We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious crepe!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Cafe Hemingway

Art Cafe Hemingway
4-1495 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI
+1 808-822-2250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 105 Restaurants in Kapaa
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: European, Coffee Shop, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: An institution for the fine life. In an ancient building in Kapaa we are offering real Italian espresso, small snacks, pretty things, comfortable surroundings, a classic gallery in the second floor, book signing, discussions with artists, ocean view and the ambience of the The Unbearable Lightness of Being. New opening hours. Wed - Sun 8am-2pm and 6pm - 9pm, Mondays and Tuesdays closed.
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious crepe!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stopped in and had a tasty Nutella crepe. The quiche looked great too but we had already had lunch. It's a fun atmosphere in the old house with local art hanging on the walls. Great local spot!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    55
    19
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A European Delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Ahhh....the breakfasts! I long to go back. A cultural mecca
and a delightful cafe, right across the street from Hotel Coral Reef!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rock, IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fresh and fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We went to the cafe with some trepidation bases on other T.A. Reviews. I disagree with some of the other reviews completely. The breakfast was scrumptious and the service was fun and delightful. This is not for someone who is looking for a traditional plate of eggs, meat and bacon. Far closer to healthy food, mixed with a little island spirit. Go to the art house if you desire good food served fresh, go down the block if you want a Denny's (not saying anything wrong with Denny's - just for a different palette) style breakfast or lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cold and Boring”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Went here looking for a good coffee shop. Discovered a pretentious cafe on Kauai. Coffee came in small cups with tiny handles. Owner was bossing around the help. Cafe was quiet and uninviting. Weird art on the walls. Decor was very high end. This place belongs in LA, not Kauai. Go to a locally owned coffee shop and just get some good local Kona coffee.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful food and setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Based on reviews on TripAdvisor, we had to try this place. We were not disappointed. The cafe is very thoughtfully decorated and is full of wonderful, unusual art. The food was not only delicious; it was beautiful. The chef "painted" the food onto the plate by creating flowers from salami and a smiley face on the liverwurst with a cherry tomato and flower petals. It made me smile. The omelet was cooked perfectly - paper thin, with no browning whatsoever. The iced tea is made fresh from good quality tea. All of the ingredients are topnotch, and the menu is extensive and interesting. The prices are reasonable for the quality. I would highly recommend this place. If you appreciate good food, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art Cafe Hemingway also viewed

 

Been to Art Cafe Hemingway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Cafe Hemingway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.