We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish tacos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tacos Al Pastor

Tacos Al Pastor
Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
+1 808-652-6953
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 114 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Stevensville, Montana
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great fish tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed eating at this food truck recently. The fish tacos were delicious. The plate had two small generously filled tacos as well as rice and beans. The flavor of the fish came through the tasty sauce. Yum! There were outside tables with umbrellas to get out of the sun.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    36
    12
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“AHI Fish Taco's!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

When in Kapa'a don't shy away from the Taco Truck as this one is a gem if you like Ahi fish taco's. Comes with beans and rice, which sounds like prison grub, but not in this case as this family makes sure you will enjoy your beachside lunch fare!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was the second place we ate in Kauai, and being at present the second best rated restaurant on Kauai, it was disappointing.

Yes, it is a food truck, and had potential, but the ahi tuna fish taco that we had was undercooked (i.e. raw in the center - we are not fans of sushi and raw fish) and also was not super fresh, with that slight fishy taste that you get so often when eating fish on the mainland. The Tacos al carbon were OK, but a bit on the fatty side.

Did we just catch the truck on a bad day? Maybe so, but after all the other underwhelming food experiences here on Kauai, I am beginning to think that this island is just stuck in the gastronomical backwaters compared to Maui and Oahu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, NJ
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“MUST Stop! Do Not Miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Ri-god-damn-dic-u-lous....
All we wanted was a fish taco. We stopped at this roadside truck. My husband ordered 2 fish tacos and we sat in our car to wait, since it was raining. The lady who took our order actually came out to our car to deliver it! So nice. The tacos were to DIE FOR. Came with hot beans and rice. Best $11 we spent after being in Hawaii for over a week. We are still talking about it....craving them!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yummy food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a good place to eat on our last day in Kauai and decided to try out Al Pastor Tacos. We had read the reviews on TripAdvisor and crossed our fingers that the reviews were right.
We were not disappointed! I ordered the steak tacos and my husband ordered shrimp tacos. They both came with rice and beans and two tacos. They were delicious and the steak was some of the most tender, flavorful mea we had ever tasted! We were glad out last meal ended up being a good experience! We were a little bummed that we hadn't found it sooner in the trip, though!
If we ever make it back to the island of Kauai, and are close to the quaint town of Ka'paa, we will definitely patronize them again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacos Al Pastor also viewed

 

Been to Tacos Al Pastor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tacos Al Pastor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.