We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet home base on Kauai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makaleha Bed and Coffee

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Makaleha Bed and Coffee
Save
You added Makaleha Bed and Coffee to your Saves list
1790 Makaleha pl, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Kapaa B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice quiet home base on Kauai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I found this to be a great place to stay while we explored Kauai. It is centrally located and in a beautiful quiet neighborhood. Ben and Cathy were great hosts and if there is anything you need, I think they will do their best to be of help. The common area is large and had everything we needed. You have access to a refrigerator and freezer and you have use of the washer/dryer which is a great help if you hike any muddy trails. Our room was simple, but neat and clean and comfortable. We really loved it and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The room on the end has great cross breezes, but feels a little exposed to the people in the other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
45
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leetonia, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Makaleha B&C for two weeks May 3-17 and we absolutely loved it. Ben and Cathy were fantastic hosts going above and beyond to make our anniversary stay as wonderful as possible. Aside from the large comfortable room; the common area, kitchen and laundry facilities really makes this more than just your ordinary B&B.. it truly felt more like home away from home. Do yourself a favor and do not hesitate for a moment to make this your home base while visiting Kauai. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Centrally located on the island, clean room and common area, gracious hosts, family/ kid friendly; highly recommend this place if you are looking for a 'real' Kauai experience- away from the hotel/ resort environment. Cathy and Ben- thanks for making our trip that much better- Mahalo! Thanks for sending back our son's toy that was left behind. :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Ben and Cathy were so nice and welcoming. They provided us with beach chairs, boogie boards and snorkel gear. The shared living space was great to cook and watch tv. The bedroom was nicely decorated and very clean. Since there's only 2 rooms, we seemed to have the shared space to ourselves the whole time. The view of the mountains was beautiful to wake up to. We highly recommend this B&B. We only wished we stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Our stay in Kauai was incredible, but it was made complete by coming home to a wonderful place to stay every night. Makaleha Bed and Coffee is tucked nicely into the hills of Kapa'a Town. The room is beautifully decorated with local art. The wooden floors and high ceilings create a spacious feel and the bed is ultra cozy! No worries about the lack of air conditioning, the fans are high powered and the Kauai breeze blows right in through the bamboo blinds. After exploring the entire island, this is by far the best place stay. Kapa'a Town is full of small restaurants with great food, an awesome paved path for running, biking or simply enjoying the views and quaint shops for the perfect souvenir. I highly recommend Makaleha Bed and Coffee. It was beautiful, clean, very taken care of and complete with just the right amenities. Mahalo to Ben and Cathy for a great stay in their lovely home!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at Makaleha B&C in February, booking it because of its central location and the amazing price per room. The location is a bit away from Kapa'a town - but a 3-5 minute drive will get you to the beach, restaurants, grocery, etc. The seclusion was kind of nice - get ready for the roosters to wake you up in the morning. You can also visit with the ducks and donkey in the neighboring yard. The room was well decorated and had beach towels and some amenities (shampoo, sun tan lotion) under the sink. We only saw our host, Cathy, once during our stay - but I felt that we could always call on her. My only suggestion might be to bring some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. We could hear activities of those in the neighboring room on our first night. Would stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed for two nights in February and just loved the place! Amazing views, lovely house with huge common area! Actually travelled Hawaii islands for four weeks and have to say that the over all value for paid price was definately the best at Makaleha Bed and coffee! We even got a really late check out to do the Sleeping Giant trail on our last day.
Wouldn't hesitate recommending this place (but car is a must, since it's pretty far inland)!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Makaleha Bed and Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makaleha Bed and Coffee

Address: 1790 Makaleha pl, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makaleha Bed & Coffee is set in tranquil location nestled at the base of the makaleha mountains. The waterfall views are spectacular. We offer the quiet luxury of the countryside, only a short distance from beaches, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Makaleha Bed And Coffee Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makaleha Bed and Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.