We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing getaway and very affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lae Nani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lae Nani to your Saves list
Lae Nani
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   410 Papaloa Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Long Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing getaway and very affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Awesome, relaxing, no fuss. Views are amazing, outrigger staff warm and friendly. Our three families really enjoyed this hidden gem! The beach seemed almost private and we enjoyed swimming in the ocean fronting the resort. Reminded us of what Hawaii should be like and it was really nice to just relax, very close to attractions, airport, beaches, shopping and good food!

Although we had a kitchen we ate out for dinner and had pineapple and Coffee each morning while watching the sunrise on the beach or our balcony-fabulous....wish we didn't have to leave!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    56
    19
    14
    6
See reviews for
42
81
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ponteix, Sask
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Beautiful property with fantastic views

My husband and I stayed in Unit 222 for the month of Feb 2013. Lae Nani is a wonderful property and very quiet. It is easy to see why so many travellers go here year after year. Our unit had a great view and there was certainly no problems with noise on property at all. We had rented through Kauai Condo Vacations, Roy Skinner and received excellent service. A few required items were missing of which I purchased some and when I contacted Roy he immediately supplied me with the rest. Unit 222 had just been remodelled and although attractive appears had been redone keeping costs to a very minimum . The twin beds in second bedroom were not new and would need to be replaced. Master bedroom was a queen bed minus any headboard rather than king. The living room couch was new but extremely uncomfortable and is likely the reason I did not rent this unit for next year.
Enjoyed our stay and are returning in 2014 to Lae Nani.
Claude and Shirley Picray
Ponteix, Sask.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wembley, AB
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great Aloha spirit from everyone we met. Check in quick and easy.The condo was as pictured, nicely updated, spacious, large lanai. Great central location. Within walking distance to Coconut Market place (gift shops, Lappert's ice cream, free hula dancing and music, farmers markets). A good cental location for excursions to the rest of what Kauai has to offer. This a second floor unit, not too many stairs, but still a great view of the beautiful grounds and ocean beyond. Block four has the best of everything, all the views but quieter (not right on the beach).

  • Liked — The ocean view from the lanai.
  • Disliked — High surf at the time.
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week at the Lae Nani, unit 314, which is located on the ground level. I was a bit concerned due to some of the reviews but was very happy with our choice. The setting is lovely and the grounds are really more beautiful than the pictures depict. The beach is a small cove but quite nice for short swims and laying around. It is a an excellent choice for families since there is a very sheltered man-made lagoon perfect for little ones, spacious lawn areas and a fantastic pool. We travel a great deal and have stayed in many beautiful places so are somewhat picky about settings and atmosphere. We definitely are not into "resort-type" accommodations. If you are similar, you will love the Lae Nani which is very low key, quiet, and not "tropical-staged" like many of the larger hotels in Hawaii. Unit 314 was a bit dated but clean, well outfitted and met our needs perfectly. We particularly liked being on the ground level and being able to just walk across the lawn to the beach. We were very happy with the location which is very close to the cute funky town of Kapaa which has a variety of restaurants and two super markets. There are shops,several restaurants and a bakery within walking distance of the Lae Nani as well. The location is also very central to the north and south parts of the island. I suspect we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We rented a 2 bedroom ocean view condo. it was great for our family! we have 2 kids and it was nice for them to have their own room. we also really liked having a kitchen so that we didn't have to eat out for every meal. The view from our lanai was amazing! the sunrise from the beach on the other side of the property was gorgeous! they also have a lave rock pool in the bay that is great for young kids. it offers an area protected from the waves. my 2 year old son loved it! Even my nine year old daughter loved it because there were beautiful fish in it also. I've stayed here before and would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I would definitely get an ocean view or ocean front room. They are right on the beach & the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Had an ocean view condo, 2nd floor which had everything. Friends had a poolside ground floor which was pretty good too. Good spot, but a bit of a hike to the north shore for sight seeing etc. if you just want to relax and enjoy the scenery that's here, go no further. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at the Lae Nani in Kapaa, Kauai approximately 15 years ago and was very impressed with the quality at that time. The condos were filled with amenities necessary for any vacationer who was staying for a week or more. I stayed at the same location a few weeks ago and was very disappointed in the condo this time around. It was very tired, in need of paint/upgrading of furniture/decor and had only the bare minimum necessities. I would definitely not stay there again on my next visit to Kauai.

Room Tip: Condos located in Poipu are much more upscale and still affordable. Also several more restaurants l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lae Nani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lae Nani

Address: 410 Papaloa Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lae Nani 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lae Nani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger At Lae Nani Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Lae Nani Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lae Nani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.