We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our first visit to Hawaii!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Hale Suites

Save Saved
You added Plantation Hale Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plantation Hale Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
Santa Maria, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved our first visit to Hawaii!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Plantation Hale. We could see the sunrise from our balcony, tho we did make it down to the beach one morning, an easy walk. The best ice cream on the island, just across the street at Coconut Marketplace! Since we wanted to see the whole island, the central location was ideal for us. The concierge, Erin, was wonderful at making suggestions, & booking things for us. Everyone was helpful & friendly. We will definitely be back when we return to the island!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms on the ocean side have a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Aloha Jeannine S. I am so happy we made your first trip to Hawaii a memorable one. That is always our goal. Mahalo.I almost forgot, you are so right about the ice cream!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    192
    47
    25
    8
See reviews for
111
211
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sacramento
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

The room was large and comfortable. The kitchen had a full size refrigerator. Cann't think of anything that was bad. Pool access was easy, restaurants close enough to walk to. Market had enough to cure a shopper. Farmers market was fun.
We were there when Kauai had their county fair. Love a fair. Overall stay was long enough and way to much fun. Had to go home to rest.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Aloha lluvmovies. Thank you we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you will visit Plantation hale again soon. Mahalo for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was central. Our accomodations were adequate, though I think this place has been around for awhile. Our room smelled a little old and musty so we bought some air freshener which solved our problem. However there was a light fixture on the wall in the sitting area that was very dirty, and there were fluff balls on the carpet in the bedroom. It just really needed a thorough cleaning and maybe some new paint. A couple of days before we checked out I noticed they were replacing furniture in some of the units, so that will brighten things up. Overall our experience was a good one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Aloha surrey b.c. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. It sounds as if we missed a couple of steps and I will share your comments with the staff. You are correct we will have 60 new suites shortly. I am pleased you and your family's experience was a good one. Hope we will see you again soon. Do not hesitate to contact me I will be sure you are reserved in one of our new suites. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great location, nice facilities and services, friendly & helpful staff. Only caveats would be to stay away from units next to the busier roads, and be sure to bring your confirmation. (Staff had trouble locating my reservation and tried to charge a higher rate.) The nearby beach (Plantation Hale is not on the beach) is nice to walk along and look at, but is probably not a good place for in the water activity. We had a "scenic view" that included the ocean in the distance, but a parking lot and empty field more prominently. I think it likely we'll stay here again, but we'll go for a pool or garden view next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MESA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a timeshare booked for a week, but were arriving 3 days earlier and needed accommodations for those nights. Found Plantation Hale on line, sounded good and booked.
It turned out it was excellent !!!
Although not beach front, but only a couple of minutes across a field to the beach.
Shopping was close, just across the road, Coconut Market Place, as well as about half a mile north to supermarkets, McDonalds, Starbucks, ice cream store (my personal favorite), rentals etc.
Loved how they had one part of the resort for families with children and another location for folks who enjoyed privacy. The unit was clean and well appointed, had full kitchen, bed was comfortable, living area, very good size unit. The staff were great, very helpful, friendly and professional.
We would not hesitate staying there again should we be lucky enough to visit this island in the future.

Room Tip: family area or quieter location ground or first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great accomodations, a rocks throw from the beach. 2 hot tubs & 3 pools with a staff exemplifying Aloha hospitality. Good location too. There's a shopping center coming out and heading right. Nice restaurants within walking distance. Easy to get to coffe plantation, 30 minutes away or Fern grotto, 5 minutes away. It's also close, 15 minutes, to the airport.

Room Tip: Get street level if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Good central location of the island. Quiet, with nice beaches. New furniture is being added to some of the units which is very nice and modern. The kitchen was lacking a few essential items. but when we mentioned it to the office we got immediate results. The workers there are all very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plantation Hale Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Hale Suites

Address: 525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Hale Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation Hale Suites is located in the heart of Kauai on the scenic Royal Coconut Coast and steps away from Waipouli Beach. Enjoy spacious one bedroom suite accommodations (738 sq ft) with the finest amenities such as full kitchens and private lanais. Suites sleep up to six people. High speed Wi Fi,Flat Screen LCD TV's with Cable (60 preimum channels)Blu-Ray DVD, Movie library,350 DVD's. Planation Hale has three outdoor pools,(4)picnic and BBQ areas, whirlpool spas, Shuffle Board. The resort offers several restaurants, full Concierge and Activities Desk, mini market, ATM, and a SPA. Located nearby, Golf, Tennis, Horseback Riding, Wailua River and Kayaking,Opaeka'a Falls, Waimea Canyon, Hiking Trails. Kauai's best location and value. great for a romantic getaway, or a family vacation. Our dedicated staff welcomes you with the true Aloha spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Loews Hotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Plantation Hale Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hale Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Kapaa Best Western
Plantation Hale Suites Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Hale Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.