We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet peaceful accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lae Nani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lae Nani to your Saves list
Lae Nani
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   410 Papaloa Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Park City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quiet peaceful accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We debated on whether to do a hotel or condo. This property is the perfect location between the Princeville and Poi Pu. The unit property is a bit dated but safe and clean. The view is outstanding and what is the best feature of this propety. The grounds are manicured and immaculate. Helene from the front desk was most kind and accomodating. Renting a condo with kitchen facilities and a living room is much more pracital than a hotel room. Everything I needed was at my disposal. It's gated so is a safe community. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for the location, the view, and the friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: Great location from all sides of Kauai
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    56
    19
    14
    6
See reviews for
43
81
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corralitos, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Lae Nani seems nice, beautiful grounds and ocean views, but the condos inside are dated and dirty, mattress are very old and worn out. The kitchen has limited cooking supplies (no cutting board, few dishes). The bathrooms are rusty and smell. There are only 3 chairs on the Lanai for dinning and when we called the front desk, we are a family of four, we were told to make do with what we had. We usually have daily housekeepers with Outrigger and told we would but with Lae Nani received housekeeping once in 8 days. The lack of cleaning shows, peeling smelly tile in both bathrooms. Overall not a clean or nice experience. They lock up the lounge chairs before sunset and do not allow you to bring them to the beach. We have stayed many places over the years including other Outrigger locations. We would recommend a different condo option in Kauai until Lae Nani can be cleaned up and updated. We stayed in 331.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I'm sitting in Lae Nani 325 enjouying a wonderful breeze and wishing we didn't have to leave tomorrow. I usually get "hotel envy" when I see other properties when I travel. But not this time! Lae Nani #325 is the best place to stay on Kauai! The ocean views were so gorgeous, I couldn't wait for morning coffee and evening cocktails on the deck. The 2 bedroom condo is clean and spacious, and nicely decorated. No a/c, but we didn't need it as the ocean breezes flow right through. Beach has two tipped pools that would be great for families with little kids. It's conveniently located near Kapaa, but just enough out of town to be peaceful. As others have said, Lae Nani is a collection of independently owned condos and some are better than others. Google Lae Nani 325 to get the info you need to rent this particular unit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermann, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

because they were so willing to allow us to move to their premier property, the Waipouli Beach Resort, after we saw how absolutelly FILTHY and AWFUL the condo they had reserved for us was! So, the reason I am rating the Lae Nani as excellent is because I didn't have to stay there! This place is a real dump! The condo that was reserved for us was FILTHY, outdated, and unkept. The master bedroom bed still had hair on the pillows from the previous occupants (GROSS!) and the ceiling fan was covered with dirt and rust. The kitchen was the worst with a rusty dishwasher, rusty stove burners, crumbling cabinets, chipped and cracked floor tiles, etc. The living area carpet was peppered with stains. The patio doors did not lock. DO NOT STAY HERE. Go to the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort. It may cost you a little more, but it is well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This unit was great! Right next to pool and you can see the ocean beyond the pool. Inside has a nice layout, tile throughout and has been updated. These units dont have AC, but you dont need it. Open the windows and you always have a breeze that blows through and feels great. At night , we closed the our bedroom windows and just had the ceiling fan going. They keep up with the grounds very well and there are all kinds of beautiful foliage all around. There are also 3 gas BBQ's located right by the pool. We grilled ALOT :) This place in centrally located making running to the north or south easy. Just FYI... signage around Hawaii is really non existent. They dont label most of their attractions, so if you have to be somewhere at a certain time, give yourself enough time to find the place.

Room Tip: I combed through Trip Advisors reviews and found this place. We LOVE it.... we were not disappointe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our experience was just wonderful, Outrigger Lae Nani was fabulous from start to finish.
From our check in to our check out we recieved that personal touch and a warm welcome by the staff. Our room was so nice and although we booked an ocean view it was like an ocean front. This place is tucked away and hidden-it's a gem, the grounds were beautiful. We spent 5 days before departing for our next island and wished we could just stay here.

Was concerned about no a/c but never needed it, there are great ocean breezes-we could even hear the ocean from our balcony.

We are already trying to figure out when we can return.

Would recommend Lae Nani to any of our friends....it's nice and well kept with a plantation charm of Hawaiian days gone by!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

By far the best unit in the whole resort! Sleeps up to six and is on the ground level with two walk-out patios to the beach. It's set off to the south side of the complex so you feel secluded. Fully stocked kitchen with a patio table for ocean front dinning! Doesn't get much better than that!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lae Nani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lae Nani

Address: 410 Papaloa Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lae Nani 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lae Nani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger At Lae Nani Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Lae Nani Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lae Nani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.