We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lae Nani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lae Nani to your Saves list
Lae Nani
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   410 Papaloa Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

First time in Kauai. We stayed at the Hyatt in Maui previously and this was much different. This is a condo not a hotel. Spacious and clean. Huge balcony with an ocean view. Great location and very nice swimmable beach. If you're looking for quiet and a little more privacy than the major hotel chains this is a great selection. A couple things to note. They only come clean your place once a week and empty trash. You do have the option to pay more if you want cleaning. Also the pool's across the street and kind of inconvenient. So if your not a beach person you may not like the pool.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    56
    19
    14
    6
See reviews for
42
80
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We just came back from our very first vacation the Kauai, the Lae Nani gets a bad rap for sure....it is a lovely quiet place, with spectacular views and nice people that come and stay there year after year. If you are not expecting to be waited on hand and foot or upscale pricey rooms these are just like home, if you are an urban lover. I will definitely be staying here every time.

Room Tip: we stayed in 212 right next to the pool and a few feet from the ocean! great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We have been returning to Kauai for over 40 years. We have stayed at several properties around the island. We find the location and beauty of Lae Nani is an outstanding value. Many TOP restaurants within a mile. The central location of Lae Nani for all island activities is ideal. You will need a car-but just relaxing next to the waves and the pool is enough.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Our condo #433 had a remarkable view of the grounds and surf. The condo was well maintained and quiet. The fans and louver windows allowed for plenty of ventilation. You could hear the surf all day and most predominantly when the island was quiet in the early hours of the day. A variety of birds and the native roosters would serenade you from dawn to dusk. If you forget to set your alarm, no worries, the roosters have that under control. The island lives up to it's reputation as the ' Garden Island '. This is our second Hawaiian adventure using Outrigger and I can guarantee you won't be disappointed with their locations, condos and staff. We are looking forward to future trip to the Big Island.

Room Tip: All the condos at Lae Nani seemed to have good view of the ocean. The upper floors were probably th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This condo complex was built in the 70s, so no A/C in the rooms. We are staying in 324 and it has great ocean view indeed. The pool is good, easy access to the beach, sufficient free parking.

We have 2 rooms, 2 bathrooms, small kitchen with dish washing machine, stove and microwave oven. The fridge is ok.

This is a lower class, budget oriented stay. They won't clean your room until after you leave, so should take good care of your place and keep your towels dry.

This is a 15 minute drive from Lihue airport, close to Kapaa town.

We are pleased after all!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a one bedroom condo on the second floor. It has views of the pool and partially blocked views of the ocean. We have stayed here before and enjoy Lae Nani's grounds and the quiet of the place. Unit 224 has been our least favorite only because of the blocked views. The condo last year seemed in better shape than the year (April 2013), perhaps some updates needed? However, given the location; it is equal distance to either side of the island and walking distance to the marketplace where there is a Farmer's Market on Tues & Thurs.
We will continue to stay at Lae Nani whenever we come to Kauai, just maybe request a different unit for better view of ocean.

Room Tip: Buildings 3, 4 and 5 have best views of ocean but are farthest from the pool/BBq area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were extremely disappointed with the terrible state of disrepair that unit is in. We were given a dilapidated place I would never consider renting on my own. Frankly, it felt like we were being taken advantage of by a slumlord. The location of that unit is also very poor as it is tucked into a corner mainly facing another building, which made it also much darker than one would expect for an “ocean view” unit.

I told the front desk at Lae Nani how unhappy we were with that unit and asked if they could give us something else. They said that was all they had available. I then called Pleasant Holidays customer service number at 4:15 p.m. and got a recording, even though their flier states their hours run til 6:00 p.m. on Saturday. I left a message. I also called the after-hours number later that night, but the person I reached said he was just a driver and that I should call in the morning. Sunday morning I called again and finally reached a real person – Brenda – who helped us transfer to another property.

We basically lost a day of our vacation dealing with and trying to rectify this problem, not to mention the stress of being put into such a miserable unit and not knowing whether we’d be stuck there for the rest of our vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lae Nani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lae Nani

Address: 410 Papaloa Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lae Nani 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lae Nani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger At Lae Nani Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Lae Nani Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lae Nani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.