We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit 224” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lae Nani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lae Nani to your Saves list
Lae Nani
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   410 Papaloa Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Unit 224”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a one bedroom condo on the second floor. It has views of the pool and partially blocked views of the ocean. We have stayed here before and enjoy Lae Nani's grounds and the quiet of the place. Unit 224 has been our least favorite only because of the blocked views. The condo last year seemed in better shape than the year (April 2013), perhaps some updates needed? However, given the location; it is equal distance to either side of the island and walking distance to the marketplace where there is a Farmer's Market on Tues & Thurs.
We will continue to stay at Lae Nani whenever we come to Kauai, just maybe request a different unit for better view of ocean.

Room Tip: Buildings 3, 4 and 5 have best views of ocean but are farthest from the pool/BBq area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    57
    19
    14
    6
See reviews for
43
82
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were extremely disappointed with the terrible state of disrepair that unit is in. We were given a dilapidated place I would never consider renting on my own. Frankly, it felt like we were being taken advantage of by a slumlord. The location of that unit is also very poor as it is tucked into a corner mainly facing another building, which made it also much darker than one would expect for an “ocean view” unit.

I told the front desk at Lae Nani how unhappy we were with that unit and asked if they could give us something else. They said that was all they had available. I then called Pleasant Holidays customer service number at 4:15 p.m. and got a recording, even though their flier states their hours run til 6:00 p.m. on Saturday. I left a message. I also called the after-hours number later that night, but the person I reached said he was just a driver and that I should call in the morning. Sunday morning I called again and finally reached a real person – Brenda – who helped us transfer to another property.

We basically lost a day of our vacation dealing with and trying to rectify this problem, not to mention the stress of being put into such a miserable unit and not knowing whether we’d be stuck there for the rest of our vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in unit #336, an ocean view two bedroom.

Likes: It was clean when we arrived. While not lavish, the unit had nice furnishings. Beds were comfortable. It had a fairly large balcony with a good view of the ocean, although partially blocked by another unit and trees. The grounds were well kempt and contained lots of flowers and greenery. Just outside (below) the room is a large, grassy open area, which typically had kids playing in it. The pool was nice. Basic, but nice. There was no Jacuzzi. The beach has a sheltered pool for a kid which is well protected except during extreme surf. There was always a parking space. There is a nice shopping area within a block of the property and several places to eat within walking distance. This part of the Island is very centrally located. It made it easy to reach destinations, whether on the north or southwest shores. It is only about 20 minutes from the airport and 5 minutes from the Wailua River. This is a family friendly location, and there were lots of kids playing. If you want something silent and kid-free, this is not the place. There is a large walk-in closet in one bedroom

Dislikes: While the unit was fairly quiet, I think the unit below us had a bad bearing or something in their bathroom fan. Whenever they used it there was a loud droning noise in our master bedroom/bath. The kitchen had most essentials but a few were missing e.g. cooking sheets, large bowls.

Overall I would recommend this highly property and if we go to Kauai again, we will probably stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Awesome, relaxing, no fuss. Views are amazing, outrigger staff warm and friendly. Our three families really enjoyed this hidden gem! The beach seemed almost private and we enjoyed swimming in the ocean fronting the resort. Reminded us of what Hawaii should be like and it was really nice to just relax, very close to attractions, airport, beaches, shopping and good food!

Although we had a kitchen we ate out for dinner and had pineapple and Coffee each morning while watching the sunrise on the beach or our balcony-fabulous....wish we didn't have to leave!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponteix, Sask
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Beautiful property with fantastic views

My husband and I stayed in Unit 222 for the month of Feb 2013. Lae Nani is a wonderful property and very quiet. It is easy to see why so many travellers go here year after year. Our unit had a great view and there was certainly no problems with noise on property at all. We had rented through Kauai Condo Vacations, Roy Skinner and received excellent service. A few required items were missing of which I purchased some and when I contacted Roy he immediately supplied me with the rest. Unit 222 had just been remodelled and although attractive appears had been redone keeping costs to a very minimum . The twin beds in second bedroom were not new and would need to be replaced. Master bedroom was a queen bed minus any headboard rather than king. The living room couch was new but extremely uncomfortable and is likely the reason I did not rent this unit for next year.
Enjoyed our stay and are returning in 2014 to Lae Nani.
Claude and Shirley Picray
Ponteix, Sask.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wembley, AB
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great Aloha spirit from everyone we met. Check in quick and easy.The condo was as pictured, nicely updated, spacious, large lanai. Great central location. Within walking distance to Coconut Market place (gift shops, Lappert's ice cream, free hula dancing and music, farmers markets). A good cental location for excursions to the rest of what Kauai has to offer. This a second floor unit, not too many stairs, but still a great view of the beautiful grounds and ocean beyond. Block four has the best of everything, all the views but quieter (not right on the beach).

  • Liked — The ocean view from the lanai.
  • Disliked — High surf at the time.
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week at the Lae Nani, unit 314, which is located on the ground level. I was a bit concerned due to some of the reviews but was very happy with our choice. The setting is lovely and the grounds are really more beautiful than the pictures depict. The beach is a small cove but quite nice for short swims and laying around. It is a an excellent choice for families since there is a very sheltered man-made lagoon perfect for little ones, spacious lawn areas and a fantastic pool. We travel a great deal and have stayed in many beautiful places so are somewhat picky about settings and atmosphere. We definitely are not into "resort-type" accommodations. If you are similar, you will love the Lae Nani which is very low key, quiet, and not "tropical-staged" like many of the larger hotels in Hawaii. Unit 314 was a bit dated but clean, well outfitted and met our needs perfectly. We particularly liked being on the ground level and being able to just walk across the lawn to the beach. We were very happy with the location which is very close to the cute funky town of Kapaa which has a variety of restaurants and two super markets. There are shops,several restaurants and a bakery within walking distance of the Lae Nani as well. The location is also very central to the north and south parts of the island. I suspect we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lae Nani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lae Nani

Address: 410 Papaloa Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lae Nani 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lae Nani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger At Lae Nani Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Lae Nani Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lae Nani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.