We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger at Lae Nani

Save Saved
You added Outrigger at Lae Nani to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Outrigger at Lae Nani
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   410 Papaloa Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely little spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband stayed at one of these condos and had a great time. The condo has been updated which was very nice. There was no AC but there were plenty of fans and a very effective cross breeze so we were fine. The beach and pool were a short walk which was nice. They also provided a grill to cook on. The pool was warm and large, and the beach was very pleasant. Guests were friendly as well as staff. The property was quiet and relaxing. They did not charge for parking each day. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    55
    19
    14
    6
See reviews for
42
78
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We booked though a travel agent. We did not realize that there was no Internet access. We did know that housekeeping is a extra $60+ charge per time they come and no AC. We did not expect to find the unit so shabby and in need of a good cleaning and repair. The unit is roomy (1 bedroom, 1 1/2 bath, kitchen). The patio is a nice size, but the loungers are plastic strap variety and discolored; all stretched out so your butt falls through. The paint is peeling off patio overhang and banister. View was wonderful. Grounds are pretty and the beach wonderful. They are fixing the pathways.
First thing that happened to my husband was to nearly get his barefoot gouged by rusted fishhook in carpet by sofa in living area. Second thing was to discover the screen door to patio is out of track and can't be fixed as it was put in backwards (maintenance confirmed issue but offered no solutions. he offered to replace sagging patio chair but never did). Kitchen is poorly equipped: no measuring spoons, no spatula, liquid measuring cup cracked and leaked all over, hand-beater broken.
Bed worn down and phony headboard not attached. Sofa bed is a thing of nightmares and old comedy shows; broken down and lumpy. DO NOT BOOK Condo 434 if you are looking for anything remotely comfortable. Luckily, we were out and about a lot. But we really would have been happier to have had simple, sturdy patio furniture, clean floors (they should just nix the crappy carpet), clean bathroom; without the tub stripping coming off, grime in the corners and mildew smell, and basic kitchen equipment to relax in for our stay. We did report the issues and they "made a note of it." I did not want to spend my vacation dealing with it, so that is as far as it got. In glancing into other units, I'd say there is a lot of variability. Just avoid 434. Probably better to book directly from an owner and look at a LOT of pictures before saying, yes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We were thrilled with our condo. Very clean! Everything perfect!! Ask for #532 - ocean front, 2 bedroom, 2 full baths. Absolutely perfect for our family of 4. Beyond our expectations. Loved Kauai - highly recommend Na Pali Catamaran tour & Princeville Ranch zip lining too - fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The location of this condo is fantastic. The condo is very outdated and dirty. The fridge leaked water and lamps did not work. We were not comfortable in this unit. We were very disappointed for what we paid for this. Thank goodness you spend most of your time outdoors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We went to Kauai with a 2 and 3 year old, and expected to be booking into a resort (like Outrigger on the Reef in Fiji). Not quite.

This is a collection of what seems to be independently owned condos, so each condo can be quite different to others. The condo that we were booked into was pleasant and overlooked the grounds and beach.

Great proximity to a great bakery, cake store, and Mexican. Short walk to the markets (but they were dead, half closed when we were there) and fairly close to decent supermarkets.

However:-
1. The pool was not really great for kids of the age of ours
2. The beach was not great for surfing - once we were there, the pamphlets actually stated that the east coast of Kauai is blown out most of the time
3. Nice secluded beach, but an offshore sand bar with a deep channel and rip right on the beach. Not particularly safe for our kids.
4. No internet access. Whilst this is a blessing for many, my wife and I both run our own small businesses (no 2IC we can leave to sort problems), so it was not acceptable for us.

It would be a good place for others with other holiday needs (fewer demand?) than us.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

First time in Kauai. We stayed at the Hyatt in Maui previously and this was much different. This is a condo not a hotel. Spacious and clean. Huge balcony with an ocean view. Great location and very nice swimmable beach. If you're looking for quiet and a little more privacy than the major hotel chains this is a great selection. A couple things to note. They only come clean your place once a week and empty trash. You do have the option to pay more if you want cleaning. Also the pool's across the street and kind of inconvenient. So if your not a beach person you may not like the pool.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We just came back from our very first vacation the Kauai, the Lae Nani gets a bad rap for sure....it is a lovely quiet place, with spectacular views and nice people that come and stay there year after year. If you are not expecting to be waited on hand and foot or upscale pricey rooms these are just like home, if you are an urban lover. I will definitely be staying here every time.

Room Tip: we stayed in 212 right next to the pool and a few feet from the ocean! great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger at Lae Nani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger at Lae Nani

Address: 410 Papaloa Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger at Lae Nani 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Outrigger at Lae Nani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger At Lae Nani Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Outrigger At Lae Nani Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger at Lae Nani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;