and keep you company if you were sitting outside. The chickens are fantastic as well. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. In fact, we're talking about buying one of the condos. I'm finalizing plans right now to go back in next month, December. I can't wait!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our corner room in building F. We faced the pool and were steps from jumping right in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Aloha Bluepacifica. Mahalo for the great comments and thank you for being such a loyal guest. F-Building is one of my favorites. Please let me know personally when you have your reservation, or contact me. I will make sure you are put into the of your choice. The unit you like is part of our newly renovated suites. Look forward to seeing you in December.Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation Hale Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Hale Suites

Address: 525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Hale Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation Hale Suites is located in the heart of Kauai on the scenic Royal Coconut Coast and steps away from Waipouli Beach. Enjoy spacious one bedroom suite accommodations (738 sq ft) with the finest amenities such as full kitchens and private lanais. Suites sleep up to six people. High speed Wi Fi,Flat Screen LCD TV's with Cable (60 preimum channels)Blu-Ray DVD, Movie library,350 DVD's. Planation Hale has three outdoor pools,(4)picnic and BBQ areas, whirlpool spas, Shuffle Board. The resort offers several restaurants, full Concierge and Activities Desk, mini market, ATM, and a SPA. Located nearby, Golf, Tennis, Horseback Riding, Wailua River and Kayaking,Opaeka'a Falls, Waimea Canyon, Hiking Trails. Kauai's best location and value. great for a romantic getaway, or a family vacation. Our dedicated staff welcomes you with the true Aloha spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plantation Hale Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hale Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Kapaa Best Western
Plantation Hale Suites Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Hale Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.