We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd do this again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kayak Adventures

Kayak Adventures
440 Aleka Place, #2, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
+1 866-826-2505
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 69 Activities in Kapaa
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kayak Adventures has been established since 1996. We are an all inclusive quality, guided tour company. I am blessed as an owner to have such great guides and employees. We have become a true ohana (family)over the years. Safety is our #1 priority along with exceptional customer service and an unforgettable experience with your guide. Daniel has been with the company since 1998. Aaron, Chris & Thomas have been guiding since 2004, Davey & Andy since 2008. I have an amazing team which also includes our customer service department. When contacting us via phone or email, you will either speak with my niece, Brittany, Val, Bonnie or me. We will make you feel welcome when you visit our shop and check-in for your kayak tour. Aloha and hope to see you soon on Kauai! God Bless! Gayle Mitzel, owner.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We'd do this again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our guide Kevin was excellent! As novice kayakers, we were reassured by his clear, professional pre-trip instruction, and his enthusiasm for the experience was contagious. Kevin's knowledge of local history, the land, flora, fauna, safety and survival issues, made both the kayaking and the hike pleasantly informative. The lunch was delicious, the falls spectacular, and the photo ops endless. Do wear shoes that are good for hiking but can get wet at stream crossings. There were plenty of sticks lying about, useful for hikers of all abilities. This day was amazing, laughter-filled, one of our favorites, and one we'll definitely repeat. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayakAdventuresKauai, Owner at Kayak Adventures, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Aloha Susan N,
Mahalo for your kind review!
It brings a smile to my face that you acknowledged Kevin's enthusiasm & found it contagious! :) All my guides are very patient w/novice kayakers. They will give clear, professional safety & paddle instruction (w/a little humor mixed in) prior to the launch.
Kevin is very knowledgeable of local history, the land, flora, fauna, safety and survival issues; making the hiking portion of the trip very educational.
Yes, proper footwear is a must! Do wear shoes that are good for hiking but can get wet at stream crossings (water shoes, Teva-like hiking sandals or sneakers - NO FLIP FLOPS).
Happy to know you had an amazing, laughter-filled day w/Kevin! Thank you for highly recommending us on TripAdvisor.
Mahalo & a hui ho (Thank you & until we meet again)
God Bless!
Gayle I. Mitzel, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    16
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yamba, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fun & Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

An excellent way to see and learn about some of "the real" Hawaii. We loved our kayak adventure! Our guide was the best and you could tell he really enjoyed interacting with people from different parts of the world. He shared lots of interesting information and stories along the way. Scenery was amazing - lots of great photo opportunities. Be prepared to get your feet wet but it's fun!

Visited February 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayakAdventuresKauai, Owner at Kayak Adventures, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha 1958vic_55,
Mahalo for you review on our company and guide. Our tour is an excellent way to see and learn about "the real" Hawaii/Kauai. All our guides really enjoy what they do and love to interact w/their guests from all walks of life. Our guests will walk away with lots of information & stories. Scenery is amazing - lots of photo opps. Be prepared to get your feet wet & muddy (if we have had rain). So happy you loved our kayak adventure!
God Bless!
Gayle I. Mitzel, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kauai Kayak Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Having never paddled a kayak, I was not sure how I would like the experience. I thought the trip would be mostly paddling down a river and standing under a water fall. It turned out to be a guided tour of Kauai's history, the story of the people that settled the island and the flora and fona. It was one of the best excursions I have ever been on. It was absolutely beautiful.

Visited February 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayakAdventuresKauai, Owner at Kayak Adventures, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Aloha pfecto,
Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about our company.
The majority of our guests who come out with us have never kayaked before (some don't even know how to swim)! :0
Our guides are very patient to teach guests proper paddle instructions.
Our tour is 2 miles of paddling and 1 mile of hiking to a beautiful water. (4 miles paddling & 2 miles hiking round trip).
Our guides are all knowledgeable of Kauai's history, culture, flora & fauna
Glad to hear it was one of the best excursions you have ever been on!
God Bless!
Gayle I. Mitzel, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
1 review
“Great kayak trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I were so glad we took the kayak trip on the River. What a great way to see the beautiful Wailua River and the beautiful falls we got to hike too. The lunch they provide is also tasty. Our tour guide Daniel was awesome. Not only did he share a lot of knowledge and history about the area, he was funny. We highly recommend this trip. When we return with our children we will definetly make a trip back here.

Visited February 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayakAdventuresKauai, Owner at Kayak Adventures, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Aloha Karen M,
Mahalo for your review on our company. So glad you and your husband had fun on our tour. It is a great way to see the beautiful Wailua River, hike through lush forest & experience a beautiful waterfall. The lunch is provided by our favorite little coffee shop, Small Town Coffee; hearty sandwiches, chips, cookies, fresh pineapple and bottled water. Yes, Daniel is awesome! He is very knowledgeable abouth history, flora & fauna; not to mention a great sense of humor and will keep his guests entertained! Thanks again for highly recommending our tour on TripAdvisor We look forward to seeing you on your next vacation with your children! :)
God Bless!
Gayle I. Mitzel, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beauty & History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Thank you Daniel, you were a knowledgeable and trusted guide. Daniel was able to gauge the skill level of our group and lead us on a challenging but interesting tour. He gave us detailed instructions on kayaking and made sure no one was struggling or left behind. During the hike we learned a little about Kauai history as well as the flora and fauna. We passed remnants of an ancient civilization and natural phenomenas and of course had time to swim with a gorgeous waterfall as our backdrop! The timing was perfect as other tours were heading back so we had many opportunities to take pictures as if we were the only ones there. It was a good variety of water, land and history; I would definitely recommend.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayakAdventuresKauai, Owner at Kayak Adventures, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Aloha Bekah D,
Mahalo for your review on our company and our tour guide, Daniel.
He is a very knowledgeable and trusted guide. He has been with our company for 15 years! He is able to gauge the skill level of his group & give excellent paddle instructions; he makes sure no one struggles or is left behind. During the hike, guests will learn about Kauai history as well as the flora and fauna. It is a variety of kayaking, hiking and history. Thanks again for recommending our tour.
God Bless!
Gayle I. Mitzel, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayak Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Kayak Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayak Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.